Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Kyte - All kneel and praise him!, 14 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
Finally Tom Kyte gets around to releasing his talents in a consumable form! This book is without doubt the best book available for Oracle at present, it is suitable for both DBA's and Developers alike, with ample time given to both camps and even the reasons why.
The introdution chapter alone is almost worth the cover price, Tom attempts to explain that all databases are different, no two are alike and they should *ALL* be respected for that, no-one DB is better than another, simply different. The book continues in this very down to earth common sense format.
Tom has an amazing talent of explaining things in a simple, consise form, without coming over as patronising or smug. He is not content to explain one theory and then expect you to guess the rest, he explains everything thoroughly, even if it seems so obvious at first glance. The book oozes, common sense, everything Tom writes about is in there for a reason, if it's not there, your told it's not there, and told why it's not there! His publishers must be given credit for allowing him the the extra space for the hundreds of examples.
As a 5 year Oracle DBA, I would reccomend this book to absolutely anyone who has to use Oracle in their day-to-day work, and I would recomend especially to anyone thinking about their OCP exams, as this will cover the fundamentals in such easy to remember detail, you can't fail.
Stop what your doing, put those other books into storage and make way for "Expert One-on-One"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete Oracle book I have seen, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
If you are an Oracle programmer, or a DBA that works with programmers (and has to tell them all the things that they are supposed to know) this is the best book you can buy.
There are books by people that can program, books by writers who can write but do not quite understand what they are writing about, and there are a million other faults a book could have. However, this book has none of them.
Tom Kyte is at the very top of Oracle programming and he is a teacher who wants you to be able the do the same thing. Every topic in this book "reaches the ground". Tom starts from setting up your environment, and takes you through many high level exercises, showing you how to make it work, every single step of the way.
There is too much to describe it all, but as an example, there is a 70-page section on writing a C-Based external procedure. It starts with six pages of setting up your environment (listener, schema, server, exproc program, libraries), then the code in PL/SQL and C, how to make it, how to install it, how to test it. It ends with the answer to every error message you might get if you make a mistake.
The applications discussed are not just "interesting" and they do not just "work". There is a recurring theme in all of the applications and that is this that they scale. Tom has sections on bind variable, and then more on bind variables, and then more on bind variables, until the idea is branded on you that a "working" application is trivial unless it scales. You are not writing code for developers, but for end users who may do millions of transactions a day; that is the kind of code you want.
If you already know everything, you will learn more! Either way Tom's projects are complete, and well documented.
This is great book, and you will read all 1200 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb detailed view of oracle database, 26 Mar 2002
By 
Graeme Barnett (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
This is the best book I've purchased so far.
I've a total of 9 oracle books on my book shelf and this is by far the best.
It is the way it is so well written; almost narratively. He gives details of the particular subject and interjects with the way it should 'really' be done. Oracle has so many different ways of doing the same thing and he points out the best ways.
There is also alot of technical information squeezed into a mere 1200 odd pages.
Even with limited Oracle knowledge this is the best introduction you could get if you've a few years general database experience already.
Read it and then read it again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Oracle book on the planet, 16 May 2003
By 
Alberto Dell'era (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
I have just to say that i 100% agree with all the five-stars reviews on this book - since they have dissected the book from every possible perspective, I have only to add that this is by far the best book on Oracle that I own - and I own 15+ of them.
This book and Jonathan Lewis' "Practical Oracle 8i" are the only books that I carry with me every day when I commute to work, even if their combined weight is more than 2.7 kg and I'm probably the physically-laziest human on the planet. But their helping me in shading light on some Oracle feature in minutes in countless occasions is invaluable - not to mention that they *explain* how Oracle works, which is something that any serious Oracle professional will surely appreciate, and that separates both books from the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 28 Dec 2001
By 
Mr. R. Willett "Rob MK" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
Just buy this. It is a truly expert book written in an easy to read style. Kyte's insight into Oracle is remarkable, and I picked up tips just from reading the first few chapters. This is a hands on book, I recommend you sit down, log in to Oracle, and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the rest, 27 Nov 2001
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
I'm about to dump all the other Oracle books I have bought over the years into the nearest skip.
This fantastic book is really the only one I will ever need,(well this and Jonathan Lewis's - who recommended the book to me in the first place.)
How do I export/import to a compressed file in unix?
How do I implement an audit of selected sensitive data? This book tells you how, and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sources of information about Oracle database, 16 May 2003
By 
M. Numan (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
This is definitely a must-have even if you are only considering programming in Oracle. The book covers the most fundamentals aspects of programming for the Oracle database and Tom Kyte is using a very accessible style with lots of code to support his approach and demonstrate the Oracle features in a simple way.
Throw out most of your other books (except for the O'Reilly books) on Oracle if you need any shelf space ... and buy this one !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expert and readable, from beginnner to pro, 14 Nov 2001
By 
P. H PICOT (Haymarket, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Expert One-On-One: Oracle (Paperback)
I have been doing Oracle development since Oracle 5.x and have lots of books by now, but this is by far the best. If I can steal a line from Winston, the difference between this book and similar books is the difference between lightening and lightening bug (if you wonder why Winston would not have used 'firefly' his mum was American and fire and firefly don't work, do they?) Anyway, buy this book; it will pay for itself. And, if you have a bit of doubt, check out the Oracle help web site,.. and query up your current problem. This is the quickest way to learn Oracle or learn a whole lot more. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Expert One-On-One: Oracle
Expert One-On-One: Oracle by Thomas Kyte (Paperback - 1 Jun 2001)
Used & New from: 0.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews