Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for those who love exploring London
What a great book! It is full of fascinating facts and information that your average London guide book doesn't give you! It made me want to explore the city in much more detail! I was rather disappointed to see that the House of Detention in Clerkenwell has actually closed down now, so perhaps the book needs to be updated? Nevertheless, the chapter on all the...
Published on 5 Jan. 2002 by Cath Prince

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars it was a very interesting book but I was disappointed it didn't have more places for us to visit ...
it was a very interesting book but I was disappointed it didn't have more places for us to visit when we went to London 3 weeks ago.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs C Pogmore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for those who love exploring London, 5 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Secret London (Paperback)
What a great book! It is full of fascinating facts and information that your average London guide book doesn't give you! It made me want to explore the city in much more detail! I was rather disappointed to see that the House of Detention in Clerkenwell has actually closed down now, so perhaps the book needs to be updated? Nevertheless, the chapter on all the subterranean tunnels under London, was fascinating - especially the section on disused tube stations. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys discovering the other side of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good clear book on the secrets of London, 24 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Secret London (Paperback)
This is a 'nice to have' text rather than a 'must have', a proportion of the book refers to places and things that are not really 'secret', more hidden from public view (elements of the library in parliament for example) which was not really what I was expecting when I ordered it. There are however some excellent walks described in here which are probably worth the purchase price for alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into London, 6 May 2001
By 
James Cridland (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret London (Paperback)
First, a warning - things change in London. Don't expect to find everything that you read about in this book - or, at least, don't believe the maps! We went to see a fascinating secret crypt, which is in the middle of the City: not "the only new building in the area" (as the book says) but actually in the middle of a whole load of new buildings that have sprung up since the book was written. But still. A fascinating book, a lot of information (though rarely in quite the detail you'd like), and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and different guide to London, 16 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
An excellent guide to those things in London that even most Londoners don't notice or don't know about. Includes chapters on London's landscape, subterranean London and much more besides. An excellent read for locals and visitors who have got past the 'Guidebook' phase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secret London; Exploring the Hidden City, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Secret London; Exploring the Hidden City, with Original Walks and Unusual Places to Visit (Globetrotter Walking Guides) great book, you can discover all the things you didn't know about your own city!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars it was a very interesting book but I was disappointed it didn't have more places for us to visit ..., 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was a very interesting book but I was disappointed it didn't have more places for us to visit when we went to London 3 weeks ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but he has put together a brilliant walking book, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
how the author found out so much about the hidden city i don't know, but he has put together a brilliant walking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Dec. 2014
Excellent quality as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Fast and good copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret London
Secret London by Andrew Duncan (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews