Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny and engaging as the man himself
Roy Hudd is a national institution (no doubt he would make a gag about not wanting to live in one). His beaming and mischievous grin has been entertaining the British public for years.
In his autobiography he tells it like it is - or was - a no nonsense, but always entertaining and enjoyable excursion through the highways and byways of his life. I was a particular...
Published on 26 Nov. 2009 by Fiction Fan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Huddlines?
Not what I expected! - it a monologue of Roy Hudd's experience in over 40 years in the Theatre. He touches on a number of interesting areas, but without the humour I have come to expect from him. Perhaps it was because his intereaction with the many people he has worked with is a missing - I was expecting something akin to his performance in the New Huddlines. I do think...
Published on 18 Jun. 2011 by Cannonball41


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny and engaging as the man himself, 26 Nov. 2009
By 
Roy Hudd is a national institution (no doubt he would make a gag about not wanting to live in one). His beaming and mischievous grin has been entertaining the British public for years.
In his autobiography he tells it like it is - or was - a no nonsense, but always entertaining and enjoyable excursion through the highways and byways of his life. I was a particular fan of his radio show - "The News Huddlines" - which always seemed to put a smile on my face with its infectious joie de vivre. Somehow life itself seems greyer and less comical than it did (we can only blame the government for about 90% of it) and perhaps its because our entertainers too have lost the ability to laugh at themselves - yet Roy never did, and we love him all the more for it. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away!, 27 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Nolan "Johnny" (Watford, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Fart In A Colander-2CD (Audio CD)
What's so good about this biography is that it actually spans a very full and funny life. I'm sure many of us look in wonderment at so called 'celebrities' writing (or someone else writing) their biographies at the ripe old age of 23!
But at 72 this is actually Roy's first biography. And very entertaining it is too. Having spent 50 years in show business he certainly has tales to tell. I've loved his work for many years:- --from the News Huddlines to Coronation Street he has always brought a warmth and humour to everything he's done. From his poignant early years to his various dalliances with the ladies to West End accalim in Oliver it's fascinating. I'm sure the book is very good as well but listening to the author read it is quite special. There are even some musical numbers included which is a nice surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One fart on another!, 17 Oct. 2009
By 
T. Jones "Timbo" (Kettering, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Roy Hudd has written a book that is easy to read, witty, very informative, and one that is not going to be put down easily. Whereas today, so many autobiographies are written by people who have not even begun to live, this is about a man who has lived through good times and bad, and who tells it as it took place.
As a child, I remember seeing Hudd in pantomime, in Oxford; I thought him a decent sort from that day to this, and his book merely serves to amplify that feeling.
This book is wonderful, well written, and about an interesting subject - above that, it is well worth reading. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fart in a Colander: The Autobiography, 24 Oct. 2009
I smiled as soon as I saw the title of this book. As a follow Croydonian born and raised just a few streets away from Roy's home I knew exactly what it meant and it is an expression that was used to describe me many times! This is a lovely gentle book written by a gentleman. It's witty and very interesting, through good times and bad and a lovely reminder of times and entertainers past.

I have bought this for my mum's Christmas present. She is 91 and will love reading about the Davis Theatre and Wilsons Tea Rooms, still fondly remembered to this day. Many thanks Roy for a lovely read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the last of the old fashioned comics, 21 Dec. 2009
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Roy Hudd has had a long and successful comedy career. He perhaps has never really reached the very top but he has always been well liked, maybe because he seems to be a friendly, jovial character, reminiscent of a favourite uncle or the chap who always makes you laugh in the pub.

With his deep interest in music hall and pantomime, Roy Hudd could be seen as one of the last of the `old fashioned' comics and his route to showbiz stardom would nowadays be seen as similarly old fashioned, when most comedians first foot on the ladder seems to be an open mic session at a comedy club. Instead we read that Roy Hudd first got the performing bug at a Boys Club (do they exist anymore?). His interest was stoked further in similar now obsolete ways, first during his National Service days and then as a redcoat at a Butlins Holiday Camp. For me his tales about his experiences during this period in his life are the highlights of the book; they are entertaining and often very funny.

Once he gets to where he becomes an established performer the book tails off a little, as it becomes the predictable recounting of his TV, radio and theatre performances as seen in most other showbiz autobiographies. This is not a major criticism though as overall this autobiography is a really good read, perfect for those amongst us who just don't get most of the humour seen on TV these days.

There is one aspect of his career that he doesn't mention though, and for me it is a glaring omission. When I was young there was a public information film that was forever being screened on TV. It was part of the Keep Britain Tidy campaign, and it featured Roy Hudd as a litter bug, scattering waste paper around a park before being made to see the error in his ways. Whenever I think of Roy Hudd I automatically think of this film - I wonder how many other children of the sixties do likewise?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A passion to entertain, 15 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The timescale of Roy Hudd's show business career could not have been a more fascinating one. He began at the tail end of music hall and concert party, he was there through a magical journey of pantomime, radio and television and he has remained there in so many memorable performances as a professional actor in theatre, television and film ever since.

His story is all the more remarkable because of the early disadvantage of his childhood and the parenting of his inspirational carer and mentor, his Gran. Roy Hudd had show business in his blood from the early days of being taken to the theatres in Croydon by his much loved Gran. It sowed a seed that has never died.

This book recounts a remarkable journey meeting huge stars of Music Hall like Max Miller through to early radio shows including Worker's Playtime to the advent of television comedy and a extraordinary career in radio, live theatre, film and pantomime.

The tale is characteristically told with immense warmth and good humour and records a lifetime devoted to entertainment from performing as a juvenile at a Boy's Club Concert Party, to becoming a Butlins Red Coat and ultimately to receiving a number of best actor nominations and awards.

This is not the story of a man destined to easy fame and fortune but of a man who has had to work hard and who achieved acclaim and success not just because of his talent but also because of his love and dedication for his work. Roy Hudd is a man of many passions. A passion for the Music Hall, a passion for Panto and quite simply a passion to entertain.

There is no real evidence in this book that he begrudged the hard times or resented the failures along the way but it is certainly the case that he welcomed the successes whether it was his international acclaim as Fagin or the professional satisfaction of writing, performing and encouraging others in the profession that he loves so much.

This is not just an autobiography, it is also a chronicle of an important period of show business history tracing the end of variety through to the growth of television comedy, the rediscovery of musical theatre and the enormous diversity of a man who was quite simply destined to tread the boards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspired chance!, 26 Oct. 2011
By 
Dale A. Haines "master_ice" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What do I mean by an inspired chance?
I mean that I saw it and, although loathing most entertainment based biographies, I just shrugged and thought "Why not - it could be worth buying" - and it was.
Here is an autobiography that anyone contemplating writing their own should sit down and read. The reason is that this is not a self aggrandising, trumpet blowing autobiography, nor is it one that dishes the dirt on all and sundry who may have sneezed in the same room as the author.
This is the story of a persons life - warts and all by the way. Roy Hudd talks with obvious warmth about 99% of the people who fall into his keep-net of memories. And those he doesn't talk warmly of, he doesn't slag off but merely remarks in passing about his feelings.
Roy has been around as long as I can remember and, whilst I can't say i loved everything he did, there's much that I have. This book amazed me in the breadth of his experiences in the entertainment industry. For example I never knew he'd played Fagin in a production of Oliver. Mind you, as he says after an incident with a fake nose, he does have a purpose built Fagin one naturally anyway.
As a good biography should it covers his entire life to day (well 2009 so as near as dammit) from his early life with his Grandmother, the loss of his parents (one walked out and one committed suicide) through his time in the forces and onward into the industry he loves - entertainment in all it's facets.
This is an excellent book and like I say I am very pleased that I took the chance and bought it.
As for the title - you'll have to buy the book to find out about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Nov. 2010
Roy Hudd is one of those performers who seems to have grown in stature over the years. He was so steeped in music-hall and variety as a young man he seemed out of tune with the "trendy" types on TV, but in the last couple of decades or so he's become a justly admired veteran comic, character actor and personality. His basic decency and fun-loving attitude always shine through, and this book is a welcome overview of his long career. There are moments of sadness, which are well told, but mostly this is a delightfully amusing account not just of his varied projects but also of a notable period in British show business. It is hugely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fart in a colander, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
J. Bufton (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent autobiography, I laughed from start to finish.
I could hear Roy Hudd talking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy Hudd fart In a Colander., 19 Nov. 2009
By 
Very funny, easy reading book you don't wont to put down.A Fart in a Colander: The Autobiography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Fart In A Colander-2CD
A Fart In A Colander-2CD by Roy Hudd (Audio CD - 25 Nov. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews