Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for beginners
A great book with simple projects perfect for those who have just started cross stitch or don't have a lot of time. Divided into sections under the four elements, some of the projects in this book would be great to make up for gifts. I'd recommend this for people interested in the more classical celtic designs.
Published on 2 Nov. 2001 by kahlanauctions

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I am glad I did not buy this book new and waste ...
As an experienced cross stitcher I bought this book thinking there would be at least one design I could use - no. Just a collection of small, not very inspiring designs which I won't be using. I am glad I did not buy this book new and waste too much money on it.
Published 11 months ago by Bodie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for beginners, 2 Nov. 2001
By 
This review is from: Celtic Cross Stitch (Hardcover)
A great book with simple projects perfect for those who have just started cross stitch or don't have a lot of time. Divided into sections under the four elements, some of the projects in this book would be great to make up for gifts. I'd recommend this for people interested in the more classical celtic designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains 40 projects using many of same stitches, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
Mary Chrapliwy (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This stitchery book is misnamed perhaps? Perhaps not. The title says that it has over 40 small, exciting and innovative projects. What it doesn't say is that many use variations of exactly the same design.
This book centers on the themes of water, fire, air, and earth. One water theme that repeated far too often for my liking with salmon - the identical salmon design was used on a scented pillow, a salmon cushion, a salmon tissue sachet, salmon card, and salmon gift tag.

Now that all having been said, there are a few stunning designs that made buying this book worth every penny. A particularly beautiful design in the water category is that of a "water jewel purse" - it's a beautiful little jewel tone purse designed in alternating stripes of Celtic knots in alternating colors. The design could easily be used, with a little imagination, to create a larger purse. There are also a few other fish designs, a sea serpent design, a knotwork bookmark, knot key rings, a dragon eyeglass case, a Celtic angel pincushion, an eagle bookmark, a triskele box (a sort of spiral design), a saint and birds, a durrow saint sachet, a durrow know clothes hanger, a bird headed triskele scissor keep, a grape vineyard design used on several projects, a design for a chessboard and fabric case for chessmen, a Celtic cross picture design, and most beautiful of all the designs - a Celtic swan needle case.

In the final analysis, this book was well worth buying for two reasons - 1. there were enough beautiful designs inside to make it worth it, and 2. with a little imagination and the instructions for a few types of projects, a crafter could create their own designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I am glad I did not buy this book new and waste ..., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Cross Stitch (Hardcover)
As an experienced cross stitcher I bought this book thinking there would be at least one design I could use - no. Just a collection of small, not very inspiring designs which I won't be using. I am glad I did not buy this book new and waste too much money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treat of a book, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Milly May (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Cross Stitch (Hardcover)
Love this book! Loads of beautiful designs themed around the elements. Clear and well presented charts, loads of smaller designs for quick projects. The designs are stylish and elegant (no 'cute' designs here - thank goodness!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Project Book, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Cross Stitch (Hardcover)
This is a great book for people who like producing little things to give people. There are many small projects in the book clearly laid out and illustrated. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cross stitch, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic Cross Stitch (Hardcover)
the delivery was a bit slow but the pictures are easy on the eye and lovely and colouful and it is easy to read as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celtic Cross Stitch
Celtic Cross Stitch by Lesley Clarke (Hardcover - 1 Aug. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews