Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great maintenance book
This Service and Repair Manual is great, although the pictures are in black and white but the description of the content is very good. This book nearly covers everything for the Golf and Bora, so if your looking for a Maintenance book for your Golf or Bora then this one is highly recommended.
Published on 12 July 2006 by Razerslash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much and too little.
Bought this for my Golf mk4 1.9 SE tdi (1999). Its far too complicated,much to much information coverring too many models, except mine. The year is correct,but it doesnt have a lot to say about the MK4 Golf.
Published on 20 Jun. 2011 by Silly old tart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great maintenance book, 12 July 2006
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
This Service and Repair Manual is great, although the pictures are in black and white but the description of the content is very good. This book nearly covers everything for the Golf and Bora, so if your looking for a Maintenance book for your Golf or Bora then this one is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for any Golf & Bora Owner, 28 July 2013
By 
Mr P Langley (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
I have owned and used this book for over 10 years now. I am not an expert mechanic, but I can do a lot of the servicing work with the help of this manual. It covers most, if not all of the areas that you will at some point wish to refer to. It will break down the steps of performing a task, but it often lacks details of the precise tools needed. An example may be being instructed to unbolt a part, but not being given the size socket to use. This would be helpful when preparing your tools in advance, but no major issue. There are some black and white pictures to accompany the instructions, and these are very useful. On reflection I have also noticed that it would be helpful if they could add more information covering real world maintenance work that you will probably encounter frequently, such as cleaning the throttle body. I am sure that all Mk4 owners have had poor idle issues, or cutting out due to a dirty throttle body, but this process isn't covered in any detail. That being said, it is a very helpful book, and without it I would have been stuck on many occasions. I would highly recommend every one wishing to keep their pride and joy in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but depends on what repairing, 23 April 2010
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
For the very technical repairs very detailed, a at times bit confusing to follow step by step. photos in black and white and at times not very clear illustration. but for the smaller easier reparis not as detailed and a bit vague. had to replace the window regulator on the drivers door and wasnt very good. but then again cant cover every thing in just one book. overall good book and probably the best on the market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Haynes Manual! Does what it says on the tin., 7 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Williams (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Great manual for little repairs and (or) bigger jobs.
I have it sat in my boot because I know I will always use it.
Cars go wrong, it's a fact.
And this book will save you money on jobs that a garage would charge a small fortune to carry out.
Ive had/bought one of these manuals for every car I've ever owned.
Good value for money in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect antidote, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
This manual has already provided me with the information required to carry out repairs on my car, and in typical haynes style, puts two fingers up to the dealers 'special tools' by specifying alternative solutions such as a metal plate and two bolts for locking the camshafts. If you have a golf and are willing to do your own maintenance/repairs, a haynes manual is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manual, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Purchased this as I was looking for a manual for golf this was very cheap and previously own so didn't know what to expect it arrived quickly and is in very good condition I would strongly recommend excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much and too little., 20 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my Golf mk4 1.9 SE tdi (1999). Its far too complicated,much to much information coverring too many models, except mine. The year is correct,but it doesnt have a lot to say about the MK4 Golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars execellent, 6 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
product was exactly what they said it would be thank you very much only 1 critisism the gift wrap option was a little feable it was just a box but thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars VW Bora handbook, 5 Mar. 2011
By 
I. Raymond "beachcomber" (Bexhill, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Just the ticket for those "little" repair jobs - and for major work.

Shame it doesn't cover the 2.3 litre V5 engine but that's best left to the experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volkswagen Golf and Bora Petrol and Diesel (1998-2000) Service and Repair Manual (Haynes Service and Repair Manuals) (Hardcover)
Does exactly what is says on the tin, what more can I say. This was very well packed. Would recommend it to anyone with this make and model of car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews