Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saramago's Best
This is my favourite of all Saramago's novels. First of all because I love the poetry of Fernando Pessoa and this book evolves around Pessoa and one of his famous heteronyms, Ricardo Reis. This is already a fantastic begining: the novel's main character is not a living person, but a fictionalized person made by some other author! This being Saramago, the set of the story...
Published on 10 Oct. 2002 by bagoas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Good..
The main purpose of the novel is to entertain, this one doesn't. The chain of events -or no events- is somehow boring. The intersection between telling events, conversations, details of characters is excessive, making the reader always alienated from the plot and somehow not capable of sharing any kind of emotion with the characters.
Yes, I know more about Lisbon...
Published 23 months ago by A. Hallaj


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saramago's Best, 10 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
This is my favourite of all Saramago's novels. First of all because I love the poetry of Fernando Pessoa and this book evolves around Pessoa and one of his famous heteronyms, Ricardo Reis. This is already a fantastic begining: the novel's main character is not a living person, but a fictionalized person made by some other author! This being Saramago, the set of the story has a strong social and ideological background. In this matter, this book is a metaphor of the rising of the portuguese fascist regime. Then there is Saramago's ironic sense of humour: this a very funny serious book!
As I read the book in portuguese, I don't know how well Saramago's rich and detailed speech translates in other languages, since some of the attraction of this book remains in the hedonistic plasure of reading a so wonderfully writen story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to know Pessoa or Lisbon to enjoy this book, 20 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading Blindness which is a totally different style of novel. I expect I only had a superficial understanding of it though as I don't know Lisbon or Pessoa but I still enjoyed it. Please don't be put off because it was written in another language or you don't know Lisbon or Pessoa. I have learnt about Portuguese history, culture and poetry through reading this book which was an added bonus. Having said that, it is hard work at times but its worth sticking with it as the use of language is such a pleasure to read. I would say that it has translated wonderfully into English and there is a beautiful flow onto the page that I have not experienced with any other author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Good.., 3 Jun. 2013
By 
A. Hallaj "309" (Damascus, Syria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
The main purpose of the novel is to entertain, this one doesn't. The chain of events -or no events- is somehow boring. The intersection between telling events, conversations, details of characters is excessive, making the reader always alienated from the plot and somehow not capable of sharing any kind of emotion with the characters.
Yes, I know more about Lisbon now than before. I understand a bit better how people were living and thinking in the 30's in Portugal (and somehow in Spain). But many other authors presented their societies, cities and ideas in a way better book (Doris Lessing in The Golden Notebook about London in the 50's and Jonathan Franzen in Freedom about the NY and the US in the 90's for example).
The book in general worth reading, the style is good if not great and Saramgo is a novelist who deserve Nobel for sure, but this is not his best book and if it happen to be your first for him, you would definitely put him out of your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
This story is captivating. Saramago is a wonderful writer! The plot does seem to lag at times but you must continue reading as it is definately worth it. Quite thought provoking with typical Saramago questions about time and reading. I do recommend, however, that you familiarize yourself with the poet Fernando Pessoa as this poet is one of the characters in the novel. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lose yourself in Lisboa, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
Marvellous in every way, a must for anyone who is travelling to Lisbon for the first time. The novel captures the flavour of fate and melancholy experienced in this lovely city on a rainy day. Read it and then visit the places depicted, go now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long, but rewarding, 31 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
It has taken me a long time to finish this as it becomes quite hard to put it down and pick it up again. This is because Saramago's writing style is a unique one; he is often rambling, paragraphs continuing for pages upon end and seem to never really result in anything,which can make it hard to get into the mood for a Saramgo read.

But I found I got the most of this book by reading in sittings, rather than in short blocks, and it is thoroughly rewarding: poetic, philosophical, political. The atmosphere and scenes that Saramago creates is (are) fantastic. Only the fact that it is fairly unaccessible at first is why I can't give this 5 stars. Having read the Gospel According to Jesus Christ, I'd recommend that first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars titles are unnecessary, 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
in terms of the condition of the book it was, if anything undersold! I bought it "used" but the condition was very good so I was pleased about that.
delivery took longer than I'd hoped (6 working days) but it did say it would be up to 12 days so I suppose I can't really complain.
The book itself i found very difficult, I am not very advanced in literary analysis and I wouldn't recommend it for an "easy read", which is not to say that I wouldn't like to try it again in a bit of time, maybe after uni.
all in all condition great, delivery fine and book probably very good but difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read, 17 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
Ricardo Reis' quest in Lisbon during the dictatorship is a perfect portrait. The people, the athmosphere and the whole plot are so delicately drawn that I read it twice in a row just for the sheer pleasure of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of an imaginary man who finds a dead poet, 30 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
Outstanding. The masterpiece of the nobel prize winner Jose Saramago. Stongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melancholy Masterpiece, 2 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) (Paperback)
An absolutely gripping tale that is both dark and wonderful. When I reached the end, I started from the top again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.)
Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis (Panther S.) by JOSE SARAMAGO (Paperback - 1998)
Used & New from: £0.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews