Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, deadpan and very good
Kurkov's understated humour and perfect, deadpan style makes this quirky little story, full of quirky characters, a gem. Death and the Penguin is the nectar of booklovers and Misha, a penguin rescued from a struggling zoo, is one of the most animated, engaging and touching characters in contemporary fiction. But there's more to Kurkov's writing than a sideways laugh at...
Published on 3 Dec. 2006 by BookAddictUK

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed but not bowled over
Death and the Penguin is a black tragic-comedy. It is written in short, simple sentences and told through a series of short scenes in a deadpan style. The premise of the story is interesting and the telling is deceptively effective. There is a nice building up of additional characters and there is a good sense of place in post-Soviet Kiev, though some wider political...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Rob Kitchin


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh that lovely little penguin, 2 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
I'm fascinated by the distinct humanity of penguins as I have observed them in numerous wildlife documentaries. So when I spotted the poster for 'Penguin Lost' I had to find out more. I discovered there was a first book and so I began.
This novel had me reading all the way to work, off the bus, up the steps, and all the way to my desk! The insight into Kiev life is both cold and enlightening.
The plot is somewhat complex but simply beacause much of what happens around Viktor and the penguin (Misha) is rarely explained in depth. Some people have found this to be a flaw but I think it makes the location of the book more mysterious and intriguing. Things just happen to Viktor, he ends up here he ends up there. Russian Mafia, Militia, and politicians all surround his world which he seems to have little control over.
Death and the Penguin was my first Russian author and reading this book has done enough to make me track down even more Russian literature both classic and contempory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
Loved this book. So different and the characterisations were brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good amusing novel. The second one 'Penguin Lost' is also recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
amazing - what a great author - second of his books I have read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
Superb, hilarious, magical served with a straight prose-face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book about a penguin???, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book from the moment I started to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
BEST SERVICE AND BEST ITEM. WILL BUY AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
Got the cover I wanted. Fast and reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful, 23 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Death and the Penguin (Paperback)
If you enjoy the worlds of Ishiguro, Murakami and Kastner, where the absurd is treated with a deadpan naivity then you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death And The Penguin (Panther) (Paperback)
What the... Oh? Eh? Ah..... Oh S*** NO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death And The Penguin (Panther)
Death And The Penguin (Panther) by Andrey Kurkov (Paperback - 27 Feb. 2002)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews