Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Once An Addict - Barry Woodward
In this book Barry Woodward shares the remarkable story of his life. It is shockingly honest and does not blur the lines of drug addiction and crime. Such an account is rarely found and I count it extremely valuable in a generation that is so engrossed in this type of lifestyle.

Barry has a unique skill of using language that connects him with the reader. This...
Published on 30 Jun 2007 by Mr. C. Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
I purchased this book looking for resources that I could pass onto some of my addict friends who I want to become free from drugs and get into Jesus. This book is up to the task particularly if the person has low levels of literacy and knows little about the Christian faith. It could be improved by an additional chapter which looks at the person of Jesus.
Published 1 month ago by Jon Swales


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Once An Addict - Barry Woodward, 30 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. C. Thomas "C Thomas" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
In this book Barry Woodward shares the remarkable story of his life. It is shockingly honest and does not blur the lines of drug addiction and crime. Such an account is rarely found and I count it extremely valuable in a generation that is so engrossed in this type of lifestyle.

Barry has a unique skill of using language that connects him with the reader. This ability is evident throughout and allows people from all walks of life to connect into his life and journey as a person. You will not find complicated language styles but rather down to earth "real life" account of Barry's life.

I am convinced that this book will offer hope to anyone who maybe going through drug addiction themselves. Furthermore, this book will inspire those who have friends or family members involved in drugs or crime to not give up hope. The book is exciting, captivating and difficult to put down! I thoroughly recommend it! Clyde Thomas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Paul Mcgee "The Sumo Guy" (Warrington, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
From the opening pages I was hooked. This is a fascinating, sometimes diturbing, but ultimately inspiring story of one man's incredible journey from drugs to freedom. At times the stories recounted made me wince whilst others made me smile - perhaps most importantly though I felt compelled to carry on reading this engaging and highly thought provoking book.A truely fascinating read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once an Addict, 25 Mar 2010
By 
S. Graham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
What a book really interesting and shows that people like this do try and some do recover,what a nasty place to live in if you don't and it just shows that some people don't understand this kind of life that these people are drawn into!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A personal story of how one man changed his life for the better, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
Barry Woodward's story is truly an inspiration for those who are in, or have been in, a similar situation. Once an Addict, always an addict, is how many people in society - and certainly in positions of authority - think. In many cases it's true.

Barry's story, however, shows that it IS possible to break free from the shackles of addiction, to turn your life around, and lead a life free from the addiction that "takes hold first of the mind, then the body and ultimately the very soul of those who get caught up in it." (Quote from J John's introduction to this very book.)

Barry Woodward's story is an on-going one. He now travels the country to share his experiences - and his journey of recovery - with church audiences and prison inmates, bringing his uplifting message to those who are in desperate need of some hope, some feint light at the end of the tunnel of their desperation.

Once An Addict, as Barry proves - is not always an addict. If you have any doubts - buy the book!

recovery@counsellor.com
Facebook.com/InspiredByYOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's power to change, 21 April 2012
By 
G. Cleaver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
This book is well written as a story of one man's life changed from one of a dependency on drugs and the resulting stays in prison to a full life telling others of God's transforming power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HE CAME THROUGH, 29 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
Extemely interesting book.its very touching.Shows that God can make the difference when seems like no hope.Worth reading and sharing with friends and family.Remarkable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
REALLY GOOD READ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
excelent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
Great book. True story and well told of a man in the grip of addition to goto be a man of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once An Addict (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book!!
It gives hope to others who have list their way
I wish Barry a long peaceful and happy life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld
6.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews