Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Once An Addict - Barry Woodward
In this book Barry Woodward shares the remarkable story of his life. It is shockingly honest and does not blur the lines of drug addiction and crime. Such an account is rarely found and I count it extremely valuable in a generation that is so engrossed in this type of lifestyle.

Barry has a unique skill of using language that connects him with the reader. This...
Published on 30 Jun. 2007 by Mr. C. Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
I purchased this book looking for resources that I could pass onto some of my addict friends who I want to become free from drugs and get into Jesus. This book is up to the task particularly if the person has low levels of literacy and knows little about the Christian faith. It could be improved by an additional chapter which looks at the person of Jesus.
Published 12 months ago by Jon Swales


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Once An Addict - Barry Woodward, 30 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. C. Thomas "C Thomas" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
In this book Barry Woodward shares the remarkable story of his life. It is shockingly honest and does not blur the lines of drug addiction and crime. Such an account is rarely found and I count it extremely valuable in a generation that is so engrossed in this type of lifestyle.

Barry has a unique skill of using language that connects him with the reader. This ability is evident throughout and allows people from all walks of life to connect into his life and journey as a person. You will not find complicated language styles but rather down to earth "real life" account of Barry's life.

I am convinced that this book will offer hope to anyone who maybe going through drug addiction themselves. Furthermore, this book will inspire those who have friends or family members involved in drugs or crime to not give up hope. The book is exciting, captivating and difficult to put down! I thoroughly recommend it! Clyde Thomas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
Paul Mcgee "The Sumo Guy" (Warrington, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
From the opening pages I was hooked. This is a fascinating, sometimes diturbing, but ultimately inspiring story of one man's incredible journey from drugs to freedom. At times the stories recounted made me wince whilst others made me smile - perhaps most importantly though I felt compelled to carry on reading this engaging and highly thought provoking book.A truely fascinating read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A personal story of how one man changed his life for the better, 18 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
Barry Woodward's story is truly an inspiration for those who are in, or have been in, a similar situation. Once an Addict, always an addict, is how many people in society - and certainly in positions of authority - think. In many cases it's true.

Barry's story, however, shows that it IS possible to break free from the shackles of addiction, to turn your life around, and lead a life free from the addiction that "takes hold first of the mind, then the body and ultimately the very soul of those who get caught up in it." (Quote from J John's introduction to this very book.)

Barry Woodward's story is an on-going one. He now travels the country to share his experiences - and his journey of recovery - with church audiences and prison inmates, bringing his uplifting message to those who are in desperate need of some hope, some feint light at the end of the tunnel of their desperation.

Once An Addict, as Barry proves - is not always an addict. If you have any doubts - buy the book!

recovery@counsellor.com
Facebook.com/InspiredByYOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once an Addict, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
S. Graham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
What a book really interesting and shows that people like this do try and some do recover,what a nasty place to live in if you don't and it just shows that some people don't understand this kind of life that these people are drawn into!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
What an amazin guy Barry is.I couldn't put this book down.My friend recommend it as she had read it.She was 100% correct to read about how a guy like this turned his life around through power of prays and how god lead him on the straight and narrow is so amazing.its a really testimony. Well done Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story of HOPE, 7 May 2013
By 
Housewife 57 (Middlesex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once An Addict (Kindle Edition)
This book tells the story of Barry Woodward and his journey from drug addiction,crime and imprisonment to freedom. There will be those who do not like the book as his freedom is gained by an encounter with God,not self help groups or pulling himself up by his bootstraps.
But I say, if there is a way for people to escape addiction that works and is lasting, let's celebrate the fact and not think 'Oh it's all god-stuff'
It isn't. A large part of the book deals with Barry's early life. I was interested in HOW he became an addict and what sort of things addicts think about; how they look at life and justify their actions.This book really helped me to understand these things.It's all told in a very down to earth manner and I found I couldn't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's power to change, 21 April 2012
By 
G. Cleaver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
This book is well written as a story of one man's life changed from one of a dependency on drugs and the resulting stays in prison to a full life telling others of God's transforming power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all true!, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once An Addict (Kindle Edition)
Even though I do not know Barry personally I can relate to so much of his story. Every word in this book is true. How do I know that? I know it because this story is my story too! I'm not saying that it is exactly, but I was an addict, I was a criminal and I was even into the house music scene in the late 80's. God changed my life 2004 and now I'm also someone who shares his testimony and the good news of the gospel. Coincidence? I think not, what are the chances, in God's world there are no such things as coincidences....Read this book and find out what your God given destiny is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HE CAME THROUGH, 29 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
Extemely interesting book.its very touching.Shows that God can make the difference when seems like no hope.Worth reading and sharing with friends and family.Remarkable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The power of a transformed life!, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld (Paperback)
Barry is a living testimony of how powerful God is to change a persons life and bring freedom from the trap of addiction. This book will bring hope to those who find themselves in a simlar situation to Barry and encouragement to everybody else who reads it. This is one of those books that you will not put down and when you finish you will want to pass it on to others. A radical story of hope and redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews