Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2011
Bought this book at Christmas for my Bristolian husband and he's not put it down since! It has brought back so many memories for him. Would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
The social history of Bristol, England is brought to life with striking visual impact in these photographs. these historic images of buildings, people, fashions, customs, families, children, shops, warehouses, factories, streets, pubs, schools, churches etc, now long forgotten or barely remembered, flattened by concrete or bulldozed out of sight are now collated in a readily accessible reference source. This will be most valuable for social, regional and urban historians, geographers and all those with an interest in the past as seen through photographic evidence.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
As the title suggests this really is a great collection of archive photos published by Bristol's Evening Post.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
As I am Bristol born and bred, I love this book, and the lovely old pictures, some of which I remember from my years before WW2, I am still only a quarter of the way through it ! It is not the sort of book that you skip through lightly. I recommend it to anyone of Bristol origin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
We gave this as an 89th birthday gift to my Dad, Bristolian born and bred and an avid reader of the Evening Post all his life, and he is delighted with this book - full of memories and well presented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
An excellent record of Bristol as it was and also in the very recent past. Well put together and, thankfully, in hardback!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Excellent book, lovely to see how Bristol used to look. Would make a nice gift for someone interested in Bristol history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Very disappointed in the poor quality, small size photos and expected a lot more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Very good value. Dust cover not perfect but book great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Great photos of Bristol. Brought back many memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)