Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Work
I profoundly disagree that this is not a source book - that is exactly what it is for hundreds of professional upholsterers and upholstery/furniture design students. David James is the upholsterer's upholsterer and the acknowledged expert in traditional techniques. He taught for many years at the High Wycombe College (now Bucks University) and was I believe an advisor on...
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by happywoman

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and informative survey of the art of upholste
If you're looking for a step-by-step guide or a source-book, look elsewhere. This book is a general introduction to the history of upholstery, with general descriptions of traditional and modern upholstery techniques, of more value to those considering upholstering as a vocation or to the serious hobbyist than to the casual do-it-yourselfer.
Published on 18 Sep 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Work, 23 Nov 2008
By 
I profoundly disagree that this is not a source book - that is exactly what it is for hundreds of professional upholsterers and upholstery/furniture design students. David James is the upholsterer's upholsterer and the acknowledged expert in traditional techniques. He taught for many years at the High Wycombe College (now Bucks University) and was I believe an advisor on their MA course in Furniture Conservation. His books are recommended reading for many courses.

However, it is not a beginners manual and does assume a basic knowledge. It is essentially a reference book for the competent craftsman or those that aspire to a good standard of workmanship. It is a pragmatic book which covers the materials, tools and techniques needed to competently do the job. If you are faced with an unfamiliar chair and wonder exactly how to tackle it and in which order, this will give you the answers. If you are in any way serious about your craft, this should be on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and informative survey of the art of upholste, 18 Sep 1998
By A Customer
If you're looking for a step-by-step guide or a source-book, look elsewhere. This book is a general introduction to the history of upholstery, with general descriptions of traditional and modern upholstery techniques, of more value to those considering upholstering as a vocation or to the serious hobbyist than to the casual do-it-yourselfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Upholstery: A Complete Course, 28 Jun 2009
By 
V. E. Cairns "Viv" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
Quite an academic book. Good reading. Mostly line drawings, clear instructions. Some photographs at the end. Good as part of my selection of instruction manuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
This is a very well presented book. It has a logical flow and covers all the essential techniques especially for traditional upholstery. I used it alongside a course as I am an absolute beginner.
I have bought other books to compliment it as I found it lacked depth on different furniture types
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Steve G (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read, easy to understand, concise, precise....great reference book and great for the beginner upholsterer. I would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a good book, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
a good practical book for those starting to do upholstery. it has good illusrtations . just what more can you write
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not what I was hoping for, 24 Aug 2013
By 
J. Evans (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
A bit disappointing as I had expected a clearer step to step guide for different sort of projects. but it will be useful in some way I hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic text book, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
this book is the most useful textbook on upholstery. It is very detailed and clear. Easy to understand. Shall recommend it to anyone learning this craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Thororugh, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
I was bit worried when I ordered this after reading some of the other reviews. However, it's excellent. Granted there aren't hundreds of photos but the drawings are more than sufficient and very useful..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Upholstery a Complete Course by David James, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: Upholstery: A Complete Course (Paperback)
This was a fantastic book,newer edition than the one advertised,packaged well,and fast dispatch.Very informative,and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upholstery: A Complete Course
Upholstery: A Complete Course by David James (Paperback - 2 Sep 1999)
£15.53
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews