Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good entry level course for beginners/improvers.
I am not sure if this review is going to end up on the CD or book page, so I'll make it general.

This is a good entry level course, as in, it will take you from not speaking Welsh at all to being able to hold a reasonable conversation; discussing the weather, your health, what you like and general gossip 'type' chat. It will also prepare you for the Entry level...
Published on 6 July 2011 by Mr. M. R. Smith

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars EDUCATIONALISTS
This book is based upon an early communcative view of learning. The only way learners can learn to speak a language without using grammar is through learning to reciting phrases and learning them by memorisation, parrot fashion. Langauges cannot be learnt successfully in this way. It will fail learners needs in the longer term. It is necessary to learn language grammar to...
Published on 9 July 2012 by EDUCATIONALIST


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good entry level course for beginners/improvers., 6 July 2011
By 
Mr. M. R. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not sure if this review is going to end up on the CD or book page, so I'll make it general.

This is a good entry level course, as in, it will take you from not speaking Welsh at all to being able to hold a reasonable conversation; discussing the weather, your health, what you like and general gossip 'type' chat. It will also prepare you for the Entry level exam, if you so wish to sit it.

The book is well presented, contains English explanatory text to introduce phrases (patterns), and highlights any special grammatical points and potential difficulties you may have. A review section follows every unit and every 5th unit (ie 5,10,15 etc) is a revision unit.

The CD is very good! clearly spoken and helpful. Personally I struggle most with the pronunciation so being able to hear it helps a lot and is good revision for both speaking and listening.

The revision pack is a very useful tool and helps you revise. You can either look back through the text book or show your tutor if you are on a course. The answers to the tasks are not in the revision pack but the questions are not ambiguous so this does not cause problems.

I have attended an introductory course and am currently studying at Welsh summer school. This book has proven to be a valuable resource. I would say it is a fantastic introduction into learning Welsh either as part of a course, as additional material extra to your course (as in my case) or as a good self study package. Although I would recommend getting the text book, CD and revision pack.

Then when your ready, move on to the next level!

Pob lwc dysgu Cymraeg!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very helpfull with the basics, 31 Oct 2010
I have just started learning welsh and have found this book very easy to understand goes hand in hand with the cwrs mynediad course, covers all the basics for oral welsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must...., 24 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cwrs Mynediad: South Wales Version: CDs Adolygu / Revision CDs (Audio CD)
If you doing cwrs mynediad this is a must for practicing pronunciation particularly if you have nobody to practice with between classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cwrs Mynediad - Test yourself, 19 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful the pages pull out so I have copied them so that I can test myself over and over until I'm confident. I'll file the original and use for reference once I know I can acheive 80%.

A great aid to testing yourself I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars EDUCATIONALISTS, 9 July 2012
This book is based upon an early communcative view of learning. The only way learners can learn to speak a language without using grammar is through learning to reciting phrases and learning them by memorisation, parrot fashion. Langauges cannot be learnt successfully in this way. It will fail learners needs in the longer term. It is necessary to learn language grammar to independtly construct meaningful language, such as word order.

Children in school are required to learn about grammar in all languages and the Open University also require learners to learn about grammar in a whole range of second languages. The presentation of the book appears to lack a coherent presentation of the language conventions. Important learning issues such as the 'linking yn' are not included in the grammar sections. I am unclear why learners are not expected to learn certain persons of the verb, the 'we' and 'you' persons. This does not make sense. They are only two extra terms.

I was promised in 2006 that the recommendations I made for improvements in this manuscript would be considered for the next edition of the book, but this is yet to appear in the book shops.

This is book is essential if somone needs to take a Welsh to Adult Course. It does not allow indepedent study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not for self-study on its own!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is very clearly written, and is obviously meant as a class text for weekly lessons with a tutor. There are good examples of usage, but it's obvious that teachers are meant to provide additional explanations and classmates/fellow learners are definitely needed to complete the activities.

It is split into 30 chapters, each of which contains:
- a vocabulary list of new words introduced in the chapter
- a summary of grammar introduced (written in a very friendly and helpful way!)
- a brief dialogue (intended for two individuals to practice speaking to each other)
- a list of phrases/sentences (with English translations) to demonstrate how the words and language patterns introduced are used
- several exercises designed for a classroom setting (i.e. group activities), with space to write answers in the book

The text is very clear to read, easy to understand, and there are little cartoon-style drawings and colour photos to enhance the text. After every 5th chapter, there is a section which summarises and revises what's been covered in those 5 chapters (although the vocabulary lists do not agree 100%) and gives a checklist for what you should know at that point.

At the end of the book, there is a colour-coded blue section related to the workplace, where additional work-related vocabulary is found (linked to each of the 30 chapters), and a red section for children that contains games etc, again related to each of the main book chapters. To me, the children's section is meant for a Welsh-speaking adult to use with the children, not an adult learner of Mynediad standard. Although I'm not studying through the workplace, I think that the blue section contains useful information for anybody working in Wales, or with Welsh speakers.

As I'm not attending weekly classes, this book is not good enough to use as a self-study text on it's own, however, I am finding it very useful to clarify things elsewhere, and to assess how well I'm doing (or not!).

There is "Pecyn ymarfer" (practice pack) that accompanies this, but there is no way of checking your own work, so I wouldn't recommend buying that unless you are in a class where the teacher will be using it (maybe sample answers are in the Tutor's book that's also available?).

Had I been using this in class, I'd have given it the full 5 stars, but as a book for self-study, the class exercises are virtually useless, and it's definitely no use on its own, so I'd only give 3 stars. As a result, I've compromised and given 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't stand on its own, 21 April 2014
This is a very popular course book amongst the bodies responsible for teaching Welsh to Adults across South Wales.

If you are attending a 'Mynediad' course buying this book is pretty much obligatory as you are not going to get very far without it.

The book is well laid out, and is split into 30 units. Each unit builds on the grammar and the vocabulary in previous units. The units themselves are generally split into blocks of key phrases, followed by activities to reinforce the language from the previous block. Each unit generally ends with a dialogue built around the key points from unit. There is usually a summary of grammar and vocabulary covered in the unit.

Every fifth unit is a revision and extension unit.

The book is purpose written for students following the Mynediad course. It is not well suited to a course of self study as
each block of language to learn does not come with an explanation regarding the key points of language that are trying to be taught. In practice these blocks of language are drilled by tutors in class. It is very much down to the individual tutor whether or not the grammar underpinning the language is explained. (Most tutors will gear this to the group they are teaching)

In addition to this book there is a practice pack (answers not contained - so again not suited to self study) and a set of CDs which allow you to practice the language at home (expensive but worth it)

I'm on the verge of giving this book 4 stars, the only thing that is holding me back is the fact that I am a pedant and there are a few grammatical errors in this book. This is obviously done deliberately by the author, probably in order to simplify the language for the student and to be as colloquial as possible. My personal opinion is that you should learn the correct form first and once you have mastered that - then learn the colloquial form - but their are plenty of people who would disagree with me. The other problem with this approach is that those students who eventually reach 'A' level standard will have to unlearn some bad habits if they wish to get good grades.

You shouldn't let this put you off attending a Mynediad course. This book combined with a good tutor and hard work is definitely a four star or five star experience. You will build an excellent foundation on which to base your future Welsh learning. There are plenty of people out there who started on a Mynediad course and who are now fluent.

Last thing - this review is for the South Wales version. The North Wales version follows the same unit structure but some of the language is modified to reflect the North Wales dialect. Make sure you buy the correct one for your area. Just to confuse us all Amazon have but a picture of the North Wales version against the South Wales version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cwrs Mynediad: South Wales Version: CDs Adolygu / Revision CDs (Audio CD)
I was learning welsh in work, this course, the CD are easy to understand and the book we had in work went with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cwrs Mynediad Pecyn, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Cwrs Mynediad Pecyn Ymarfer ( Gogledd) Pecyn Ymarfer is a very well written Welsh language learning course. You need both books to get the full benefit of the course, which I obtained from you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my daughter used this book for her college course
she passed her exams as well
very good for her course, and easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cwrs Mynediad: South Wales Version: CDs Adolygu / Revision CDs
Used & New from: 12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews