Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story of a mother's love for her children
This is a truely great book. It tells a gripping and often harrowing story of a mother determined to protect her children from the ravages of the Greek civil War at all costs and ultimately her own life. This is a book I have read 3 times and it doesn't get any easier to read how Eleni was brutally tortured and murdered by her own people, just for the crime of...
Published on 15 April 2005 by Cathy61

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Eleni
No doubt a very worthy book, but much too long for the story it has to tell. The events related are very harrowing and troubling.
Published 17 months ago by Stephen Radley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Eleni - Nick Gage Book, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Welland "Lolly" (Buckinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
Could not put this book down once I had started. Expect a rollercoaster of emotions as you read the author's retelling of the true tragic events that engulfed his family in Greece. A testament to a mother's love and her ultimate sacrifice to ensure her children's safety. Although heartbreaking, it is also an inspirational piece. Through it all (and I cried so many times) you cannot help feeling a surge of pride and admiration for those experiencing the events and also for those that have inherited the memories of the final conclusion. A definite winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
great read interesting and also saw the movie very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, yet essential, 10 Dec 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
Yes this book could be viewed as depressing. However I didn't find it so. Although it does almost tire the reader out with the succession of harrowing events that the heroine lived through, plus I also found it hard to keep up with all the characters, yet this book nevertheless educates the reader and led me for one to become fully engaged with the author and his feelings. I found myself wondering quite how I would have reacted, had my mother gone through what Mr. Gage's mother endured. In fact my own mother-in-law was growing up in Athens at the time when the events in this book took place and, since we've now lost her, I regret never having had the opportunity to question her about this time in her life, since prior to reading "Eleni" I was blissfully unaware of many of the details about post-war Greece and her history.

It demonstrates to any that will listen that no revolution can ever hope to build a new and just society if it's built on cruelty and violence done to others who perhaps don't share the perpetrator's political views.

It's the kind of book that ought to be taught in schools, well done Mr. Gage.

John Manuel (author of some infinitely more frivolous books, Feta Compli! & Moussaka to My Ears).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleni - the book, 14 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
This has got to be one of the most fascinating books written about one Greek woman & her determination to save her family during the war in Greece. It is a true story written by one of her sons...... I first read it many years ago & it has always stayed with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are still Elenis around the world, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
This was perhaps the most depressing book I've ever read. Its really well written and so quite readable. Eleni's life was a string of miserable events one after another. the surprise for me was how similar socially and culturally this little village in Greece was with a lot of villages in India. There are a lot of women in India even today who lead lives like she lead. Thanks to feminists and women generally asserting themselves a lot more, most of the west and large parts of Europe have stopped treating women as objects and actually treat them with respect. In fact feminists in some western societies have become joke-figures and there are now apologists for feminists. There is change happening in places like India and how we treat our women, but its not fast enough. I think in the 21st century India if even one woman has to live a life that Eleni lead, its shameful. And I think there are more than one Elenis in India today...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My Children",, 7 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
In this engaging and harrowing work , Nicholas Gage documents the life and death of his mother , Eleni Gatzoyiannis , who was tortured and murdered by Communist thugs who had taken over her village of Lia in Northern Epirus , Greece , during the Greek Civil War.

Her 'crime' : trying to prevent her children from being abducted by the Communists.
It is also how as always Communists turn everything they touch into hell on earth , everywhere in the world where they rear their evil heads. And of the brave Nationalists who fight to save their homeland from malignant Communist murderers, a struggle which has taken place in so many countries.
Here a proud and charming village is destroyed and it's wonderful and engaging inhabitants reduced to terror and starvation.
It is the story of Eleni and her five children : Olga , Kanta , Glykeria , Fotini and Nikola. Their personalities are really brought to life.
We get to know the real life characters in a nonfiction work which flows like a great classic novel.
So much that is moving in this work , for example how before Eleni is executed , her last words are a cry of love and the cause for which she has been murdered : "My Children".
Or when Eleni appears in the dreams of the oldest daughter Olga to tell her that she was not stoned as Olga thought , but shot , later re-appearing to tell her that the other daughter Glykeria is alive and will find them soon, exactly as happens.
Eleni really is a testament to life , death and renewal. A masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST HEART RENDERING BOOK I HAVE READ, 20 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Eleni (Panther) (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS THE MOST INTERESTING BOOK I HAVE READ ,THE WAY THE AUTHOR HAS REMEMBERD THE TIME AS A BOY IN A TINY VILLAGE IN THE MOUNTAINS OF GREECE. TO MOST PEOPLE THE THING THAT HAPPEND TO HIS FAMILY IN THE VILLAGE OF LIA ,WOULD BE BEYOND BELIFE.WHAT GREEKS DID TO INOCENT GREEKS WAS TOTALLY BEYOND UNBELEAVABLE THE WAY THAT HIS FAMILY LIVED SLEEPING ON THE FLOOR GETTING LICE ONE CAN'T IMAGIN. THE WAY HIS MOTHER WORKED TO FREE HER CHILDREN ON A MOTHER COULD UNDERSTAND .WITH NO FAMILY TO TAKE HER PLACE SHE NEW SHE WOULD DIE ,BUT ONLY THE LIVES OF HER FIVE CHILDREN MATTERD .A WONDERFULL BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eleni (Panther)
Eleni (Panther) by Nicholas Gage (Paperback - 3 April 1997)
8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews