Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars115
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2002
A brilliantly illustrated book of verse that is a must for all carers of under 5's. The verses themselves are a joy to read aloud. The tape that comes with the book brings life to the jungle and its animals. Hugh Lawrie's wit shines through the narrative. The flipside enables the child to follow the tape while reading the book and has a marvellous selection of music that represents the different jungle animals. Every home should have a copy.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
Earlier this evening I finished reading Rumble in the Jungle to my 19 month old son for the 3rd night in a row. He has more than 40 picture books in his bedtime books selection but for the last month or 2 he has been almost exclusively fixated with this one (only Room on the Broom or the Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson get a look in now and again). Yes it could be a bit boring reading the same book every night but when when he roars with the lion and thumps his chest with the gorilla it's worth it every time! Great pictures, great rhymes, great fun.
Apr 2010: Above was written well over 2 years ago and, as far as this book is concerned, not much has changed. At almost 4, my son still adores it and tonight, for the first time, his 13 month old little brother came out with a lion's roar!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2005
This book is fantastic! We have to read this to our 2 year old daughter every bed time. She loves it and can't wait to get to the Gorilla wear every night she tells him that he can't cuddle the ants that are on every page as he will squash them!!
The book is full of colour, great pictures and brilliant poems that are so easy to read! If you only ever buy one book from Giles Andreae make sure it this one.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2003
This book is amazing. It has so many cross-curricular benefits, across Primary and Seconday Teaching. I am a music teacher and found that children of all ages really enjoyed making music to this story. It also incorporates English, and possibly Drama if you wanted it to. It is a great educational resource. Evey teacher should have it!! I think the Government should issue one to every teacher! :-)
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2001
This is a really terrific book which my son loves. The pictures are bright and dramatic and eyecatching - even for little ones. The poems and simple and funny and the information is straight forward and not kiddified (i.e.moo cows nonsense)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2001
You can almost hear the drums beating as you turn the pages of this colourful book and read the first two lines! It is written in a fashion that will capture a child's attention immediately, and with the jungle animals hiding behind the trees and in the long grass on the adjoining page there is instant wonder as to what animals can be found. Very entertaining for both adults and children, the rhymes are fun to read and soon easily remembered by children so encouraging them to join in. An excellent choice for children from as young as 1 year, you'll never tire of the rhymes and it's excellent fun watching your child pretending to be each animal in turn.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2000
My three year old has developed a massive appreciation for poetry via this wonderful book. He now recites the rhyming verses with pace and inflection. He is graduating to commotion in the ocean now!
I recommend this book as a perfect gift for any child under the age of five.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 1999
This is one of those rare children's books that you really don't mind reading for the umpteenth time. I know all the rhymes by heart now and I don't really mind!
Lucy and I would really recommend this and all the other books in the series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
I just re-ordered this product for a friend - we also have "Farmyard Hullabaloo" book & CD.
The rhymes are hilarious and do not require a huge attention span - there are four lines of rhyming text for each animal. The humour also appeals to adults, which is important when you are constantly asked to read the book again (and again and again and again...). The illustrations are wonderful, very colourful and expressive. The CD lives up to this excellent book with Hugh Laurie doing a huge range of voices, and the background music is incredibly imaginative. The CD extends the experience you get from the book alone, as it is in three sections - first you have the whole book from start to finish, with different music for each animal, animal sound effects and Hugh Laurie's reading. The next section helps children to follow the pages in the book - it is Hugh Laurie's reading, with no music or sound effects, with a special "boing" sound to tell a child when to turn the page. The final section is the music only, and children are asked if they can remember which music went with which animal. You probably will not to listen to all three sections every time, but the flexibility of this format is fantastic - my daughter went through a phase of being scared by the animal noises, so we just stuck to sections two and three. The second section also helped her to learn to recognise words on each page. The third, musical section, really highlights the talent, humour and imagination of the composer, which too often gets 'lost' in the background of this type of reading. We have had this book/CD for three years now and both my children (6 & 3, boy & girl) still enjoy it. One of the few things they BOTH want to listen to in the car!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
Another great book by this author with good rhymes and illustrations for my son (18 months) to identify different animals, insects and trees.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.