Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding introduction
This book is the best of it's type that I have read. Every point is backed up by a real world example, the book is full of detailed images, and best of all, is written by a man who clearly has a huge amount of technical experience behind him. The book does however assume you have a clear understanding of how an engine works. Worth every penny.
Published on 4 Nov 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I was expecting
I got this book with the expectation of learning an approach of engine mapping.

The book despite the fact that is well written, is mainly sharing the author's experiences and gives a very generic view of what engine mapping or carbs can do.
I was expecting more of a walk through and formula style calculations and examples that would allow the reader to get...
Published 6 months ago by Menios


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding introduction, 4 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
This book is the best of it's type that I have read. Every point is backed up by a real world example, the book is full of detailed images, and best of all, is written by a man who clearly has a huge amount of technical experience behind him. The book does however assume you have a clear understanding of how an engine works. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good introduction, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
This guy really does know what he is on about, although he sometimes seems a bit biased and gives information that seems based on his own opinions. Saying that I have to say on the whole the book is packed with useful information which really taught me a thing or two. Recommended, even has a copy of the Emerald software in the back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to tuning modern performance engines, 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
This book forms an excellent introduction to the science of tuning modern performance engines. It is quite general in context - applicable to many different makes of engine - so doesn't provide specific solutions for any particular engine or problem. It is essentially a practical guide, so doesn't introduce a lot of theory or technical content, although the software provides an interesting exercise in setting up an EMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engine Management by Haynes, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
I purchased this Haynes 'Red' book because at the time I was involved with fixing an engine problem with a Rover motorcar: it would not idle smoothly. I had a general appreciation of how engine management systems (EMS) work but what I lacked was a deeper understanding of the subject which was essential in accurately diagnosing the problem with the Rover.

I purchased two Haynes books, the second 'Blue' book, entitled: 'Haynes Automotive Engine Management and Fuel Injection Systems Manual', deals with the engine management specifics for a family of motorcars from different manufacturers. In retrospect, this second book proved the more useful because it provides detailed engine management descriptions along with circuit diagrams, including for Rover.

The 'Red' book is different in its approach in that it describes EMS in general terms but also in quite a lot of depth. It explains, for example, why and how EMS came into being and why, for example, the carburettor was replaced in favour of fuel injection. It also describes the purpose of sensors and actuators in EMS and how they work. It also describes the function of the ECU/EMU which is the 'brain' at the heart of the EMS and all modern production motorcars have at least one.

It is not unusual to find as many as 1 - 3 dozen sensors & actuators integrated into the average modern EMS and each has a special role to play in reducing engine emissions whilst maximising performance. Some of the more complex and expensive makes of motorcar have as many as 80+ 'brains' organised in a distributed network throughout the motorcar. However, the 'Red' book only discusses the function of the 'brain' directly associated with the EMS and only then in a general way.

The 'Red' book and its companion are primarily intended for the technically-minded, car enthusiast or automotive technician. Taken together they complement one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I was expecting, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
I got this book with the expectation of learning an approach of engine mapping.

The book despite the fact that is well written, is mainly sharing the author's experiences and gives a very generic view of what engine mapping or carbs can do.
I was expecting more of a walk through and formula style calculations and examples that would allow the reader to get into some depth of engine mapping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
Five star product, has helped me with my degree dissertation for automotive engineering. A bit old school techniques but very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is great book, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Jehad Ahmad Yamin (Jordan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
This is great book for engine tune up
I request the author to update to new Injection fuel system and use more modern stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but, 21 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
could do with a bit more details on th sensors needed and general wiring. apart from that, excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Lee R. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
This is a great resource for any budding engine tuner. The pages are clearly laid out, the author gives a lot of background information behind each tuning method and the explanations and details are easy to follow.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book but would need an update, 8 Dec 2009
By 
J. Carosio (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Engine Management: Optimising Carburettors, Fuel Injection and Ignition Systems (Haynes High-performance Tuning) (Hardcover)
I have a lot of respect for Dave and he clearly knows his stuff. As mentioned in other reviews this is an excelent intro to the subject.
My slight gripe is that it has a signifficant section on tunning the weber carbs. Probably this was included because at the time of writting many people used engine management for spark delivery and not for both spark and fuel.

However apart from that It is a very good book written by a REAL expert on the subject.

Pictures: Very good

Text: Easy to follow and very clear.

The thing that I like about this book is that is based mainly on european engines and not the typical Amercian V8 book. It has very good coverage of the Rover K series, an engine that holds very little secrets for david.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1c1b4c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews