Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stan and Ollie
I wish they'd put Stan and Ollie back on TV to show another generation how wonderful these two are. There's no doubt that they remain as funny today as they did back in their prime. I'm a big fan and have many of their DVD's. I wanted to know about the duo and this book informed me greatly.
Mr Laurel and Mr Hardy is a riveting biography of the two men. It took me...
Published on 30 Oct. 2001 by jackcoleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading.
There are better bios of the two great men... I'm not saying this is bad by far. Easy reading is how I'd best describe it.
Published 10 months ago by MARK HALES


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stan and Ollie, 30 Oct. 2001
I wish they'd put Stan and Ollie back on TV to show another generation how wonderful these two are. There's no doubt that they remain as funny today as they did back in their prime. I'm a big fan and have many of their DVD's. I wanted to know about the duo and this book informed me greatly.
Mr Laurel and Mr Hardy is a riveting biography of the two men. It took me only a few hours to get through. It concentrates mostly on Stanley who was the creative genius behind the pair, but this only heightens interest in the chapter on Ollie, which is written in interview form. I liked the way the book started with Laurel failing miserably on his first attempt at performing, with his Dad in attendance. His perseverence was incredible as he subbed for Chaplin during the early days before hard work and the luck to be partnered with Mr Hardy, finally garnered him some success.
The book, written after many interviews with Stan, has got a very appealing narrative. We get insights into the making of their films, answering questions about how the pair came together and how most of their routines got started. It's very enlightening.
What I found most surprising was the undercurrent of emotion throughout. Its author obviously had a wonderful adoration for the pair and Stan, while speaking to him is very nostalgic about the past. I love the parts where Stan met Chaplin after many years, after they both had made it. And where, years after their filmic success, when they were touring Europe, the church bells in Cobh played out their theme tune.
If you have any interest in Laurel and Hardy, you must get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read for beginners., 22 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Laurel and Mr. Hardy: An Affectionate Biography (Paperback)
this isn't the most detailed or in-depth biography of the best comedy team in the world, but it is the perfect place to start.

john mccabe was quite well acquainted with laurel and hardy, so his research for his book has been done very professionally.

he first met them in the 50s during L and H's extensive tour of England. mccabe was corresponding with both of them afterwards, in which he gradually pieced together his information that became this book. hence, you will notice the word " authorized" on the front of the book. all the right people were interviewed that knew or worked with laurel and hardy.

it is interesting to note that the author concentrates more on the men themselves rather than just the films. i think that balances the entire proceedings very well.

upon publication, this was the first of many books of all different kinds, even those that covered the team's solo careers, their British tours etc.

to the best of my knowledge, this book has rarely gone out of print which must surely say something about its popularity.

john mccabe increased his output by writing seperate biographies about the team; stan laurel came first, the book was published originally in 1975; the book about oliver hardy came out much later in 1989.

but this book is highly recommended as a starting point for those who either haven't heard of laurel and hardy or simply haven't read much about them. enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEMINAL, 3 April 2014
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the definitive history of Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy. If you read no other history READ THIS. You may gather (assuming you've been in an isolation bubble and have never seen them on film) an idea why The Boys became such darlings of the cinema audiences in the days of the comedy 2-reeler.
You will also see a glimpse of the men behind the celluloid shadows... gentle men in every sense of the word whose finest memorial is the roar of laughter evoked by their antics, never suggestive, always in the best of humour; they were indeed loved by those who saw them.
We will not see their like again, this book explains why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 12 July 2010
Mr Laurel and Mr Hardy is a very well written, eminently readable, if somewhat straightforward account of the lives of the great comedians. John McCabe clearly likes his subjects and having excellent access to Stan Laurel has uncovered some fascinating detail about the way they worked and the relationship between the two men. If you're looking for skeletons in the closet then this isn't the book for you but it is a warm and very affectionate portrait of two much-loved stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a well written excellent read. The reader must surely wish to know ..., 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Laurel and Mr. Hardy: An Affectionate Biography (Paperback)
This is a well written excellent read. The reader must surely wish to know who/whether they married. Not every detail of their person lives but just a few sentences as to whether they had children, that sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone who loves Stan and Ollie, 12 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
A marvellous delight and fascinating insight into the lives of two of the 20th Century's great talents. If there is a downfall of this book, it is perhaps that the author seems to connect more with Mr Laurel than Mr Hardy, giving a slightly unbalanced biography. Nevertheless - BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being Blockheads., 1 Aug. 2008
`Mr Laurel and Mr Hardy' is billed as an affectionate biography and so it is, it has no detail of the personnel life of the two stars, unsavoury or otherwise, and concentrates on a professional biography of the pairs film work with a brief pre-meeting biography. When the book gets going it is merely a summarisation of the films the pair were working on and a bit of background on some of the better known ones.

The book is a success because it brings to mind scenes from the films which then play out in the mind of the reader recapturing a sense of the hilarity when the films first were watched by the reader. In that this book is fantastic for anyone with a familiarity to the films of Laurel and Hardy but would bring nothing to a casual reader with only passing knowledge of there films.

Being fortunate enough to have a great wealth of knowledge of the films of messes Laurel and Hardy I enjoyed reminiscing with McCabe but wouldn't recommend this book to anyone wishing to discover the delight of these great comedies from new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rating due to recepient's feed-back, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Laurel and Mr. Hardy: An Affectionate Biography (Paperback)
My son is very pleased with book. It lived up to his expectation and I found the whole experience as good as it uauslly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading., 30 Sept. 2014
There are better bios of the two great men... I'm not saying this is bad by far. Easy reading is how I'd best describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read,once started did not want to put it down,a must buy book for any fans of the greatest ever comedy duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Laurel and Mr. Hardy: An Affectionate Biography
Mr. Laurel and Mr. Hardy: An Affectionate Biography by John McCabe (Paperback - 17 Jun. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews