Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read
This is a great book, written by one of the unsung heroes of football - a man who worked extremely closely with the greatest managerial partnership ever! There's loads that I didn't know about the dealings that went on and the gambling! Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in the Great Man of football.
Published on 24 May 2010 by BigEad22

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was expecting a series of anecdotes and fun revelations about the famous pairing. Unfortunately, these were few and far between. This book is basically a biography of a chief scout - the first 25% of the book is his playing career and struggle to buy a post office, not what I was after. The rest of the book is a meander through a list of some of the authors favourite...
Published 9 months ago by J Hartland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 24 May 2010
This review is from: Brian and Peter a Right Pair: 21 Years with Clough and Taylor (Hardcover)
This is a great book, written by one of the unsung heroes of football - a man who worked extremely closely with the greatest managerial partnership ever! There's loads that I didn't know about the dealings that went on and the gambling! Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in the Great Man of football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 July 2013
By 
J Hartland "Dragonpumpkin" (Beijing, China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was expecting a series of anecdotes and fun revelations about the famous pairing. Unfortunately, these were few and far between. This book is basically a biography of a chief scout - the first 25% of the book is his playing career and struggle to buy a post office, not what I was after. The rest of the book is a meander through a list of some of the authors favourite scouting achievements and Brian and Peter are, frankly, somewhat an after thought. A well intentioned book but it doesn't provide any insight or amazement to an already well stocked topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the scenes, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely change to hear how a modest man can do great and valuable work and unfortunately gain minimum recogniton even from the beneficiaries of all those years of toil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brian, Peter & Maurice, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb book by Maurice Edwards recalling the life and times of Brian Clough & Peter Taylor as their chief scout. There was a lot of stuff that I was totally unaware of before reading the book including a certain link between Peter Taylor and Manchester United. What exactly? Read the book and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brian and Peter A Right Pair, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read , interesting and informative about the behind the scenes world of football. Very entertaining insight into the life and times of Brian & Peter a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brian and Peter. A Right Pair, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book. A good insight into how Brian Clough and Peter Taylor worked together during their lifetime in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A RIGHT LET DOWN, 30 July 2010
This review is from: Brian and Peter a Right Pair: 21 Years with Clough and Taylor (Hardcover)
I have to say what a letdown this book was. While Maurice Edwards seems a totally decent guy and comes over as such, his close proximity to two of the game's greats is barely reflected in the book. I bought this expecting some wonderful insights and behind-the-scenes stuff about Clough and Taylor - but after a while I found myself trudging through mundane accounts of past events with no really new revelations. The title is enticing, but the content is a real case of not doing what it said on the tin. That Maurice was close to these guys is obviously not in question, but as you struggle to get to the end of the book, you can't help thinking it is a fantastic opportunity missed. By the end I honestly didn't feel I knew the two of them any better which was the promise in the title and the whole point of buying it. Good idea - poorly executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brian and Peter - A right pair, 2 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth buying put over well by Maurice. He seen them from a totally different side and I really enjoyed this book. He`s pretty down to earth and just writes his stuff as he did it and saw it,so there no unecessary drama. He does let you into to some sides of both Characters that you may not have heard before. Classic demonstration of why Brian and Peter were better together than a part.
A good read but not a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A right pair, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Brian and Peter a Right Pair: 21 Years with Clough and Taylor (Hardcover)
I must say this book was not what I was expecting but on the otherhand I really enjoyed reading this book, It was very intriging and interesting to read about how transfers where done and how much teams actually payed for players in such an era when football wasnt the bits and glam that it is in these days and it showed that anyone who took an interst and had a eye for football could get involved in with such big football clubs in these days the closest you get to been involved unless you make it as a footballer is sunday league or been in the crowd watching and supporting your team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Brian and Peter a Right Pair: 21 Years with Clough and Taylor
Brian and Peter a Right Pair: 21 Years with Clough and Taylor by Maurice Edwards (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews