Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and dirty 'solve-it' book
Many VBA books teach VBA the way foreign languages are taught in school - give the student a thorough grounding in the syntax of the language and bore them to tears. This book in very refreshing in that John Green jumps straight in and teaches you how to write VBA code very quickly. Although there is an introduction to VBA, the excel user that has already dabbled a...
Published on 21 Aug 2000

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg
This book does have some very useful parts - e.g. the chapter on international settings - though even there the problem with failure to recognise a number input as % is repeated mentioned, but no workaround is proposed. There are some useful tips on gotchas. I found it very light in dealing with User Defined Functions - no indication as to how to create and use a...
Published on 2 Jan 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and dirty 'solve-it' book, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
Many VBA books teach VBA the way foreign languages are taught in school - give the student a thorough grounding in the syntax of the language and bore them to tears. This book in very refreshing in that John Green jumps straight in and teaches you how to write VBA code very quickly. Although there is an introduction to VBA, the excel user that has already dabbled a little with VBA will benefit the most from this book. Although much of the book is taken up with the excel object model (which comes with excel) there are still hundreds of pages of very relevant material which gives the reader a very good grounding in how to write VBA to solve real world problems very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg, 2 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
This book does have some very useful parts - e.g. the chapter on international settings - though even there the problem with failure to recognise a number input as % is repeated mentioned, but no workaround is proposed. There are some useful tips on gotchas. I found it very light in dealing with User Defined Functions - no indication as to how to create and use a function that returns an array result, or how to programme function help for the user trying to understand the arguments and purpose of a function for instance. Also no coverage of using compiled .dll for additional speed in computationally intensive tasks, and how to pass data to and fro to those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - highly recommended, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
Very well written and easy to follow, it answered a whole collection of my questions within 1/2 a hour of opening it. If you have already mastered menu handling, classes and the object model then this book is not for you but if you have written some VBA and want to start cleaning it up to a more resilient standard then this is perfect.
Wrox or the authors need to come up with an advanced version of this book which covers areas such as Odbc and External data sources, Excel internals with a view to speeding up code and some of the more useful but esoteric functions available within Excel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially fantastic resource let down by bad index, 4 Oct 2002
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
This book should be the answer to many a programmer's prayers. There is a little of everything in here and you'll certainly learn a bit simply by reading it. One for the bookshelf? Well yes, in addition to several other texts, but then there are no books I know of in the XL world that can stand alone and yes I've bought a copy. (In the XL world there simply isn't the equivalent of the books by Getz, Litwin et al for Access and most fall far short.)
Summit:
The encyclopaedic Chapter 2 "The primer" is an excellent educational tool. It's very important in XL, like everywhere else, to learn how to program decent code. However one doesn't generally have the baby-walker that is "Record Macro" facility from where many a nipper (including this reviewer) set out on the quest for Excel mastery. But the time eventually comes when one has to learn to walk properly and this chapter alone is a valuable contribution to anyone seeking to throw away the crutches of the early toddler years.
Sink:
The index is horrible since pre-assumes a prior knowledge of the xl object model - one simple example...to find out about the cells (property) don't look in C look in R - because as you will know the Cells property is a property of the Range object. Since everyone knows this - this is fine - however as you approach the boundaries of your knowledge (as you will if you're learning anything) such a set up is frustrating.
-Verdict: Excellent book, but mistitled - should read Excel 2000 VBA - a primer. And a fine primer it is too! (But don't annoy yourself by trying to learn a la help file using reference indexes though and you'll like the book a lot.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try, but it falls between too many stools, 25 July 2002
By 
Farn Oddy (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
For an experienced VBA programmer, this book probably offers relatively little. The introduction claims it's aimed at all levels, but as a near-beginner I found it WAY too skimpy. I still can't follow how to set up a user form from code in a way that actually works. The authors grapple well with the sheer complexity and lack of logic of the object-oriented approach to writing code, but many more painstaking examples and step by steps are needed to make the whole thing truly clear.
On balance the book is almost certainly at its best for the reader with middle-of-the-road VBA experience: there are many useful hints for writing code that runs much faster (and is shorter) than the traditional "select range and operate" approach that results from recording macros in Excel.
Regrettably the book hasn't solved any of my own problems I hoped it would. Downloading the selection of macros from the Wrox website hasn't helped either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Programmer's reference for professionals, 15 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
As a professional VBA programmer, I found this book to be an excellent reference. Although I use Excel 97, many of the programming concepts are the same as for Excel 2000. Each chapter maps well onto real-world issues that are likely to come up in an intensive programming environment. A good example of this is the chapter on International issues: I have recently been involved in developing a system installed in several countries across Europe, where the users previously had to switch to UK settings in order for the system to work. The book is not intended as a 'learn to program' guide, a genre which is too heavily catered for already, rather as a programmer's reference laid out in such a way as to find solutions to real-world problems quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fuse This Reference With MSDN Library For Scorching Results..., 26 Oct 2007
By 
J Maduka "eruditio-phile" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
Love it!
With its vintage coffee stains (circa 2002) and more dog ears than a Kelly Brook Calendar this little number has survived numerous contracts across the UK. I would suggest the target market would be someone who has an average understanding of Excel AND has recorded macro's in the past and messed around with a little VBA.

This is a REFERENCE BOOK and a REFERENCE BOOK only - it is NOT designed to teach VBA (though it does cover a bit at the beginning.) I liked the orders of the pages too e.g. years ago whilst flicking through RANGES brought up OFFSET and RESIZE examples that helped me rethink my entire code a rapidly solve a coding challenge; which is great considering I'd never thought of using these in the first place!

I found the index at the back a bit, well, odd; nevertheless I combine this volume with the MSDN library online for maximum effect!

IF you code at home, work or play; keep this valuable tome by your side at all times!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Light on detail, 28 Feb 2000
By 
Mark Liversedge "markliversedge" (Cranleigh, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
Almost half of the 700 pages are taken up by two huge appendices documenting stuff you can generally get from the help files. Not only is it light on ODBC it doesn't even mention MSquery. Again like most of it's competition there is scant attention paid to compatibility issues with previous versions although it does consider cross platform issues for Mac's and PC's in places.
I found the writing style clear and to the point but lacking real in-depth detail, ignoring the volumous appendices. No CD-ROM seems a little cheap, but then it's relatively inexpensive and you can download source code from their website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good vba reference., 15 Dec 2012
By 
G. Clarke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found many VBA tips already in this book being someone who uses Excel on a daily basis. Give you a different angle on how to tackle coding and make if more efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Buy it, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference (Paperback)
I have bought a lot of vba Excel books. This is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference
Excel 2000 VBA Programmer's Reference by Green (Paperback - 19 May 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews