Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well worth reading!
Originally it was the title that drew my attention to this book - it made me wonder "Why? " Once I realised that it was a translation I was worried that the language would be stilted, as sometimes is the case in translations. However, it was a very easy read and very witty - I felt almost compelled to read it, and kept thinking about it when I was forced to do...
Published on 2 Oct 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book is very disappointing, I'm not sure exactly what the author was trying to achieve, that may have a lot to do with the translation, from German to English, but it didn't come across.
I just couldn't understand the lead character or any of the bizarre situations you often found her in. It was a very disappointing and underwhelming book.
Published on 2 April 2009 by Rachel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 April 2009
This review is from: In Search of an Impotent Man (Paperback)
This book is very disappointing, I'm not sure exactly what the author was trying to achieve, that may have a lot to do with the translation, from German to English, but it didn't come across.
I just couldn't understand the lead character or any of the bizarre situations you often found her in. It was a very disappointing and underwhelming book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable Confusion, 28 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search of an Impotent Man (Paperback)
Found myself wondering what this book wanted to be. It swung from being a 30-something, Jones-diary quirky little novel, to looking, in a quite competant way, at the pre-viagra problem of impotence to examining the problems of male female sexuality. Sometimes it got lost in Mill and Boone classic romantism, dragging us off into a pre-war West African family drama. Of course the central theme is silly and improbable, and it was somewhat irrational that a woman sworn to forgo sex, promptly sets about having lots with practically each suiter, but that said there were some comical situations and interesting characters (sadly under developed I have to say). However was attempted rape supposed to be funny? And what was the hostage taking incident doing in there? Was it some kind of metaphore? I liked the moral of a heroine, who had it all, wanted more and finally gets caught up in her own trap as well as the different female characters and their approach to love and sex but this book lets itself down by its, implausable situations, some crude dialogue (possibly difficulties in translation) and horribly trite ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well worth reading!, 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search of an Impotent Man (Paperback)
Originally it was the title that drew my attention to this book - it made me wonder "Why? " Once I realised that it was a translation I was worried that the language would be stilted, as sometimes is the case in translations. However, it was a very easy read and very witty - I felt almost compelled to read it, and kept thinking about it when I was forced to do other things (like go into a lecture, for example!)Although I have to say that I thought Carmen Legg was one of those women that seemed to have it all - and yet was still not satisfied. Despite this, she was an immensely likeable character and a worthy heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting idea for a story., 30 Jan 2000
By A Customer
I enjoyed the book, despite finding the translation from the original german slightly odd - didn't always seem quite right in english. It might be for this same reason that I sometimes found the actions of the main character didn't quite ring true - yes of course people fall in love in the blink of an eye - but the words didn't really draw me in to that feeling and therefore what she did seemed to be for the purposes of the book. When I read a novel I don't want to keep being reminded of the physical fact of the book - I'd rather just read the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny book, 15 July 2013
By 
Dancing girl (St Albans, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it very amusing towards the end and not so much at the beginning. I was not all exciting but did like at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and enjoyable, an interesting concept, 30 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search of an Impotent Man (Paperback)
Despite the fact that this book is not highly intellectual, and some of the jokes probably made more sense in the German version, however it is a lighthearted and enjoyable story dealing with the female meets male relationsship saga from a refreshingly different angle.
This book will particularly appeal to independent females in their late twenties or thirties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search of an Impotent Man
In Search of an Impotent Man by Gaby Hauptman (Paperback - 7 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews