Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2014
This manual has some useful stuff like what to do and when for service intervals, but I'm going to go against the trend and only give it 3 stars. Why? Well modern cars have become so complicated than this manual either ignores many issues or it just says this is not a home mechanic job, yet some are.
One major area that they do not touch on is the engine fault codes. See your glow plug light flashing? Only have 25% power? Your car has gone into "limp home" mode and you have fault codes. There is a trick to read them on the dashboard, but it is too lengthy to go into here, so Google for it. And there is the rub - you can get so much more information off the Internet these day that the Haynes manuals are becoming redundant. Want to know how to do a simple job like change the cabin filter (if you heater seems not to work and your car mists up badly, then your cabin filter is probably clogged)? Then you can go on YouTube and find a detailed video made by some enthusiastic Polish guy rather than look at a few little black and white photos.
By now, if you have a Mk3 Mondeo, you likely have over 100k on it, and a lot of problems will be due to the common rail system and the associated control electronics, for which this manual is useless. However, with some persistence you can find lots of information on the Internet. And that is important - if you need four new injectors and you can do it yourself for £400 and get a Ford dealer to do the recoding, then you can probably get many more miles out of your car. However, if you are taking it to a diesel specialist or Ford dealer to do the whole lot, it could cost you two or three grand, and your car is therefore an economic write-off.
(Another reason that the Internet is better is you can find out about stuff you are not "officially" supposed to do, like blanking the EGR valve. If you EGR valve has failed, don't pay hundreds for a new one, just buy a blanking plate off eBay. Probably when the car was new, the EGR valve did help emissions, but once you have 100k+ on the thing, I reckon it runs better with the EGR blanked. Mine does bettter MPG, smokes less and still passes its emissions test with it blanked!)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
As per usual the haynes manual is spot on and saves loads of money through DIY repair.
I prefer Haynes to Clymer manuals as they are in british specifications :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
i needed to know how to go about renewing 2 dashboard bulbs. without this manual dont even try.from instructions on diassembly to fitting new bulbs"BRILLIANT" the manual will allow you to stay calm,and not go into financial overload, a must have for a mondeo owner,and over £5 cheaper than halfords
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
The book is comprehensive and well put together
This book is really useful when allied with the information provided by various forums (forums like talkford ). For example when one of my seat belts began to stick (the rear middle) the book will tell you how to dismantle it and will also mention that there is a locking mechanism, however the forum actually explains that the seat belt often jams because the backrest needs to be more force-ably returned to position after having being folded up (dismantling is not necessary or advisable).
The only thing that lets the book down is perhaps the quality of the paper -which can lead to unclear pictures of the components.
But overall very a worth while tome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
Dear Sir,

The Ford Mondeo book that I have purchased is exactly correct. The payment, in-transit feedback and delivery were all very good. I am realising this good service to be norm from Amazon.

The book itself arrived undamaged and has the exact information that I requested.

Please continue with sending offers related to engineering/technical topics as I always interested in these.

Thanking you for good service.

Paul Webb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
It is what it says to be honest with you, so not really much to say. It was posted on time to me and well packages it was a lot cheaper then normal shops sell for so that was a bonus. Good clear pictures to follow and instructions, just a pity I no longer have the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
Manual has loads of info about the Mondeo that i would not really be able to find out. Very useful. Would recommend to anynone who wants to get to know their Mondeo better. Supplier also good - fast delivery and good otherwise quality manual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
It's a Haynes manual - nuff said they're always spot on :)

If you have a 2000 to 2003 Mondeo, then you need this along with a code reader. But if you have a Mondeo this old you already know that so stop reading my review and buy it :)
44 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
This volume deals with most maintenance tasks the keen home owner of a MkIII Mondeo is likely to be able to handle, and outlines what is involved in most jobs requiring specialist tools. It's excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
I'll keep this short and sweet, the Haynes Manuals are an absolute must for any car owner. I have already saved a small fortune by buying this one, it is worth it's weight in gold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)