Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent all round guide to starting windsurfing
If you've read Simon Bornhoft's articles in Boards magazine, you'll know what to expect in this book. It's an excellent guide for beginners to early intermediate, covering most of the ground in the RYA level 1-3 booklets in one place, plus a section on short boards covering water starts and carve gybes. Lots of great pictures of warm sea and sun - this doesn't look much...
Published on 14 Oct 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
I'd have to say, don't bother the book is out of date by todays standards, not impressed! Either buy Jem Halls DVD or the Trickionary book much more comprehensive for the keen beginner.
Published on 4 Sep 2010 by aka.ben


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent all round guide to starting windsurfing, 14 Oct 2001
By A Customer
If you've read Simon Bornhoft's articles in Boards magazine, you'll know what to expect in this book. It's an excellent guide for beginners to early intermediate, covering most of the ground in the RYA level 1-3 booklets in one place, plus a section on short boards covering water starts and carve gybes. Lots of great pictures of warm sea and sun - this doesn't look much like a British winter.
As well as techniques, kit, weather and safety are all mentioned, starting from an absolute beginners level. This type of information can be difficult to find as most magazine articles assume a good level of knowledge to start with. I liked the 'wrong' pictures, eg bad stance, poorly rigged sail as this can be a real help to spotting your own mistakes compared to just pictures of the correct version.
My one criticism is that because it's a slim book nothing is covered in great depth, eg one page of exercises for windsurf fitness. I'd have liked more background behind the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall good book in typical Bornhoft style, 27 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This book is written by Simon Bornhoft a well known windsurfer who spends alot of his time at moon beach. This book contains all the basic stuff that a windsurfer needs all demonstrated in warm waters. There is also sections on the move advanced stuff to get them motivated including harness and other short board technique. This book i would say is better for a newcomer to the sport rather than a fully fleged windsurfer. The book is colourful and you get good quailty instruction throughout because Simon is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing for the beginner!!!!!, 20 May 2003
By 
Pa Caswell (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book as a complete novice before going on a course. It is a great introduction for the novice and a reference tool if like me you keep falling off and want to know why. It is also useful as an introduction to more advanced techniques, and I am sure will keep me interested for many seasons as I seek to improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: Windsurfing: The Essential Guide to Equipment and Techniques (Adventure Sports) (Paperback)
I'd have to say, don't bother the book is out of date by todays standards, not impressed! Either buy Jem Halls DVD or the Trickionary book much more comprehensive for the keen beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I love windsurfing, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Windsurfing: The Essential Guide to Equipment and Techniques (Adventure Sports) (Paperback)
Good, if dated guide to windsurfing etc.
Worth a read if you can get it cheap enough on Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great start, 30 Aug 2010
By 
O. Arnold (Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windsurfing: The Essential Guide to Equipment and Techniques (Adventure Sports) (Paperback)
Unless you have friends/relatives, who are windsurfers themselves and willing to guide you through your initial steps, it's not always easy as you enter the sport. This relates to both the set-ups and the skills you need to start windsurfing. This book is great because it provides you with the kind of information you absolutely need to start windsurfing. It's an easy read, easy to pick up and put down, or read cover to cover. It's also full of colour pictures. This book is also very reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An really excellent guide to windsurfing!, 2 Aug 2008
This review is from: Windsurfing: The Essential Guide to Equipment and Techniques (Adventure Sports) (Paperback)
This book by Simon Bornhoft has helped me overcome some areas of windsurfing that I just could seem to get my head around. I have found it so useful, I decided to book up on one of Simon's coaching courses!!! A fantastic guide by someone who really makes a difference to your windsurfing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windsurfing: The Essential Guide to Equipment and Techniques (Adventure Sports)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews