Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book for any budding Jazz pianist.
This book is very useful to anyone learning to play not only the piano but also for someone who wishes to increase their jazz playimg skills. It contains many basic scales with good and clear fingering markings. Ownership of this book not only would help to pass the ASB Jazz exams but also help with Piano playing, in particular Jazz. I reccomend to all pianists looking to...
Published on 25 Feb 2002 by djruss_@hotmial.com

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a short compendium of scales. No more and no less
it's nothing to write home about, it's just 20 pages with some scales. The descriptions says ''it will develop the technical skills you need to play jazz. It introduces patterns characteristic of the idiom, like the blues scales, the b3 pentatonic and various modes. It also explores these patterns on the roots and key centres commonly found in jazz.''

But in...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book for any budding Jazz pianist., 25 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
This book is very useful to anyone learning to play not only the piano but also for someone who wishes to increase their jazz playimg skills. It contains many basic scales with good and clear fingering markings. Ownership of this book not only would help to pass the ASB Jazz exams but also help with Piano playing, in particular Jazz. I reccomend to all pianists looking to improve Jazz playing techniques and any other curious player wishing to further their repotoire of styles and pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and useful for any up and coming jazz pianists., 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
This book is a must for any up and coming jazz pianists. The book is well laid out, with good and well researched fingerings. If the fingerings are obeyed then the candidate will not only be sure of a good pass at grades 1-5, but also be able to play jazz pieces technicaly well and with much more ease. I personaly recommend this book for anybody taking Asociated Board exams or anyone intersted in increasing their jazz playing abilities and skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful practice, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
Loathing scales as I do , this little book makes them a little more palatable in that they are subtlely varied and gradually more and more complex as the book progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is what it says, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
Bought for my daughter who is learning the piano the book was everything it should have been . it was very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glutton for punishment, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
Difficult to review. If you need it - this is what you have got to do!! And it is on nice paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a short compendium of scales. No more and no less, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
it's nothing to write home about, it's just 20 pages with some scales. The descriptions says ''it will develop the technical skills you need to play jazz. It introduces patterns characteristic of the idiom, like the blues scales, the b3 pentatonic and various modes. It also explores these patterns on the roots and key centres commonly found in jazz.''

But in fact, it's just a short compendium of scales. The 'book' says nothing about on what harmonic context you can use the b3 pentatonic or the modes. I understand that this is not an jazz harmony book, but the description gives an idea that the 'book' is more than it really is, which it isn't. I also don't understand why for some pentatonic scales, like the Bb minor pentatonic, fingerings are given only for 1 octave, and I can't figure out how to extend the pattern in more than 1 octave, unless I play with thumbs on black keys, but am not sure if I am doing the right thing.
At grade 5, is it not expected to know all the scales in all the keys, as for minor and major?

I also define it 'book' (in quotes) as I don't know how else to define it. Not a bad buy for the used copy I bought at £ 1.25 , and to me a quid more or less isn't that important, but for £ 8 including shipping, I'd probably pay more and try to find a book for jazz piano improvisation where all scales are illustrated and more. So, not a bad product, just rather mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, great price!!, 29 May 2002
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
This jazz scale book is exactly what I needed and at a fabulous price too. A great self-help product for anyone with a basic knowledge of musical notation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, VERY PRACTICAL, 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) (Sheet music)
A1 Can't fault it but prefer THe National College Of Muisc ANYTIME. The Asocciated Board "Think a lot of themselfs" i could say more but it wouldn't be fit to pubblish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces)
Jazz Piano Scales, Grades 1-5 (ABRSM Exam Pieces) by ABRSM (Sheet music - 27 Mar 1998)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews