Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read this book - if...
1. You are interested in the subject.
2. If you are a sex tourist who visits South and/or South East Asia.
I feel that this is an important book.
It sheds light on very important issues, that tend to usually be ignored, and are taboos not usually talked about.
Therefore, I wholeheartedly recommend this book.
The way the information is put...
Published on 8 April 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Informative, upsetting... and infuriating
I have read the negative reviews of this book and find many of them to be overly-harsh. I did not find the book chaotic; in fact I found it a very engaging read. The individual stories are heartbreaking (as they always would be on such a topic), but looking beyond these case-studies at the industry as a whole was also eye-opening and in many cases shocking.

It...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by Sir_TomR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read this book - if..., 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia (Paperback)
1. You are interested in the subject.
2. If you are a sex tourist who visits South and/or South East Asia.
I feel that this is an important book.
It sheds light on very important issues, that tend to usually be ignored, and are taboos not usually talked about.
Therefore, I wholeheartedly recommend this book.
The way the information is put together, the order of the chapters, etc. did not appeal to me, however.
The order of the chapters gives a good impression when reading the table of contents, but unfortunately Louise Brown does not stay focussed in the chapters; she goes too far astray in many cases, and way too often repeats things that have been stated numerous times beforehand.
Still, the book is an interesting read, and don't let my criticism put you off purchasing it.
Just be prepared to be faced with facts so horrible and unbelievable as to make you feel sad and even a little depressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Informative, upsetting... and infuriating, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia (Paperback)
I have read the negative reviews of this book and find many of them to be overly-harsh. I did not find the book chaotic; in fact I found it a very engaging read. The individual stories are heartbreaking (as they always would be on such a topic), but looking beyond these case-studies at the industry as a whole was also eye-opening and in many cases shocking.

It is also refreshing to read a work on this subject which acknowledges that there are different types of prostitution - all fundamentally exploitative - but the consequences for society and the people involved are very different. Sitting in a bar in Thailand talking with a 28 year-old lady who if she decides she is intimidated or frightened of you can get up and walk away IS NOT THE SAME as walking past locked steel doors to visit an 18 year old girl who cannot even understand your language.

Having said this after I finished the book and had chance to reflect on it I have been left with a feeling of frustration and dissatisfaction...

Throughout the book the author laments the lack of focus of other studies on the customers of prostitutes. A valid point - and she goes on to include some staggering (though having spent some time in Asia, perfectly believable) statistics about the extent of usage of prostitutes amongst men. Then she lazily, and pretty offensively, casually dismisses all such men as inhumane scumbags (in politer language). The truth of the matter is they are not. You cannot have a functioning society where so many men are sexual deviants. These are normal people. A huge proportion of them will be kind and considerate people. Refusing to acknowlege this fact and attempt to explain this behaviour in light of it is a missed opportunity in my opinion. Even more so the complete failure to even consider, let alone comprehensively discuss any potential solutions to the problem. She swiftly dismisses, border-line ridicules, the arguments in favour of regularisation of the industry; while the whole book is devoted to the complete failure of prohibition. Anyone can produce a dossier of injustices in the world - they are endless. But what are we to do?? I am left with more questions than when I started. The conclusion seems to be that men should stop paying women for sex - good luck with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 3 July 2011
This review is from: Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic book! I would recommend it to anyone, and if even you are struggling PLEASE continue.

I found the whole thing hugely fascinating, and could not put it down.
The facts and figures are astounding, and you will be very shocked by what you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting but caotic summary, 20 Nov 2005
This review is from: Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia (Paperback)
I read this book while living in Thailand and I have to say it was not really what i expected. We tend to think that the sex slave industry is much more widespread than it really is and this book opened my eyes to the fact that a big part of what we hear about the issue is largely exaggerated and taken out of context.
I was surprised by the fact that sex slaves are not really that common in Thailand. They have enough of girls there who are really willing to do this, for the money and to be able to buy consumer goods. After living in Thailand for 7 months and talking to the local girls and seeing the girls who work the bars I could see that the idea I had about the whole thing was so far from the truth.
Of course the book is not just about Thailand and things are a lot worse in other countries but it helped me to see things in the right perspective and to understand the difference between a sex worker and a slave. It could be better written and she does repeat a lot of facts over and over again but it is nonetheless an interesting read and a different approach than we see in the media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sex Slaves : One good chapter made into a book, 18 Jan 2005
This review is from: Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia (Paperback)
Whilst in Thailand and decided to purchase this book in a deliberate attempt to open to my eyes, to what was no doubt occurring around me, despite my complete ignorance.
Whilst it succeeded in highlighting some of the frightening aspects of sexual slavery it was unable, or unwilling to examine possible solutions. Or even look at neighboring issues such as pornography. It seems to me there is an inversely proportional relationship between pornography and desirability of prostitutes, not explored here.
Whilst the author has no doubt done the necessary research, she has failed to pass on her insight in a meaningful manner. In fact after the first couple of chapters, the book really has little more to offer. Quotes such as "Id rather die from AIDS tomorrow, than of starvation today" showed as a real glimpse of life inside their world. And was very rewarding, if disturbing.
I cannot help feel that the author would have engaged her audience more if she had used a couple of case studies more fully to illustrate her point. She warns us that 'men', wont like her book. I have to say I largely agree, although for very different reasons than she was referring.
A complex and fascinating subject that has yet to be fully examined, or any suggestions offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, repetative and badly written, 24 Nov 2007
By 
Ac Tallis "Amy T" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia (Paperback)
This book could have been really interesting and thought provoking but in fact it was so boring i only read half of it. The chapters repeat each other and the author appears to be filling space on the page with repetative babble that really isn't saying anything.

A few case studies would make this book emotive but instead she hints at the masses of tragic cases she has been told of and then never gives details.

Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia
Sex Slaves: The Trafficking of women in Asia by Louise Brown (Paperback - 7 Jun 2001)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews