Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction, 16 April 2007
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for my mum, who wanted to reignite her knowledge of the trees and wild flowers of Britain. As an introduction to the trees of Britain and Europe, this small book was excellent.

The introduction to the book includes information about the families of trees which you will find within the pages of the book. Each tree that is included has half a page dedicated to it. This includes colour illustrations (which are beautifully done) of the overall apperance of the tree, a close-up of the leaves and often a detail of the bark. The written information next to the illustrations is insightful, detailing how tall the tree grows, where it is found plus the Latin name, etc.

Having looked through this book myself, what I most like about it is that you do not need to have a wealth of knowledge about trees already; just the opposite really. And, because of it's size, it is handy to carry around with you as you go for those long walks in the forest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 22 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
Lovely little pocket sized book to take out and about. It seems to have all I need in it for walks etc. The illustrations are clear and I am able to identify trees using it without any trouble. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good guide at a good price, 9 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
Starting to sound like a broken record now (!) I chose this book after reading what others had to say and am very pleased with my choice - complete opposite of it's companion book about mushrooms & fungii ....
This doesn't have photos of trees but does have good quality colour illustrations - I particularly like the seeds/flowers/fruit feature for every tree/shrub - my only niggle is not having an outline of what a particular deciduous tree looks like in the winter but apart from that I'm very pleased with my purchase.
I would happily recommend this to others looking for a cheap and pocket-sized guide to trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know their names, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
I think trees are great, but could never name any. This book solved all that, it gives you the info to classify them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy pocket sized book, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
Lovely handy book and am now able to identify all the different types of trees in the countryside around us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tree Guide, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
This basic guide is good as a starter pack...those wishing deeper knowledge may then purchase more expensive books as required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
Great little book with useful pictures and tools to help you identify species. Fairly small so will fit in a large pocket. Arrived within time given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
Really good little book. Has great information and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
For the price this in defiantly worth it. Well illustrated and an informative read. If you are a beginners you will learn something from this book. Avoid if you are expert though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) (Paperback)
this is a nice easy little book with good illustrations and excellent value for money. I now have no excuse not to know my trees when the kids ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides)
Green Guide to Trees of Britain and Europe (Green Guides) by J.R. Press (Paperback - 2 Jun 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews