Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Learning Resource!
I couldn't disagree more with the last review on this Word Processing teaching book. I learnt a vast amount of word processing advanced skills with the 2003 version and to brush up and learn where the commands are located on MS Office 2007, I have again reached out for this book. The chapters are clear, precise and there is often a diagram to illustrate where you need...
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by Bungysports

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic
Well it has basic users information while I was actually looking for some specific information about changes in Word 2007 which I couldn't find. I should have gone with the Bible series.
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by Liesbeth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Learning Resource!, 30 Nov 2009
This review is from: ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20) (Spiral-bound)
I couldn't disagree more with the last review on this Word Processing teaching book. I learnt a vast amount of word processing advanced skills with the 2003 version and to brush up and learn where the commands are located on MS Office 2007, I have again reached out for this book. The chapters are clear, precise and there is often a diagram to illustrate where you need to point the cursor in case of doubt. The only thing that is not practical is the fact that it is not spiral bound which is a pain to keep it open on the desk. At the end of each driving lesson there is a revision passage where you are expected to do the exercises on your own without trying to look back and usually they make you do the hardest part of what you have learned so that it is well comprehended. Step by step you built up confidence in the application and what is learnt in Word can also be applied in other software applications.

I have tried learning with other books and online CD's but I come right back to the ECDL driving lessons because knowledge is quickly and confidentally built up with these invaluable books. You also actually work within Word on the computer and not set exercises where you are locked in and have to come out of the programme to test your skills on Word. Some teaching materials do not let you do anything additional if it is not related to the programme. Later on with the more difficult exercises, if you have forgotten something, there is an easily accessible table of contents at the beginning of the book which you can refer to in order to recap or go back to the origins of an exercise. At the very end there is a record of achievement that you can tick off to show whether you have no knowledge, some knowledge or whether you are fully competent. I highly recommend these books for beginners (the normal Word Processing version) right through to advanced and expert levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Synopsis for the ECDL Syllabus, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20) (Spiral-bound)
Very well done, short book. Covers the whole ECDL Advanced Word AM3 syllabus. Download files from website to work along with book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent books, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20) (Spiral-bound)
I used this series of books (word, spreadsheets, presentations, databases 2007) to gain my ECDL expert qualification, they are not for beginners, as at times they can be difficult to follow, however with a little help they are excellent at teaching you all you need to know for each microsoft package. well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20) (Spiral-bound)
Well it has basic users information while I was actually looking for some specific information about changes in Word 2007 which I couldn't find. I should have gone with the Bible series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ECDL Avanced word processing, 26 Mar 2010
This review is from: ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20) (Spiral-bound)
Should have bought the A4 spiral bound version, the A5 books are very difficult to keep open without breaking the spine, seriously considering pulling apart and hole punching. Have used the CIA manuals extensively at work so knew it would be a useful purchase and they are pretty good although a novice still needs support. Haven't started this one yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor. Very poor., 28 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20) (Spiral-bound)
I know that these books a for a new syllabus but no real thought seems to have gone into the content or it's creation. My first gripe is that, for a book that deals with a fundamentally dull subject, they have done nothing to alleviate the inevitable page turning frustration of having to wade through it. Yes, we have to cover the content but why make it painful? The "Driving Lessons" concept seems trite for the first few subjects and condescending thereafter.

Then there are the content mistakes. Did nobody read and test this book before it was published?

THEN there is the fact that this book just doesn't seem to have taken the best interests of the learner to heart. Yes, it tells you how to do things. Alas, it doesn't tell you WHY to do them. "Just do this, click that and THIS will happen". Fortunately I'm a seasoned old tech-dog that just needs to get the qualification. If I were a "real" student I'd be most confused and frustrated by this approach.

If you are a learning institution looking for standard text books, do your learners a favour and look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ECDL Advanced Syllabus 2.0 Module AM3 Word Processing Using Word 2007 (Ecdl Advanced 20)
£17.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews