Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This Theory Workbook is well laid out and with reasonably simple explanations designed for the learner who has reached this advanced stage of the study of Musical Theory. The design of the book should enable the learner to pass the Grade 6 Exam offered by ABRSM. There are simple practical tips within the text and the examples for study start with the easier and become more difficult. There are answers for some of the questions which enable you to check your own understanding. I can recommend this workbook to both teachers and learners.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2005
This book was helpful and covered many things but not everything you'll come across in the exam paper.
It covered the basic things like harmony with chords eg. I, II, IV, V7, etc... It didn't cover anything on Binary form which you have to know. The figured bass was extremely vague and if you just used that to learn it you would suffer in the exam.
What i found this useful for was the exercises that they set you to do. My advice would be to buy the old G6 exam papers and also buy 'HARMONY IN PRACTICE'Anna Butterworth and also G6 'MUSIC THEORY IN PRACTICE' ABRSM, Peter Aston & Julian Webb. You can buy them all on Amazon and they all contributed to me getting a Distinction - which I'm very pleased about.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Everything you need to pass the Grade 6 theory exam. Much better than the music theory in practice books. Highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
I have found that when you get above grade 5 in music theory, it is VERY difficult to find any book that can actually 'teach' you properly what you need to know - the AB guide to music theory is a very vague musical dictionary, the Josephine Koh books have no answers to their questions and now we have this.
This book is yet another classic case of "lets give the reader just one worked example and then we will pack the book out with 30 questions which don't look anything like the example" As a result you are left stuck because you don't have enough examples to go by.
It gets worse when you get to chapter 4 and 5 because its JUST questions. Yep, no examples or teaching at all. There are answers at the back to the last two chapters but its not so helpful when they just STATE the answers and don't actually explain why. So, if you get a question wrong, then you are not going to be able to figure out where you went wrong.

This book would probably suit someone who is going to work through it with a teacher, but if you are planning on teaching yourself music theory at this level using this book, I'd say you are in for some very frustrating times! I got a distinction in grade 5 theory with relative ease but I know I still couldn't scrape a pass on grade 6 theory even after a month of studying hard from this book and others.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
This workbook helps to embed the learnings you are making when studying for grade 6. An essential item if you want to do well in your exam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Book arrived In good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
perfect....Lots of work to do!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Very helpful and useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
Excellent learning tool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
A good resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)