Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for working on a mini
It's getting a little out of date now, as the Mini parts readily available changes, but still excellent value. Everything is covered in detail and how to do almost anything in restoring, but not customising, a Mini. The section on bodywork is essential, and he covers welding in great detail - if you have a Mini, you'll end up welding it at some point. Highly recommended...
Published on 9 Oct 2002 by Simon Holmes

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels outdated
I have recently completed an bare metal restoration of an '82 mini including extensive bodywork repairs, respray, mechanical overhaul, electrical upgrade etc etc. At the end of the exercise my mini workshop manual is dog-eared and covered in finger prints from continual use while my copy of the Restoration Manual remains in pristine condition!

Although the...
Published 20 months ago by Jimnali


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for working on a mini, 9 Oct 2002
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
It's getting a little out of date now, as the Mini parts readily available changes, but still excellent value. Everything is covered in detail and how to do almost anything in restoring, but not customising, a Mini. The section on bodywork is essential, and he covers welding in great detail - if you have a Mini, you'll end up welding it at some point. Highly recommended indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very usefull book, 26 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
This book is the most usefull mini restoration book that I have used ever. A worthy contender for my money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Toast (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
This book is an essential for anyone wanting to restore their mini. I for one found the sections on the bodywork particularly helpful when welding, something which nearly all projects will requite. The diagrams are all very clear and the gems of information contained within each page can make all the difference between a relatively pain free refurb and a total (and expensive) mess. It needs to be updated a bit as with so many specialised companies offering either refurbished original parts (or more often replicas which do the job sometimes better!) the list of parts available has certainly changed, otherwise everything else is very accurate.

If you have a sorry looking mini sitting in the garage which is in need of some TLC buy this book, get out your tools and sort it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Like a Bible to me at the moment, 29 April 2011
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I am restoring a Morris Mini 1000 1973 and what can I say, it has been excellent. I am no where near finished with my car but so far this book has been fantastic for someone like me, who at the beginning didn't know hardly anything. So far but not limited to, I have manged to remove the engine and front subframe and remove the rear subframe plus loads of other stuff. Alright the pictures are in black and white and sometimes I would have to double check online to see what I was dealing with (gotta say theminiforum.co.uk has been great) but apart from that It is just an amazing book. It is packed full of useful info on how to remove stuff, renew stuff and replace stuff, even where to look. The sections are laid out well and it will point you to another section if something else needs to be done and it lists the tools you will need as well for each section. If you don't even have a mini but want to restore one, you should get this. It gives you info on where to look, what to look out for and what to choose from. You will definitely need this book if you are planning to restore a mini, one of the most essential tools. Be prepared to keep this book as you will not be able to sell it because of all the oil and dirt from your hands you will get on it, lol. So in conclusion, great book, great info and a must have if you are restoring a classic mini. Big thumbs up from me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Best Mini Manual, 3 July 2009
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
Anybody who is restoring, or thinking of restoring a mini, should get this book. Along with the Haynes manual you should be able (and not afraid) to tackle nearly every job on your mini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the older minis, 15 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
Ive rebuit 3 minis and this book has never failed to guide me through the process but as already stated it requires an update on some things the replacing of door skins being the most notabe, are aimed at the early mk1 and mk2 minis and some of the methods are old but 99% of this book applies to minis right up until the last rolled off of the production line.

If you are thinking of restoring your mini or even doing some minor body repair this manual is money well spent but this will not help you if your doing major modificatons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels outdated, 1 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
I have recently completed an bare metal restoration of an '82 mini including extensive bodywork repairs, respray, mechanical overhaul, electrical upgrade etc etc. At the end of the exercise my mini workshop manual is dog-eared and covered in finger prints from continual use while my copy of the Restoration Manual remains in pristine condition!

Although the restoration guide was published in 1984 and revised in 1996 it is clearly based upon the very early models and has major ommissions for later models. There appears to be little evidence of updating in the second edition. Although my mini pre-dates the original publishing date, much of the manual is not relevant to my car. I really did not find it helpful for my project.

The manual feels very out dated. Despite the colour photograph on the cover all the illustrations inside are black and white and are quite poor quality. While sections give an overview of various repairs, these occasionally lack detail and don't really give a step by step guide. More often then not you will have to turn to your Haynes Worshop Manual for a full explanation.

The guide has no index so it is very difficult to find specific subjects (if indeed they are covered by the guide).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
My son loved it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
The books that I purchase are not just for me, I teach automotive engineering for a training provider in my home town. Although we are in an increasingly technical society these books are very useful for broadening the mind of our learners and they benefit enormously from them. I would also recommend them for any DIY enthusiast as a professional automotive engineer they are excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful technical book well illustrated pleased, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) (Hardcover)
I find this a most useful technical publication and have no reservations in recommending it to anyone who is intent of restoring a mini
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series)
Mini Restoration Manual (Haynes Resto Series) by Lindsay Porter (Hardcover - 20 July 1998)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews