Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torch-bearer for investigative journalism and human rights
One of the great tragedies of recent times is the death of quality journalism; so much of the press is given over to hype, scandal, trivia, or spin, so much of the press is owned and controlled by so few politically powerful magnates, there appears little room for investigative reporting or thorough analysis. There are a few, inspiring exceptions.
John Pilger has...
Published on 23 Dec 2004 by Budge Burgess

versus
25 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Angry but with chucks of ignorance.
Like everybody that has reviewed this book, I initially found it a mind opener. I took the assertions stated in the book and referenced as real FACT (I did not check the references though, i just assumed them to be credible initially) until I got to page 142 when it started to talk about the Kosovo war. I have quite allot of knowledge about that particular war both from...
Published 19 months ago by somerandomdude


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Pilger, 1 Jan 2010
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
A superb anthology of four standalone essays from the fearless and ever-tenacious John Pilger. Whether you are new to his writing or already very familiar with it, this one is an essential addition to his body of work.

1) 'The Model Pupil'
- reveals Suharto's seizure of power in Indonesia in the 1960s and the bloody consequences that brought about the imposition of an economy that met the approval of the west.

2) 'Paying the Price'
- describes the appalling suffering of ordinary Iraqis under the west's sanctions regime. Pilger exposes the true Iraqi 'threat' - and puts a human face to the figures.

3) 'The Great Game'
- takes a broad look at the way state power sets the conditions that protect western markets while allowing western corporations to intervene wherever they like in the world.

4) 'The Chosen Ones'
- sees Pilger returning to his home country of Australia to record the struggle of the Aboriginal people.

Having spent decades travelling the globe, John has been in a position to witness first-hand the devastating effects of western-inspired injustice, corruption and bloodshed. There's little reason to doubt the facts and evidence he presents here; it is well-sourced and extensive. As always though, the contention arises when he applies his own political and moral interpretation to that evidence, and it is this, more than anything else, that tends to separate his supporters from his critics.

So what can be said of this book with at least some consensus? Well it is vivid, passionately argued, well focused and, on a human level, deeply affecting. The decision to separate the book into four parts is a wise one and allows a deeper exploration of each topic. Also, the sheer dedication and zeal Pilger displays here surely cannot be doubted.

A book like this is always going to be seen as 'one-sided', but whatever your views, it provides a valuable counterbalance to the prevailing failures of mainstream journalism - the internalised self-censorship and the regular omission of facts and historical context. As with Pilger's other books and films, this is best absorbed as one (essential) side of the story if not necessarily the whole picture - and on that basis alone, it is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Oct 2003
By 
Nawfal (Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
If you want to know the truth about who control the world, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a compelling tour of shame, 4 Jan 2003
I have no reason to doubt that 100% of the content of this book is true. Yet, if only 1% of it is true, then this book will still make you ashamed to live in the western world and be unaware of the sham in how we manipulate the rest of the world.
I recommend this compelling tour of shame to everyone, especially to those in authority that may have just a little piece of conscience in them, in the hope it moves them to take a stand against our tyranny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All naivety lost, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
Reading this book and combining it with a cocktail of US political based documentaries such as "The House I Live In", "The Central Park 5", "Inequality For All", "The Four Horsemen" and "Taxi to the Dark Side" to name but a few, it's safe to say the front cover illustration for Pilger's book sum up the disgusting nature of political foreign and domestic policy (be it UK, US, Australian) and I'm amazed at the role the UN have played in facilitating genocidal practices. It's an eye opener and page turner.

Regardless of the critics of Pilger's facts as disputed by 1 star reviewers here; it doesn't take a fool to acknowledge that 90% of what's written in this is evident, true, and most of us in the west have seen snippets of it on the news during our lifetimes.

Read it and carry some bookmarks as there's plenty of outside reading to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New Rulers of the World, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book opens up our eyes into the reality of what is going in the world rather than the mainstream media's version of events. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New world order, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
Having tried to source a book which can give you an insight into the "New World Order" this is the book I settled on. I wasn't disappointed well written and not to opinionated. Whatever you think about the subject there are some well made points and is certainly thought provoking. I would suggest that a good addition with this item, would be a book on bohemian grove
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 5 April 2012
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
The most eye-opening book I have read to date, it has altered many of my ill informed perspectives and has helped shrug off some of my western biases. If only everyone would read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
this book is fantastic, easy read and you get everything you want to know and more from this book. theres lots of topics other people forget or don't cover witch are just as important if your wanting a new world order but then this is a must buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking!, 5 July 2011
By 
A. Parsons (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Paperback)
The part that got me most was the about the aborigines and the children being taken.

True or not, it's a bloody good read and I couldn't put it down! 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know what is really going on read this book, 8 Jan 2003
I found this book A real eye opener in to what those in power really do. Disturbing in parts (paying the price) but if you have a conscience then you should be disturbed by what is being done by the goverments YOU voted in. Thank god there are people like John Pilger to open our eyes, and who are not affaid to tell it as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Rulers of the World
The New Rulers of the World by John Pilger (Paperback - 20 Feb 2003)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews