Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torch-bearer for investigative journalism and human rights
One of the great tragedies of recent times is the death of quality journalism; so much of the press is given over to hype, scandal, trivia, or spin, so much of the press is owned and controlled by so few politically powerful magnates, there appears little room for investigative reporting or thorough analysis. There are a few, inspiring exceptions.
John Pilger has...
Published on 23 Dec 2004 by Budge Burgess

versus
25 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Angry but with chucks of ignorance.
Like everybody that has reviewed this book, I initially found it a mind opener. I took the assertions stated in the book and referenced as real FACT (I did not check the references though, i just assumed them to be credible initially) until I got to page 142 when it started to talk about the Kosovo war. I have quite allot of knowledge about that particular war both from...
Published 19 months ago by somerandomdude


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I believe this is a book everyone should read. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening look into the world of international politics, 6 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Hardcover)
This book is extremely informative and very disturbing at the same time. A strong example of good reporting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Angry but with chucks of ignorance., 27 Dec 2012
Like everybody that has reviewed this book, I initially found it a mind opener. I took the assertions stated in the book and referenced as real FACT (I did not check the references though, i just assumed them to be credible initially) until I got to page 142 when it started to talk about the Kosovo war. I have quite allot of knowledge about that particular war both from research and more crucially, personal experience. I found much of what Pilger writes in this section to be the perpetuation of ignorance about the detailed events of the conflict. For example:

Pilger asserts in page 142 that "225,000 Serbs and Roma were expelled or fled from Kosovo whilst the KLA murdered and Tortured, abducted, burned churches ..." First of the 225,000 figure is a complete fabrication with no reference provided.

As for murders, tortures and burned churches, its undeniable that some of these things DID factually happen in small degree's but Pilger provides absolutely no context when laying these facts bare. He seems hellbent on painting the West as so evil that they are beyond reason. Perhaps he fears that if he provides context, we may not be so critical as he would like us to be. It is interesting that thus far in the book, he demonizes Madalene Albright (particularly in regards to Iraq Sanctions) but on page 143 he cites her in his description of the KLA as a terrorist organization. In this section of the book, Pilger simply picks and chooses facts and omits things that may show a more balanced view of the conflict in his tireless effort to demonize the West.

Heres a few things Pilger should have hinted at if not mentioned for the sake of fairness and objectivity which he so seems to value when criticizing 'censorship by omission' as he puts it by Western Media.

Pilger should at least donate at least 1 line to the evil genocidal nature of the Serbian state at the time and point out how the peaceful protests in Kosovo where met by various Serbian police atrocities and repressions. The Albanians of Kosovo were BANNED from hold albanian flags or speaking the language in schools or public institutions.

Pilger should state that the KLA movement started sometime in 1996, a full 7 years AFTER the disenfranchisement of the Albanian MAJORITY in Kosovo from all public office (including civil service and state owned enterprises) and AFTER 7 years of peaceful resistance and civil disobedience lead by Ibrahim Rogova (a Gandi like figure who preached non violence). Pilger should state the internationally excepted facts that the Serbian state helped set up the first concentration camps in Europe since WW2 (Think Srebrenica) and fought all of its Neighbours, including Croatia, Slovenia, Bosnia and finally Kosovo BEFORE it was subdued by NATO. Pilger should state that the bombing of Serbian civilian infrastructure during Phase 3 of the campaign did not happen until the Serbian government (DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED) was continuing to send re-enforcement's into Kosovo at the time when 500,000 Kosovo Albanians fled to neighboring countries. He should state that the likes of Arkan's Tigers were redeployed and rearmed by the Serbian government into Kosovo. (For those who dont know about Arkans Tiger's, they were a paramilitary organization composed of recruits from football fans who are credited with barbarisms of Dark Age proportions).

Pilger should state that the KLA initially had no centralized command and was a spontaneous violent eruption of youths (it was factually youths as the Albanian population at the time was experiences a youth bulge). He should state there was no recognized chain of Command and the only control over the armed gangs attacking Serbian police initially and then Serbian paramilitaries (local Serbs armed by the Serbian state) was excersized by Albanian local strong men on armed youths who, lacking discipline, assaulted those they perceived as occupiers. Pilger does not do this as it may go some way towards explaining the burning of churches and the murder of Serbian police and torture of others. Not a single line is donated to the other side of the story, not a single mention is made of the impending doom the Kosovo Albanians faced with the redeployment of Paramillitary battalions from Bosnia into Kosovo, the same men responsible for the brutal massacre that many of you readers would have watched live on TV if you were old enough during the Bosnian war.

Up until this section I genuinely believed Pilger and ate up all the 'facts' contained in his book. Having read this section, I am so outraged and angry that I want to shout from the digital rooftop of Amazon "TAKE THIS BOOK WITH A PINCH OF SALT DEAR READERS".

Now I am not saying the NATO war on Serbia was well executed or even right (though personally I believe it was since people that I known have given me first hand accounts of the conflict), but I am saying that Pilger does not live up to his own standard regarding balanced coverage in this section and I therefore fear that other parts of the book may be similarly unbalanced in the effort to demonize the WEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Rulers of the World, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I now John Pilger from his documentaries that were seen during the 70's and 80's on british tv, Looks like an intersting book and am hoping to read this soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Capitalism is bad..., 14 Dec 2009
By 
SL "SL, Ecosse" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
A great and detailed insight in the change of the world thanks to the yanks and the western World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for schools, 19 Feb 2003
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Hardcover)
This is exactly the sort of thing we need to counter the almost overwhelming mass of government propaganda churned out by the press and the broadcasting companies. True, Pilger is not Chomsky, but in many ways this is an advantage, as Chomsky's intellectualism and density of style turns off the mass of US public opinion. To your reviewer willyvan I would say that Pilger regards the US, not Algeria or Russia, as the biggest terrorist nation - it is the only nation condemned by the UN for terrorism (in Nicaragua). While it may be defensible to fight Al Qaeda using terrorism, is it also acceptable against Nicaragua, Cuba, Iraq, Chile etc, simply for having governments the US disagrees with?
My great hope is that in years to come Pilger's vision of this period of history will be taught in schools, not the pious platitudes of Blair and his minions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I have not ordered this, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't hate this book I'm sure it's very good but please check your details as I have not ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars things have changed, 15 May 2011
By 
Maccoll Hamish "Chanpaszen" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pilger is a bit of a hairshirt but he's honest and we need him. His dry, angry tones focus one's attention immediately. Unfortunately in this case, thru no fault of the author, the book is old news - written well before the economic crash and before the current financial dominance by China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 108 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mix of good reporting and ultra-leftism, 27 May 2002
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rulers of the World (Hardcover)
This book is a curious mixture of good reporting and dogmatic 'ultra-left' opinions: it does not provide what its title promises. Instead, it includes an account of 1966's NATO-backed massacre of a million Indonesians, which the Australian embassy in Jakarta called a 'cleansing operation', and an essay on the Australian government's appalling treatment of the Aborigines. The central part of the book consists of two longer essays, one on globalisation and the war on terrorism, which Pilger wrongly conflates, and the other on the proposed attack on Iraq.
Pilger denounces the war on terrorism, but surely a war on the feudal-minded terrorists who targeted and killed thousands of innocent workers is not wrong. He stigmatises what he calls the 'leading terrorist states in the world', instancing Algeria, China and Russia. These are all states that have fought Islamic fundamentalist terrorist groups. So it's terrorist to fight terrorists?
It is wrong to link the war on terrorism with the proposed attack on Iraq, as both Bush and Pilger do. But Pilger is right to oppose Bush's proposed attack on Iraq and his illegitimate threats against states unconnected to the Al Qa'ida terrorists...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good charity shop bargain., 29 May 2011
I haven't treasured this book. In fact it went to the charity shop last month. I remember thinking it was slightly hysterical, out of date and in fact I put it down half way through and never picked it up.
I respect John Pilger for asking questions of the establishment and being inconveniently stroppy where it counts but, after I read this book, I saw him being interviewed on tv ref Wiki leaks court cases in London and dug it out to read AGAIN ,then, regretted purchasing a book that didn't seem relevant anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Rulers of the World
The New Rulers of the World by John Pilger (Hardcover - 19 April 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews