Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The nuts and bolts of a Landrover Restoration Explained
This book is a must for the first time (or even seasoned) Landrover restorer and enthusiast. It provides detailed information and comprehensive pictures of how to dismantle and rebuild Series Landrovers. It includes a 'what to look for when buying' guide, and is an invaluable aid. Try not to get too many greasy thumbprints on it though, it is a reference source that...
Published on 25 Aug 1999

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures, but not much practical workshop use
We recently rebuilt a disassembled a 1949 Series One Land Rover, hoping this book would help us. Though the engine part is quite good, many other things are only covered in pictures without explanations or are simply an ode to Dunsfold. Electrics are not explained at all. There is not enough to cover each model and it takes more than 130 pages till the authors actually...
Published on 24 May 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The nuts and bolts of a Landrover Restoration Explained, 25 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
This book is a must for the first time (or even seasoned) Landrover restorer and enthusiast. It provides detailed information and comprehensive pictures of how to dismantle and rebuild Series Landrovers. It includes a 'what to look for when buying' guide, and is an invaluable aid. Try not to get too many greasy thumbprints on it though, it is a reference source that should last a lifetime! My only gripe is that is concentrates far more on Series 1 and 2 models than it does on the 3. So perhaps a future revision should be to incorporate more data for Series 3 owners and perhaps even later models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures, but not much practical workshop use, 24 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
We recently rebuilt a disassembled a 1949 Series One Land Rover, hoping this book would help us. Though the engine part is quite good, many other things are only covered in pictures without explanations or are simply an ode to Dunsfold. Electrics are not explained at all. There is not enough to cover each model and it takes more than 130 pages till the authors actually start writing about a real life project. Why they come up with things like 'free-wheeling hubs save fuel' without any figures to prove that remains their secret.
I'd rather buy the original workshop manual for the model you want to restore, which we did of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Best Manual...Not on It's Own!, 5 Sep 2002
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
Haynes Manuals have a reputation for being incomplete. This is no exception!
The Project Vehicle is a Series 2A, and there is little Series 3 in the book, not surprising as the original was written around 1985! Series 3s were still new then!(There IS a Series 1 section though.)
What it IS is a manual that covers, if not in great depth, some of the jobs no other manual covers. Such as Chassis repair, outriggers and the rear crossmember. Fitting new seatbelts, free wheel hubs, and the fairey overdrive. Replacing body panels.
This should be read in conjunction with the official Repair Operations Manual, and the Land-Rover Parts book for your particular vehicle.
Also, try joining the Club for your vehicle. Such as The Series Three Owners Club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jack of all trades Master of none!, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
Felt disappointed after purchasing this book; generally feel it's missing too much out. Some areas are covered well, better than the standard Haynes manual, other sections need to be expanded further, after all this book is titled 'restoration'! Think the money would be better spent on the original Land Rover workshop manuals, even though they cost a lot more. The authors need to revise the first two sections, too much of this manual is spent on the history of Land Rover, showing pictures of all the different series vehicles made and buying tips (the first 45 pages)! They need to concentrate more on what the book is titled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Use a workshop manual, 16 Feb 2010
By 
H. White (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
It is what it does'nt have in it that is important. Little detail,lots of irrelevant information. Buy a landrover workshop manual,more expensive but very informative. Better than this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Alan V. Wrench (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
If you are sufficiently technically competent to consider undertaking a restoration this book does nothing for you. It is largely a recompilation of other publication. There are web sites such as Series2club that will be far more usefull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table foder..., 1 July 2014
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
A very amateurish attempt at a Land Rover 'Restoration' manual that ambitiously tries to straddle the Series 1, 2 and 3, and fails. It's a disconnected lash up and the poor photography does it no favours at all. Most galling of all are the constantly fawning and sycophantic references to Dunsfold Land Rovers who should have know better and not associated themselves with this. The Series 3 pictured on the cover with outdated and naff white spoke wheels really sum up this publication. Don't buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok not great, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
Not the best book for diong the job. Poor pics.not enought detail pick another book to do the job .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great retirement project, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a retirement present for a friend who has been threatening to 'do up' his scrap Land Rover for years. He was thrilled with it and project has started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Restoration Info, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals) (Hardcover)
A very informative an clear manual about Landrover restoration and help. Very easy to understand and follow, with clear concise instructions,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land Rover Series I, II and III Restoration Manual (Haynes Restoration Manuals)
£17.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews