Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Figure and Meaning of Jesus
In "Jesus of Nazareth Part Two" Pope Benedict sets out to finish his reflections on the life and significance of Jesus of Nazareth. The fact that this second and final book covers "just" the last week or so of Jesus' earthly ministry is the reflection of the impact and importance of that one week, which culminated in crucifixion that was followed by the glorious...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Dr. Bojan Tunguz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep trying!
I bought this for my husband. He admits to finding it rather hard going at the moment but he is keen to persevere. It is certainly full of "meat", theologically speaking.
Published 22 months ago by Taponne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus of Nazareth, 30 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
This book really lets you feel how it would have felt to be present at the time of the death of Jesus and is worth a look. But The Holy Father makes the start very dry as he uses words that required me to use my spell checker. But stick with it and you will be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 16 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
This was also a present and as I have not read it i cannot say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timely Book for Lent and Easter, 20 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
It seems almost impertinent to write a review for a book written by so great a theologian and teacher as Pope Benedict XVI. This book is accesible but it cannot be called 'an easy read' as it demands careful and meditative reading. Nevertheless theological and exegetical terms are explained and the publishers have inserted a glossary as an appendix. 'Jesus of Nazareth' is sensitively written but does not 'fudge' difficult issues such as the reality of the resurrction and of the crucifixion. It is also an answer, in part, to the radical proponents of the 'Historical Jesus thesis' but in no way denies the reality of the Lord in history. It is recommended reading for Lent and Easter. I hope Pope Benedict will be given health and strength to write his proposed third volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lamb acknowledges His Holiness, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
Having read the first part of this work it gives me great pleasure to state that this part is just as excellent in its extolling of the truth about Jesus Christ and his message.

Roman Catholics are indebted to the Holy Father for his intellectual gifts, his understanding of the subject and his warmth towards Christ reflected in his warmth towards his faithful people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading., 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
Deepened my understanding of Jesus. Easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a book for the university and pulpit, 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
an insightful book reflects Ratzinger, the scholar, long theological journey that made him write down an insightful book for both academia and pulpit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 29 Mar 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2 (Hardcover)
This dull book,written by the current Pope, consists of an analysis of the last days of Jesus Christ on Earth before his crucifixion. The book made no impression on me at all - I found it particularly uninteresting and I normally enjoy books about religion. It consists in the main of a lot of theological waffle and digressions of interest only, I would imagine, to priests and other clergymen. Perhaps I am not clever enough to understand all this deep "exegesis" ? Maybe. However the author believes that Jesus ,the New Adam,came to free us all from sin, caused by a foolish woman being tricked by a talking snake into eating a piece of fruit off a tree approximately 6000 years ago, according to the Bible. The author also presumably believes that the Earth is around 6000 years old as well, as that is what the Bible teaches us. Scientists have in fact proved that the planet is actually 4 billion years old and the Bronze Age tribesmen who wrote the Bible were blissfully unaware of the existence of such lifeforms as dinosaurs and bacteria which have been around since pussy was a kitten. The author also presumably believes that Jesus is also his own father and many other absurdities as well, based on a book which is incoherent and contradictory throughout. I have put this book up for sale on Amazon Marketplace at a competitive price.It is in pristine condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: from the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection Pt. 2
£13.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews