Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rumble in the jungle
A brilliantly illustrated book of verse that is a must for all carers of under 5's. The verses themselves are a joy to read aloud. The tape that comes with the book brings life to the jungle and its animals. Hugh Lawrie's wit shines through the narrative. The flipside enables the child to follow the tape while reading the book and has a marvellous selection of music...
Published on 5 July 2002 by Vintage fine maid

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
The book is beautifully presented, with lovely pop-up/activity sections, however, I was disappointed with the very small number of animal poems/pictures and pages.

I was buying this book as a gift and as the owner of the non-pop-up version of the book, rightly or wrongly I had expected the full version of the book (13 animal poem & pictures)to be provided with...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by cheshiremum


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rumble in the jungle, 5 July 2002
A brilliantly illustrated book of verse that is a must for all carers of under 5's. The verses themselves are a joy to read aloud. The tape that comes with the book brings life to the jungle and its animals. Hugh Lawrie's wit shines through the narrative. The flipside enables the child to follow the tape while reading the book and has a marvellous selection of music that represents the different jungle animals. Every home should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'We can't cuddle ants!!!', 2 Oct 2005
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
This book is fantastic! We have to read this to our 2 year old daughter every bed time. She loves it and can't wait to get to the Gorilla wear every night she tells him that he can't cuddle the ants that are on every page as he will squash them!!
The book is full of colour, great pictures and brilliant poems that are so easy to read! If you only ever buy one book from Giles Andreae make sure it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Educational Resource!!, 2 Jan 2003
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
This book is amazing. It has so many cross-curricular benefits, across Primary and Seconday Teaching. I am a music teacher and found that children of all ages really enjoyed making music to this story. It also incorporates English, and possibly Drama if you wanted it to. It is a great educational resource. Evey teacher should have it!! I think the Government should issue one to every teacher! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again, again!!!, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Jw Hart (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
Earlier this evening I finished reading Rumble in the Jungle to my 19 month old son for the 3rd night in a row. He has more than 40 picture books in his bedtime books selection but for the last month or 2 he has been almost exclusively fixated with this one (only Room on the Broom or the Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson get a look in now and again). Yes it could be a bit boring reading the same book every night but when when he roars with the lion and thumps his chest with the gorilla it's worth it every time! Great pictures, great rhymes, great fun.
Apr 2010: Above was written well over 2 years ago and, as far as this book is concerned, not much has changed. At almost 4, my son still adores it and tonight, for the first time, his 13 month old little brother came out with a lion's roar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright bold fun and no nonsense, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Hardcover)
This is a really terrific book which my son loves. The pictures are bright and dramatic and eyecatching - even for little ones. The poems and simple and funny and the information is straight forward and not kiddified (i.e.moo cows nonsense)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed, 16 Dec 2011
The book is beautifully presented, with lovely pop-up/activity sections, however, I was disappointed with the very small number of animal poems/pictures and pages.

I was buying this book as a gift and as the owner of the non-pop-up version of the book, rightly or wrongly I had expected the full version of the book (13 animal poem & pictures)to be provided with the pop-up's as extras. From memory, I think the pop-up book consisted of just 4 animal poem & pictures.

Maybe I just misinterpreted the product information, as I thought the sample pages displayed were just that - a sample and not practically the whole book.

Still a lovely gift for a young child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 8 Jan 2010
By 
M. Westwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Board book)
Another great book by this author with good rhymes and illustrations for my son (18 months) to identify different animals, insects and trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a rumble., 6 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
My son loves this book. Great for introducing animal names and sounds. Well illustrated. I have bought the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumble in the Jungle, 9 July 2009
By 
L. Davidson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
This is a great book, my 3 year loves listening to this book and I never get tired of reading it. Great pictures and rhymes, fab book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book to have in stock for gifts!, 14 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
My three year old has developed a massive appreciation for poetry via this wonderful book. He now recites the rhyming verses with pace and inflection. He is graduating to commotion in the ocean now!
I recommend this book as a perfect gift for any child under the age of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumble in the Jungle
Rumble in the Jungle by Giles Andreae (Paperback - 16 April 1998)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews