Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bygone Days (Thank Goodness!!!)
Born in Wharf Street I can relate wholly with this book,it is a dedication to the poor and unselfish people who came through the depredation of Leicester, who survived 2 world wars but brought their children up with strength and respect, an absolute must for the decerning nostalgic as well as the grandchilden of the slum evacuees,these people were poor but they did not...
Published on 8 Feb. 2010 by Harold Potter

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Slums of Leicester
I was born and raised in a part of Leicester that this book considers slums. My parents and grandparents survived this age in time because they did not know anythink else. This book makes Leicester look dull and dirty. I spent some happy times growing up there. I was a little disappointed looking through the book, not what I expected.
Published on 4 Aug. 2011 by Wendy Lisowy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bygone Days (Thank Goodness!!!), 8 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
Born in Wharf Street I can relate wholly with this book,it is a dedication to the poor and unselfish people who came through the depredation of Leicester, who survived 2 world wars but brought their children up with strength and respect, an absolute must for the decerning nostalgic as well as the grandchilden of the slum evacuees,these people were poor but they did not need locks on their doors,buy this book it will open your eyes.Well done Ned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How We Lived, 5 Mar. 2010
By 
Dr. D. B. Mobbs (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book on the slums of Leicester but it could equally apply to any large city in the UK. The book is well illustrated with photographs of many slum areas and these help to give a real picture of how appalling the slums were.It gives a vivid account of life in the slums where the average lifespan was only about 25 years, disease was rampant and at least 1 in 5 babies died before the age of one. It is quite an eye opener!
I can just remember the last of the slums in Leicester as one of my aunts lived there. There was only gas lighting and a stand pipe for water. There was a block of "privvies" which looked too unsavoury to use apart from the lack of privacy. All these memories came back as I read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, albeit depressing, 7 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
This is an excellently-produced book providing substantial detail of Leicester's slum areas. Even though I knew what to expect before buying the book, the vividness of its content left me somewhat depressed! Particularly helpful are the maps and other information indicating exactly where the photographs were taken. The presence of the maps alone lifts this book above the standard of the usual "then and now" or "vintage" photo volumes. Even though some of the photos in this book have been published elsewhere, the additional information provided here makes them worth looking at again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slums of Leicester, 21 April 2010
By 
C. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
This excellent book is crammed with photographs of the poorer areas of Leicester in the 19th and early 20th century. For family historians wanting to know more about the conditions in which their ancestors lived it is really valuable. There is nothing to beat the delight in seeing the long-gone street where an ancestor lived. The case reports add to its interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Historical Book, 13 July 2013
By 
Ann Morgan (South West England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
I bought this book for my husband who was delighted with it. He would recommend it for anyone who has an interest or roots in Leicester, especially those delving into their family history. The book has been well researched and is backed by a good range of photographs. It makes an ideal addition to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great social history book, 20 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book which I am sure would be of interest to all people born in Leicester. It is an amazing documentary and is in the living memory of a lot of people. It could also be of interest to people living in other cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 27 May 2010
By 
Mr. John Bassford (Leicsetershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
Great book with a fantastic record of places in Leicester that no longer exist. It does exactly what is says on the tin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous book, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
Wonderful collection of photographs that bring the slum areas of Leicester to life.In researching my family history,I couldn't believe how many of the streets and actual houses,were my families dwelling places.
Delighted to have found such an interesting book,that is full of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars leicester history, 7 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
slums of leicester is a very interesting book, the title is very apt but slightly misleading.
i found it to be an interesting insight into how the poor people of leicester lived in the 1800s and early 1900s.
the photo's are excellent and in some cases show actual houses where ancestors lived.
thank goodness things have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About the book, 30 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Slums of Leicester (Paperback)
This book, it brings back loads of Memory back from my gran witch has Dementia . Now she all ways reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Slums of Leicester
The Slums of Leicester by Mr Ned Newitt (Paperback - 21 Mar. 2013)
£10.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews