Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful book
Having remembered tortoises being very popular in the 70's as a child,I wanted another Tortoise and to be able to look after it properly. I have read a couple of books on the subject, which seem to contain an awful lot of contradictory advice. This book is definately one of the better ones and provides a good level of information for the tortoise owner. I would definately...
Published on 31 May 2008 by P. Adams

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate dangerous information.
The author of this book was my mum's 'exotic expert' vet for her baby hermans tortoise, who she spent cash on to consult in good faith for her tortoise's benefit. She read his books, adhered to his advice and the tortoise now has a vast list of complications due to the ill advice Simon gave her on Diet and every other aspect of his keeping.

High protein food...
Published on 17 Oct 2010 by Vicsmum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful book, 31 May 2008
By 
P. Adams (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
Having remembered tortoises being very popular in the 70's as a child,I wanted another Tortoise and to be able to look after it properly. I have read a couple of books on the subject, which seem to contain an awful lot of contradictory advice. This book is definately one of the better ones and provides a good level of information for the tortoise owner. I would definately recommend it and would advise anyone interested to look on the web site for The Tortoise Trust(UK) as they provide excellent books/advice on the subject. Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate dangerous information., 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
The author of this book was my mum's 'exotic expert' vet for her baby hermans tortoise, who she spent cash on to consult in good faith for her tortoise's benefit. She read his books, adhered to his advice and the tortoise now has a vast list of complications due to the ill advice Simon gave her on Diet and every other aspect of his keeping.

High protein food (peas etc) reccommended by him have caused chronic kidney disease, which is nearing failure now.
Metabolic Bone disease, causing avoidable suffering with fractures, and now severe lower jaw fractures which cannot be fixed due to poor lighting and housing advice, resulting in deprivation in essential UVB radiation, which could have prevented his by ensuring vitamin D3 was produced to ensure the absorption of calcium occurred.

One very sorry, suffering tortoise who could die at any time. Heartbreaking. Please follow the extensive FREE advice that the Tortoise Trust can provide, which is very up to date and accurate - all based on their vast keeping experience and passion for tortoises to ensure the tortoise's welfare is priority.They have links to reliable other pages who also give in depth advice.

If you feel inclined to buy this book, you may find it more cost effective and far lower risk to let your tortoise play 'dodge the traffic' on the M25 in rush hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic text, 26 Sep 2011
By 
J. J. Bracey "baby deliverer" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
A little dated but the information is sound enough, however the more books you read the more confused you can become as different authors contradict each other. A good basic text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tortoise care book - very good condition, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Salpot (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
This book arrived within 2 days of ordering and was in very good condition. Exactly as described. It has all the information I needed and am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great news, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
I knew nothing about tortoises but this book has explained and told me what I needed to know if anybody is planning to keep a tortoise read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide, 11 Jun 2007
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as it contains information on how to choose a healthy pet, choosing the right housing and guidance on feeding and regular excercise. I recommend this book for all pet onwers. Good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
Simple easy to follow book. Bought it as a gift to.a new tortoise owner! Good information without lots of boring facts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
this was a gift for someone who wants a tortoise. If the tortoise dies there could be comebacks!
thanks Simon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pet Owner's Guide to the tortoise., 9 Jan 2009
By 
R. Wharton (West Yorkshire, GB.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
This title gives you a very basic introduction on keeping tortoises and is great if you want to get an idea about what tortoise keeping entails. However if you are wanting a more detailed incite into the subject, as you have a tortoise or are about to have one, then this book won't be that helpful. I found that some of the information on care and feeding of tortoises were some what out of date. Overall a good title for those with just a passing interest in tortoises, but not really worth having if you actually have a tortoise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tortoise book, 9 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise (Hardcover)
got this for info on my new torts-done the job and a good buy-its hardback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise
Pet Owner's Guide to the Tortoise by Simon J. Girling (Hardcover - 28 Feb 2003)
£7.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews