Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every album tells a story...
I've been a Squeeze fan since the early days, and have been to see the band, Glenn and Chris respectively many times. I have many of their albums and vague recollections of various sagas, sackings, leavings, break ups and so forth over the years. This book has been an absolute revelation to me, and has led me to revisit their back catalogue, listening to the songs again...
Published on 24 Jan 2005 by Mr. M. Haskell

versus
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity....
I'm a Squeeze fan and I figure most people who read this book will be Squeeze fans. The author doesn't appear to be though, and that's a shame. I don't expect him to love every song Squeeze ever did, but he speaks with little warmth about the songs. I wonder how this could and should have been, had it been written by someone who'd loved and listened to all the songs...
Published on 22 Nov 2004 by Adrian Durham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every album tells a story..., 24 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. M. Haskell "Martin H" (Maidstone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
I've been a Squeeze fan since the early days, and have been to see the band, Glenn and Chris respectively many times. I have many of their albums and vague recollections of various sagas, sackings, leavings, break ups and so forth over the years. This book has been an absolute revelation to me, and has led me to revisit their back catalogue, listening to the songs again in great detail, reading the sleeve notes and unlocking the secrets behind many of the lyrics, recordings and events of the time. I know it's not possible, but I wish I'd had this book in the early 70's and read it as the story unfolded. I certainly wish I'd bought it before going to see Glenn in Amsterdam at the start of January 2005.
If you like Squeeze you'll like a good story. If you like superb music you'll like Squeeze. Don't waste any more time, get the book, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squeeze - the clean and the dirty, 17 April 2006
By 
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
This book is set up in an interesting way. First there is a concise introduction of the group's early days. Then each album is dissected, with Difford and Tilbrook sharing memories of each song, such as the writing behind them and recordings. There is an introduction of the album and in the end of each chapter a discussion of the album's ramifications, how it fared etc. At the end of the book the conclusion of Squeeze is navigated and finally some texts of most of their best songs are introduced.

This set-up actually works great. The reader gets all the main details without getting bogged down with lengthy discussions about trivial matters left best alone to the hard core fans. The memories of Difford and Tilbrook are interesting to read, I for one did not know half of all the troubles surrounding the group. Having been a huge fan when East Side Story was released, it is interesting noting how things went quickly downhill after that with Sweets From a Stranger. Tilbrook was obviously at fault, being bossy and stubborn. It was also sad for me to realize what a prick he really can be. When re-uniting Squeeze he sacked their long time bassist, John Bentley, being a somewhat perfectionist. By doing so, however, the face of Squeeze changed forever. It is interesting that Paul Carrack leaves the band almost immediately after East Side Story, realizing that the duo would never allow him to become a full term song writer nor singer within the group. Yet he made Tempted their biggest hit, ever, with his soulful singing. He later enjoyed a successful career as a solo artist, one can only wonder what Squeeze would have become had Difford and Tilbrook allowed him more space within the band.

It would have been great fleshing the book a little by getting some other band members' opinions. Also, after having read some of Difford's texts, many of which are a work of genius, one craves to have more within the book.

This is, on the whole, however a great read which I recommend for all Squeeze fans. I would deduct half a star if I could, but opt for 5 stars rather than 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very cool for cats, 20 Jan 2005
By 
paul marsh (Upminster, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
As a long time fan of Squeeze I was delighted to read about the forthcoming book "Song by Song", and having snapped it up on release I wasn't disappointed.
The book is a mix of styles, part narrative and part interview that allows Glenn & Chris to give the reader their thoughts on the feelings, emotions and (frequent) frustrations they shared during their song writing partnership.
Glenn & Chris were interviewed separately by Jim Drury due to their frequently conflicting schedules. This is strength as the book benefits from both parties choosing to tell it like it was (and possibly could be again)
Believe me nothing is spared, as both men are brutally honest. Chris, about his demons and the problems they caused, and Glenn about his musical dominance of the band.
If you're a Squeeze fan the book is a must as it fills in a lot of gaps about certain songs, favourites or otherwise.
Music fans in general will also find this a good read. Difford & Tilbrook are rightly regarded as arguably the best song writing partnership of their generation. Jim Drury's light touch clearly creates an environment that allows each of them to express their different personalities and show just how deserved that reputation is.
Nice work Jim, thanks.
As a final note if the book does leave you wanting more, you can always check out "[...]".
A website by talented film maker Amy Pickard, who has produced a movie that follows Glenn in an RV across the US of A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Squeeze": Song By Song, 14 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
I have found this book so engaging that I really don't want to finish it!The songs written by these two very talented and clever musicians show how well they could interpret the everyday
emotions that we feel and put them to song.If you try to write a song of your own,you can be cerain that it will be mundane and quite pale.Listen to the vast number of themes that Difford & Tilbrook write about and you realise that they are quite simply two of this countries finest writers.I recommend this book
be read whilst playing the album tracks!!Wonderful reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs labelled with love..., 22 Mar 2006
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
Brilliant very honest book where songwriters Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford discuss Squeeze song-by-song against the background of frequent turmoil surrounding the band. Glenn and Chris are very honest about their failed marriages, past drug habits and own up-and-down relationship in this compulsive and no doubt emotionally cleansing, page-turner featuring fascinating analysis of every song released on a Squeeze album.
Although some might say that the quality of Difford and Tilbrook’s entire body of work does not warrant such detailed analysis, it’s always interesting to hear songwriters talking about their own work. An excellent song companion and biography which is an essential read for Squeeze devotees and serious music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I bought a novel.....", 18 Jan 2006
By 
A. SIMPSON "GTA Lover" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
At best I was expecting a dissection of some of Squeeze's well-known songs. This book however exceeded my expectations and contains a breakdown of every Squeeze album song !. As someone who has followed Squeeze religously for around 8 years this book was very well received.
I have read it cover to cover a few times and always pick up something new everytime.
Absolutely essential reading for anyone who is interested in how Chris and Glenn have managed to write such timeless classics (my personal favourite is 'Love Circles' )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of an outstanding band, 30 Dec 2004
By 
E. Stein (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
I still find myself dipping into 'Song by Song' when listening to Squeeze. Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford offer fascinating insights into their songwriting genius, and the the author provides an succint and thoroughly engaging account of the band's career in between. Not just essential for Squeeze fans, but anyone who knows great music when they hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SQUEEZING OUT THE HITS (and misses), 19 Feb 2008
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
If you're a serious Squeeze fan then this book really is a must. Chris Difford & Glenn Tilbrook talk frankly about their songs, life in a band, successes, failures and their own rocky relationship.
This isn't a technical book (you won't find out what snare drum Gilson used on Cool For Cats) but you do get an insight into D&T's writing practices and life on the road in both the UK and America. Chris Difford is typically self deprecating, erudite and pithy with his comments and memories whilst Tilbrook handles the more musical side of the duo's output.
This is the perfect companion book to Jools Holland's recent autobiography and is not only informative but also very funny.
Listen to the records then dip into the book.
Yet another great reason to reapraise the mighty Squeeze.

cw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to what makes Squeeze songs tick, 6 Dec 2013
By 
A. Webb (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
If you've ever wondered what inspired a particular Squeeze song, or if it was about what or who you thought it was about, then this book will provide the answers. Comments throughout on each song from the great Difford and Tillbrook, plus all lyrics. This book is sold on Abe for a lot more, so grab a bargain while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hubby loved it., 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) (Paperback)
Hubby loved it. Great as he is such a Squeeze fanatic. A very reasonable price too. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song)
"Squeeze": Song by Song (Song By Song) by Glenn Tilbrook (Paperback - 1 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: £14.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews