Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex subject made simple. A superb reference book.
Despite our slightly over-critical friend's view of it being far too early to write a book on the subject (which beggars the question of when is it the right time?), XSLT Programmer's Reference is still the most comprehensive reference on the latest recommendation from W3C.
The book is clear and concise, though presented in such a manner as to welcome the novice into...
Published on 12 Jan 2001

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly presented
Like a previous reviewer - it's just so difficult to follow. Clearly Kay knows his stuff - he's written his own XSLT processor so he does know the standard, but the information is just not presented in an easy to digest format. I've read through the book several times - and again after doing some major xml/xsl work and it's just so confusing to follow. The examples (which...
Published on 31 Jan 2003 by paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex subject made simple. A superb reference book., 12 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Despite our slightly over-critical friend's view of it being far too early to write a book on the subject (which beggars the question of when is it the right time?), XSLT Programmer's Reference is still the most comprehensive reference on the latest recommendation from W3C.
The book is clear and concise, though presented in such a manner as to welcome the novice into the 'dark, mysterious world' that is XSLT.
Read this book and learn how to write the correct XSLT file for your application... the book covers simple stylesheets, navigational stylesheets, rule-based stylesheets, and computational stylesheets. It introduces the notion of Functional Programming, discusses the XSLT processing model, and has whole chapters dedicated to core xsl:elements and xslFunctions().
Included in the appendices is a chapter discussing the various XSL/XML parsers currently available (and yes, EVEN AFTER A YEAR the book is still UP TO DATE!)
Having read the book cover to cover I am far more confident in my XSL programming than I ever was before.
If you need to learn XSLT or even if you know it and you need a great, handy reference book for your shelf, don't be a fool BUY THIS NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly the book I was looking for, 30 Aug 2000
By 
J. Ellis "homeworker" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am involved in a project that needs some fairly deep XSLT, and whilst things were going OK, I felt sure that the knowledge I had gained from the web and a couple of XML books was not complete. You know, when you get something to work, but you are not quite sure how that one little bit actually does the right thing...?
Michael Kay really presents everything in such a complete way that those subtly incorrect mental models that one might be using are corrected. The result is a clear vision of what's happening in ALL your XSLT. He also knows how programmers' minds work and he points out all the potential pitfalls and also the common mistakes we are all likely to make.
I cannot believe you would need another book on the subject. It's even pleasantly readable...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the reviews of the 1st edition book!, 22 Jun 2001
By 
A. Reid (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: XSLT Programmer's Reference 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Ignore the reviews of the 1st edition of this book (2000). Now in 2001, The XSLT 1.0 standard has effectively been ratified and is now stable; 1.1 is in the works and the XSLT processors all achieve good levels of compliance. This is currently the most up to date and comprehensive book on XSLT. Not only covers XSLT in depth but also has chapters on the main XSL processors. Excellent examples throughout and a nice, readable style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the weight., 4 Sep 2000
By A Customer
It may be big but it is clever. This is probably the only uptodate guide to XSLT available. Don't be put off by the word 'Reference' in the title. This book isn't simply a rehash of information you could get off the Net or in your XSLT Processors documentation. As well as essential reference sections (with copious examples of usage) this book provides a thorough and readable grounding in the principles behind and usage of XSLT. XSLT requires something of a mindset change for prodedural programmers and this book helps enormously. Congratulations to Michael Kay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now., 7 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: XSLT Programmer's Reference 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is the only book to have on the subject of XSLT. I have the first edition -- the second edition also covers the 1.1 specification, introduces some new techniques (e.g. the Muenchian Method), and extends its coverage of the available XSLT engines out there.
His writing style is completely lucid and readable, and he covers the topic thoroughly. Plus if you're really stuck you can join the mailing list (as advertised in the book) and providing you've asked a sensible question, you're likely to get a response from Mr. Kay himself.
Do yourself a favor and buy this book today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on XSLT, 26 April 2002
This review is from: XSLT Programmer's Reference 2nd Edition (Paperback)
This book is the best book I've read on XML and on XSLT in particular. It's the best of the breed, it *teaches* you to think in XSLT, and it's simply SUPERB !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on XSLT out there, 29 Jun 2001
By 
T. J. Stewart "Terry S" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: XSLT Programmer's Reference 2nd Edition (Paperback)
When I first bought this book, in its first edition, I was just learning XML and XSL. I personally found the book very easy to use, and thanks to the superb job that Michael has done I quickly learned how to use XSLT. Some more examples in the book might have been nice, but those present are very useful, and illustrated some of the concepts very well. XSLT, beyond the very basics, can be quite complex, but a book such as this one that fully explains all of the languages elements and how they all fit together is invaluable. The new second edition is also a good introduction to the new XSLT 1.1 specification, still in working draft, for those (like me) who find the W3C documents rather daunting without some initial exposure to the concepts. All in all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile purchase, 30 Jun 2000
By A Customer
It's not surprising that there is such a dirth of XSL and XLST material available, as there is, as yet, for the former only a W3C Working Draft to go by, and for the later only a Recommendation. However, this little book comes from a respected author, and shows what can to done within the existing limitation, both formal and software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great summary and deep dive into the features of XSLT 1, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written guide on how to develop with XSLT 1. The book is more reference than tutorial (as stated on the cover). The only thing I could fault it on would be some of it's examples, which can leave you needing a little bit more to complete your understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to a complex subject, 28 May 2000
By A Customer
The next stage of actually using XSLT to achieve useful output from XML based data is a bit of a black art and is surprisingly poorly served by computer books. This is excellent, well written and simultaneously detailed it demonstrates the author's deep understanding of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XSLT Programmer's Reference 2nd Edition
XSLT Programmer's Reference 2nd Edition by Michael Kay (Paperback - 1 April 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews