Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2013
What can I say about the master short story writer that has not already been said? I suppose I have to keep this individual. He changed the things I read and the way I think about the things I read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2006
This is definitely an excellent collection of Carver's short stories, a must for every fan or first reader of carver's literature. Highly recommended indeed for purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This is the first time that I have read Carver and I am both impressed by the themes and content of his stories as well as the spare style in which they are written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
A very good book - service/delivery was also prompt. Thanks,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2001
Raymond Carver was a master of the short story. You will have to go a long way to encounter anything quite so impressive as this collection. If I had a desert island book this would, quite simply, be it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Inevitably variable, but ALL are worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
I'd not read any of Raymond Carver's short stories before so was intrigued when I read another raving review (not on Amazon) of how good he was. I'm still partway through this book so it is unfair to comment too early at this stage. Suffice to say my personal thoughts to date is that he is an American author for an American audience. The style may not appeal to the reader with a more classic approach to English short story writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Astonishing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Carver is a master. Stories which are quirky and easy to read. I would say easy enough to read before you go to
bed but you might have morbid dreams of unemployment, lost loves, and addiction. Or, a bout of insomnia.
Still, quite entertaining.
Well worth five stars, but not for me, personally.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
A gruelling but rewarding read.

Tales reflect blue collar suburban lifestyle of America. Sharp on dialogue but short on narrative. These are tales rather than short stories without a punch line to the ending. A fantastic read nonetheless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.