Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but interesting, 3 Aug 2010
By 
Dr. G. Nicholls "garethnicholls" (nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge/One of the Missing (Travelman Adventure) (Paperback)
Try not to read any descriptions about this book, as they will tell you most of the story. Worth a read, although it will take you less than an hour to read it - try Project Gutenburg for a free read of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an important story, I think. The first, it seems, to imagine the story that might play in a dying man's mind. It is quite short - perhaps too short really, as though the author was a little uncertain how much use to make of his idea. But it is still well worth the read.

For my part, I read it because it is acknowledged in a recent book which does a lot more with the idea: Got Love If You Want It by Christopher Thomason, which I strongly recommend (see review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would say that if you only read one book about the American civil war this should be the one. Definitely the equal of red badge of courage if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I can see why the film was so good., 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although it was written more than a century ago it is so well written that the screen writer for the film had little to do. Good enough to make me look for more by the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic Short, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bierce's influential classic short story explores the fluid and illusory nature of time through the ordeal of family man, Peyton Farquhar during the American civil war. And you will struggle to find an ending that kicks you in the stomach as Bierce does in bringing home his themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual short story, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this short story after reading it mentioned in a review of a disturbing film called "Jacobs Ladder". I don't want to give away any spoilers, and so all I can say is that this is a thoughtful work, which you will probably want to re-read immediately after finishing it. It's unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, forgotten writer, 1 April 2012
My grandfather recommended his short stories many years ago and they stayed in my mind for many years and i finally managed to pick up a copy via Amazon. His writing has a way-a style and is captivating, clever and original. Like all good works, they don't age with time.I would highly recommend his work.
Bierce himself was an interesting man-a journalist by trade who managed to obtain recognition latterly for his work and ended up 'disappearing' in New Mexico, I believe. A strange ending to a man who engineered many strange endings in his numerous short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting story which has been the inspiration for films ..., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting story which has been the inspiration for films and novels since. Its only a very short piece but the imagery and emotion is effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set around the American Civil War. It gives the impression that the prisoner escapes but he is only dreaming that he has
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dated, of course, but the craftsmanship of the writing still shines through. I must read some more Ambrose pretty damned soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge/One of the Missing (Travelman Adventure)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews