Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


214 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1 to 5
This little book is a brilliant guide for the beginner in music theory, or for the student who just needs to brush up on basic knowledge. It is suitable for children and adults and explains such matters as rhythm, key signatures, time signatures and virtually all the details of basic music theory in a straightforward and easy-to-understand way.
There are very few...
Published on 20 Mar 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a summery of everything
a good reference book, but dont rely upon for main information. you need somthing like 'The AB Guide to Music Theory' Vol 1 + 2 to work along with it.
Published 18 months ago by Ms. V. S. Langdon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

214 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1 to 5, 20 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
This little book is a brilliant guide for the beginner in music theory, or for the student who just needs to brush up on basic knowledge. It is suitable for children and adults and explains such matters as rhythm, key signatures, time signatures and virtually all the details of basic music theory in a straightforward and easy-to-understand way.
There are very few really "easy" guides around on music theory, but this must be one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
A must for any music beginner. It is easy to read, comprehensive and well explained. One of the better learning books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Dennis (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
I have found this handy sized book an invaluable aid to the early student of music. The explanation of scales and themeanings of all those italian words of instuction alone made it worth the purchase price for me. There is so much within its pages to help the budding musician in understanding the basics while being small and light enough to carry in a pocket or within an istrument case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handy little book, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
This book is divided into grades, which is useful compared to other theory books I've tried. It is quite small, but could be easily stored in your handbag, if you were very keen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
I highly recommend this book even if you are some way accomplished in reading music for revision purposes. For a beginner its especially perfect. Great product, delivery, and price outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music Theory books, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
One of the best theory books i own, its helpful for me just to pop it into my bag and have it handy.It has all the basic knowledge and clearly maps out grade theory. overal a handy pocket guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy size, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
Small size book, so easy for putting in schoolbag. My dyslexic daughter is finding it straightforward enough to understand without me having to explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a substitute for the other Eric Taylor theory books, 24 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
We were asked to buy the Eric Taylor Grades 1 & 2 theory book ("Theory in Practice") for our piano-learning children. We thought we would be smart (and save some money) by buying this book to cover up to grade 5. It is not, however, a compendium edition of the 5 "Theory in Practice" books. It is instead a 'pocket summary' of the things to be learned at each grade, but it does NOT have the exercises and tests that the individual Eric Taylor books have. So we have actually now order the individual books as well as this one!

That said, this is a really good, concise (and smaller format) summary - ideal for doing some cribbing on the school bus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
Good value for money. Handy pocket size. Everything from very basic concepts; letter names of notes, bars, time values and time signatures. To the more complicated; sharps, flats, intervals, identifying chords etc. Good as a reminder/reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 18 May 2010
This review is from: First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 (Sheet music)
Excellent theory book for beginners who preparing for the grade exams up to 5 grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5
First Steps in Music Theory: Grades 1-5: Grades 1 to 5 by Eric Taylor (Sheet music - 15 July 1999)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews