Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Murakami so far
After reading Norwegian Wood, I found Murakami an author I would like to read much more of. After The Wind-up Bird Chronicle and The Elephan Vanishes, I have to admit South of the Border, West of the Sun is my favourite.
Only 200 or so pages, this book is one of the most touching love stories I have ever read, although at no point does it become overly sentimental.It...
Published on 7 Mar. 2006 by A. Voulgari

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful read but still waiting for the 'big happening'.
Even though I'm a huge fan of Haruki Murakami and all his works I found this to be a bit too still, a bit too quiet. I love how Murakami can take a very ordinary character with a very normal life and turn his 'every day life' into something quite beautiful, but I still found myself waiting for the 'big happening' that would turn everything around. Instead there's a little...
Published 22 months ago by Charlotte Eriksson


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A more frustrating tale than usual in that the hopelessness of the protagonist didn't beg my sympathy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Murakami, 6 May 2014
By 
I love Murakami and this book did not disappoint. A classic for me that I will pass on and on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent read written with clarity and emotion, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First book I have read from this author, excellent read written with clarity and emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love this book, is wise, smart. Invite anyone who like to read something extraordinary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Generally a good read, spoilt near the end with the unecessary porno chapter - weird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Murakami fan!, 12 Sept. 2006
By 
I would agree with all of the reviews written so far. I read this on a recent holiday and found it to be absorbing, evocative and tinged with an inherent melancholy similar to his other work. I also drew comparisons with Norwegian Wood and Sputnik Sweetheart overall as it touched on themes of suicide, love, wanting, loneliness and a love of music! This novel left me wanting to know more as it ended with some themes left unresolved, again a Murakami trait! I would say this is my 2nd favourite after Norwegian Wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bookclub choice, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great condition, not an easy read, bookclub choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly what I wanted.First class service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this one.A haunting tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fine, but not as good as Norwegian Wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South of the Border, West of the Sun (Panther)
South of the Border, West of the Sun (Panther) by Haruki Murakami (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews