Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent re-telling of New Testament stories.
This book is a must in every family library, pre-school library and sunday-school teacher's resource box. The stories are clearly told with appropriate Scripture references, the illustrations are delightful and are great discussion pieces, and each story finishes with an assurance to the child that they are loved by God. Both my 4 and 8 year old children demand this...
Published on 2 Aug 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Christening Present for non-believers
I got this book for a christening present when the non-churchgoing parents said they'd prefer money...
The stories in it are lovely and i am sure the child will read it himself when he is older.
Published 14 months ago by reader1


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent re-telling of New Testament stories., 2 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This book is a must in every family library, pre-school library and sunday-school teacher's resource box. The stories are clearly told with appropriate Scripture references, the illustrations are delightful and are great discussion pieces, and each story finishes with an assurance to the child that they are loved by God. Both my 4 and 8 year old children demand this book regularly at bedtime. I look forward to a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and humorous, 28 Nov 2002
By A Customer
A creative presentation of some of Jesus' stories - retold and illustrated with insight and humour. My two year old particularly likes the 'missing coins story' as a cat features quite prominently. Slightly less exuberant than other books written by these authors, but a FAR better read than most Bible story books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and humorous, 5 Dec 2002
By A Customer
I think this is the best Bible story book that I have ever seen. It is light and fresh, but also insightful. It is beautifully illustrated (as always) and some of the illustrations are really comical.
I was, however, slightly disappointed with the text as it lacks the exuberance that makes some books a pleasure for adults to read and re-read and re-read. But it is a minor gripe - my two year old loves this book and often requests it.
I would certainly recommend it and plan on buying their 'Animal Tales' too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the bible with humour, 11 May 2007
By 
H. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible (Hardcover)
What I really liked about this was the humour in the stories. My 3 yr old son loves them all and although the text is sparse you can embellish to your heart's content as the illustrations are superb.

It is not condescending and despite its brevity the moral message is clear. Plus the original bible story is also printed so for older readers both can be presented.

Really recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories Jesus Told, 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible (Hardcover)
As with all Mick Inkpen books, the illustrations are wonderful. There is such attention to detail! This book is very popular in our house which is unusual for a religious text. My daughter is six and the text is just the right level for her to read herself while my 3 yr old son likes to have it read to him. They both love the house on the rock. A great book to bring these bible stories alive for young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant way to intoduce young readers to the Bible., 31 May 2000
By A Customer
As usual Nick Butterworth has hit exactly the right spot. The stories are retold in a way that children will listen to and understand. My own children and Toddler group can not get enough of this book. The illustrations are again amusing and perfect for the text. Keeps the adult reader as interested as the child listener. We have bought many copies of this as gifts.It makes a perfect CHRISTENING PRESENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource for re in yr1, 19 April 2008
By 
Dawn Wilkinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible (Hardcover)
I used this book along with animal tales to make the unit of 'Jesus' more accessible to children in a yr 1 class where religion is not a feature in the majority of their lives.
The humourous writing engaged the children, and the language was basic enough for the children to understand. I had them acting out several of the stories, which they loved! some children even chose to look at the books during free play and i have recommended the purchase of both books to the RE coordinator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories, whether you are a Christian or not, 11 Dec 2008
By 
S Jones (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible (Hardcover)
These are simple but effective retellings of biblical parables, pitched exactly at toddler/pre-school level and can be read as simple moral tales teaching children about respect, keeping their promises, being helpful to those less fortunate etc, even if you are not a Christian (just omit the last paragraph of each if you want to avoid the religious message).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all toddlers - not just Christian toddlers, 17 July 2009
This review is from: Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible (Hardcover)
With amazing pictures by Mick Inkpen and lovely toddler friendly versions of Jesus' parables, my daughter received this book as a Christening present and I know them by heart she loved them so much. I have now bought it for every baptism I have been to since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Story Book for Young Children, 6 Jan 2010
By 
J. G. Bennell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a basis for telling stories to children in our church toddler group. The illustrations are simple and interesting, the text direct and understandable and the stories well chosen. This is an excellent book to introduce young children to the teaching of Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Stories Jesus Told: Favorite Stories from the Bible
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews