Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Excellent for beginner
This is the best book for a beginner as it goes through each step of how to use tools on a lathe. Get the video which goes with it as this again helps the understanding of how to use the lathe
Published on 6 April 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book
A useful book but it contains a repetition of a lot of other books which have been published in the past. Woul not have bought it if I had looked through it in the book shop.
Published 7 months ago by alex


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for a woodturning beginner, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Sa Cain (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a master woodturner as a good book to start with. It was for a present for my father and he is loving every aspect of the book. It is giving him advice on what he needs to buy and how to get started. This book has got him really fired up with working with wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
A really useful, practical guide. He knows the subject and explains things well. Good basic guide which I would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every beginner should buy this book, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Handytim (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
I am a complete beginner to woodturning and I find this book invaluable. I just bought a lathe and had booked a course which I was unable to attend. The next course was a month later but I couldn't wait that long to start using my new lathe. This book gave me the confidence I needed to start turning. If you do what it says in the book you can't go wrong. It's well written and illustrated and covers all the basics a beginner needs to know.
I was making pens after a few days. I will still be going on the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
You know what? All those five star reviews. They're right. This explains everything you need to know as a beginner, and it does so clearly, without being dogmatic (usually it suggests several possible ways of doing things). I was a bit frightened of the lathe to begin with, but the principles he sets out will tell you how to keep your fingers while making some beautiful things. It's the only book on the subject I've bought and I don't feel a great need for another. It's relatively old now, but the illustrations are good and most of the products he mentions are still available, even if the newer models look a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
An excellent book. I gave it to my boyfriend for his birthday. He loves it. Such a fantastic help for those who just start in woodturning. Book full of ideas, informations and advices. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
excellent the only turning book i have. it has helped me cover loads of ground the best how to book on any subject i have ever used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ooo, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
Does as it said nothing special no more or less than i would expect from a product like this ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woodturning from scratch, hopefully to avoid scratches., 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
Although a long term wood worker I have never worked on a lathe in either medium - metal or wood. So I needed a book that explained all from the very beginning. This book has lived up to its reputation in being THE book for the novice wood turner, avoiding the "idiot's guide" syndrome (although I am not adverse to being treated as such when needed) it leads you through the basics, shows you the difficult task of sharpening with the aid of well explained and drawn jigs that will help you avoid the costs of expensive commercial jigs allowing you to focus your finances on higher quality tooling. As it develops it provides for projects that will progress you skills. I obviously recommend this book for those starting out - more experienced turners, although not immune to some of the pearls may well do better to look elsewhere. The DVD is now becoming very tempting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Woodturning: A Foundation Course, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
Hi.First of all i bought this book second hand,I would like to give credit to the previous owner for the excellent condition it was in when i bought it.I have just read it and its an excellent book and i would recommed it to anyone like myself that has just started woodturning.In fact i'm reading it for a second time,i have also bought the DVD of the same name and it is also excellent, so go ahead and get both.
J D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have publication..........., 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
If you are new to wood turning and want to learn more then look no further than Keith Rowley. Everything you need to know in one publication with great projects to get you started. A must have woodturning book for your shelf!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning)
Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) by Keith Rowley (Paperback - 14 Oct 1999)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews