Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2011
This was my first read on the subject and I was very glad I chose it.

It's not glamourous; it's not sensationalist. This book is a crystal-clear statement of the facts as they are known about these terrible crimes, and feature those all-important then-and-now photographs which illuminate and bring the past to life in a way so few other titles manage.

I have bought another JTR book and will soon see if it adds to the perception I have gained of this awful period in our history. That such crimes exist I'd be naive to deny or ignore. They were in no way palatable or exciting no matter who tells the story. I'm glad I chose this book as my first because it laid out the facts as they are known - by an experienced researcher - and helped my understanding.

I thank the authors for their diligent work and recommend the title to anyone else who would like a factual overview of this terrible period.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
I loved this book, I bought the kindle edition and didn't come across any errors unlike the previous reviewer. The presentation of this volume is concise and informative with lots of locations shown not just the murder sights themselves. The period photos themselves are particularly effective and the book would be of interest to anyone who is interested life in Victorian times. One photo I felt was really eerie and that was the picture of Miller's Court from the outside taken on the morning of Marie Kelly's murder. I would exercise caution to those of a sqeamish nature, as a couple of photos one of Catherine Eddowes and one the crime scene photo of the mutilated Marie Kelly really aren't for the fainthearted showing as the do the injuries inflicted at the hands of the Ripper. For those who are fimiliar with the Ripper this doesn't need saying my caution is for those approaching this book for the people who might be viewing this for the locations. It's a investigative work of the highest calibre and was thoroughly enjoyed by this reader.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
This book contains just about every available image pertinent to the case of Jack The Ripper. It also provides thorough details of everything that is known about all of the possible victims. There is no attempt to investigate the crimes or identify the perpetrator; this book is purely a guide to the people and places involved and is an invaluable resource to anyone interested in this subject, from the faintly curious to the most ardent Ripperologist. However, it isn't quite perfect: there are no colour images, despite the fact that some of the archive originals are in colour; all of the images, old and new, are presented in black and white - contrary to any impression the front cover may give and there are no other composites. The book is a little over A5 size, so the images are all fairly small, some especially so and many would probably benefit from some image enhancement. Nonetheless, this is still a fantastic book. [NB: there is one (very special) image that is not included - this can be found in the co-author's [Philip Hutchinson] later book 'The Jack the Ripper location photographs', published in 2009.]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I found this a very useful and well written book and a must for anyone who is interested in the world of Ripperology. It is extremely helpful both as a social and cultural account of life in 1888 and for working out the modern day locations of the crimes. The photographs of buildings and people really enhance your understanding of the kind of world in which Jack the Ripper was operating. The book also offers insights into murders that took place before and after the murders of the 'canonical 5' victims. Unlike many books out there on the subject, it does not claim any one particular suspect as the killer but provides a concise summary leaving the reader to draw their own conclusions. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
This book is a must for any newcomer to the case.

Whilst it contains a few minor errors (which factual book doesnt?) these do not impact upon the details.

As a student of the case it is the first port of call for any geographical informtion I require. An excellent reference book, not overbearing , just keeping to the facts with a touch of the unknown, superb use of imagery (blending the modern with the contemporary).......fantastic if you are new to the case or an old stager like me.

One of THE books in the field.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 June 2011
I was expecting a series of side by side Then and Now photosets, but that is not what this book is about. In fact I would not mind a few more of such photo duos. No, this book is a lot more than a just a collection of photographs. There is plenty of text here masses of information about the Whitechapel Murders and the topography of the area.

This is a book well worth investing in and I reccomend it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2014
Take a tour of Victorian London and become one with the locations where Jack the Ripper led, attacked and mutilated his victims in the dark, poorly lit streets of the East End. This book guides you through the streets, alleys, yards and buildings, describing how the Ripper made his way to his targets but, even more fascinating, is the way the author has used more modern photographs to show how those same areas have changed through redevelopment and modernisation. Comparing the photographs of the same scene gives a strange feeling which I cannot describe. This book deserves a place on the shelves with other Jack the Ripper books and comes highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
If you plan on taking one of the Ripper tours whilst in london then check out the tour what this guy gives, thoroughly entertaining and informative. [...]/ is the web address of the company he gives tours for. You will not be dissappointed. As for the book, excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I have read many books on Jack the Ripper but not many that kept me wanting to just keep reading I love this one the pictures were fab & it was an interesting & easy, enjoyable read. I highly recommend it for any Jack the Ripper fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I can't see that anyone would be interested in the sites of the ripper scenes ( unless they live in London) as they are today . The actual sites are important as they then existed but not to see a photograph of a modern car park!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)