Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Excellent for beginner
This is the best book for a beginner as it goes through each step of how to use tools on a lathe. Get the video which goes with it as this again helps the understanding of how to use the lathe
Published on 6 April 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book
A useful book but it contains a repetition of a lot of other books which have been published in the past. Woul not have bought it if I had looked through it in the book shop.
Published 7 months ago by alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woodturning, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
Excellent informative book. Would recommend to all people interested in creating their own objects. This book was recommended to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wood turning for beginners, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
I bought this book book for my husband who has just started woodturning.He found the book really interesting and has learned a lot of useful and interesting things from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 1 Sep 2013
By 
James Ahl "avid reader" (cornwall uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
was loaned older print of book loved so bought this one even better, colour prints bring it to life and projects great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
Excellent for the novice easy to read and understand good source of information well delivered. Well worth every penny spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy reading, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
this is a first class book for the person just starting in the hobby of wood turning gives clear and plain help so you do not waste money on all the fancy bits before you can walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very worth while, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
I read this book to familiarise myself of the process of wood turning. I have not done this for forty years and this book was a great help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very easy to follow instruction, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
book recommended to me by proffesional woodturner, well documented book with some great tips and easy to follow instructions.
would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb value!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
Excellent comprehensive book for the starter or the experienced. It covers everything and has especially good chapters on projects and sanding and finishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I purchased and read this book prior to purchasing a Lathe, 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
I purchased and read this book prior to purchasing a Lathe, I found it invaluable. Not only in helping me chose a Lathe, but what tools and other equipment I would need to get started. It also gave me the information I needed to design my bench (I did not use the design in the book, but followed the principles using more modern materials)
It was a great help in learning how to sharpen my woodturning chisels, I made and use the grinding jig, which works a treat.
That's even before getting down to learning how to turn! again the exercises and projects have been and still are invaluable to me.
I would recommend to anyone thinking of taking up woodturning to read at least the first 5 chapters of this book before making the decision on any purchases.
Enjoy your woodturning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wood-turning - All you need to know to get going, 10 Mar 2014
By 
H. M. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) (Paperback)
I am so glad a bought this book before getting a lathe. It is such a well considered manual for the beginner. It tells you everything you need to know to approach wood-turning safely, effectively and creatively. It recommends the equipment you need, it shows how to approach all sorts of turning projects and it is a model of clarity in its explanations. I have found it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning)
Woodturning: A Foundation Course (Woodturning Woodturning) by Keith Rowley (Paperback - 14 Oct 1999)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews