Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful deck and very helpful book.
The Beginners Guide to Tarot comprises of a beatifully illustrated tarot deck and book. The blurb on the back of the box states that the deck has been specifically designed for the novice, with each card illustrated clearly. Something I'd definately agree with as each card is very clear and has two pages assigned to it in the book.
The book starts off with...
Published on 30 Dec 2005

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book
I find the book very good and gave a good beginners insight into Tarot. The cards are attached and my first instinct was to separate them from the book to stop it getting tatty.
Was a bit disappointed at the quality of the cards - the pictures are fine - traditional based on RW, but feel much more flimsy than other packs I have, and this made it bit tricky when...
Published on 26 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful deck and very helpful book., 30 Dec 2005
By A Customer
The Beginners Guide to Tarot comprises of a beatifully illustrated tarot deck and book. The blurb on the back of the box states that the deck has been specifically designed for the novice, with each card illustrated clearly. Something I'd definately agree with as each card is very clear and has two pages assigned to it in the book.
The book starts off with information on each of the four suits of the minor arcana before going into the interpretations of each of the cards. Each cards interpretation is covered by two pages which point out the symbols on the card and what they represent before going into the divinatory meaning of the card. Sample readings for each suit, the minor arcana, major arcana and for the complete deck are given throughout the book.
The clearest information I've seen so far so it get's five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners and those of nervous dispositions, 5 Jun 2007
By 
Lilly Penhaligon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the first tarot deck that I bought and boy did I do it with much trepidation! Being a bit scared by the idea of the tarot because of its infamous reputation and links with the occult, but at the same time fascinated by the world behind those images, I decided to go ahead and buy my own deck. I looked through many of the hundreds of decks on the internet looking for one that was the least threatening and came up with -the Sharman-Caselli deck.

I have not regretted my purchase.

This deck is loosely based on the Rider-Waite but the drawings are far better, more attractive than the ugly RW (sorry RW fans!). They have also been doctored to make the symbolism and imagery more accessible for those with zero knowledge of the tarot like me. The pastel colouring is very pleasing on the eye.

Summary of the good points:

*clearly and attractively drawn images

*Scaled down for easy access for beginners

*nice pastel colours that don't offend the eye

*pip cards contain images which is v important for beginners

*cards have a border and are clearly labelled so that you know which one you are looking at

*each suit has been assigned a colour relevant to the mood of the suit for example Cool Swords contain many steely greys, Fiery Wands have a predominance of yellow and orange, Watery Cups are lavenders, pale blues, you get the picture (no pun intended)

*the cards also have indicators of the horoscope signs they are relevant to - for example one card shows a king/queen on a throne carved with rams or the king at whose feet sits a little crab.

*the images have been cleverly chosen to stimulate your intuition and evoke meanings

The only thing that is slightly disappointing is that the backs of the cards are just a plain red whereas some of the other decks have really artistic elaborate reverses. The cards feel nice on the front but have a slightly grainy feel on the reverse, however, the more you handle them, the smoother they seem to get. All in all, they feel pleasant and friendly.

The set also comes with a large book (large as in, 192 or so pages) with two pages dedicated to each card. The book is typed in nice blue print and is probably roughly A5 size so not miniscule so you go blind trying to read it. Each card is depicted and the author points out the images on the card that need to be drawn to your attention. She then goes on to tell you some of the basic meanings of the cards and what they might mean in a reading. At the back of the book there are sample readings and some suggested spreads.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this pack to any person that is a true beginner to tarot and wants something non-threatening and not too deep to begin with. The card and book set makes for a really good introduction into teh world of tarot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book, 26 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I find the book very good and gave a good beginners insight into Tarot. The cards are attached and my first instinct was to separate them from the book to stop it getting tatty.
Was a bit disappointed at the quality of the cards - the pictures are fine - traditional based on RW, but feel much more flimsy than other packs I have, and this made it bit tricky when shuffling so as not to damage them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please note: no cards!, 23 Jan 2014
By 
C. Rae - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I stated above, I was disappointed to discover that, once again, Amazon has failed to be accurate in their description of goods. If you want a book on the tarot, fine, but, if, like me, you had expected to get a pack of cards too, well, you will be sorely disappointed, I am afraid.. Amazon, sort your act out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful cards, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Beginners Guide to Tarot (Paperback)
Excellent product, beautifully illustrated and simply explained within the book. Easy to use and attractive to have around as a talking point for conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Beginner's Guide, 8 Dec 2006
This review is from: Beginners Guide to Tarot (Paperback)
Gift boxed, with Sharman-Caselli full deck of tarot cards plus 192-page illustrated book.

Juliet Sharman-Burke's teaching method introduces you to the Minor arcana cards first. A practice layout is used for each suit, and then a bigger layout for all 56 Minor arcana cards. Then she moves onto the Major arcana and finally some full tarot spreads.

A fantastic beginner's guide, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loveley deck nice book, 26 Jan 2007
By 
Slema Insley "selmainsley2" (dartford uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a very nice vairyant on the Rider Waite deck with afew historical deviations, such as the lovers and the wheel of fortune. This is the deck and booklet which i started with and although i would now interpret some of the cards differently, the book encourages a more intuitive way of interpretation. Some people take issue with the fact that the trumps are not numbered, if you are into numerology then i would recomend you start with the Rider Waite or even the Crowley, but this is ideal for starters to get a grips with and the spreads at the end of each section, will get you reading very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginners Guide to Tarot (Paperback)
great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show!!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginners Guide to Tarot (Paperback)
Thanks for posting me 'Beginners Guide to Tarot'. I'm giving you five out of five. I'm a beginner to Tarot and will find this book useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great review, 25 April 2012
This review is from: Beginners Guide to Tarot (Paperback)
This guide to Tarot is in the form of a book and especially designed cards. The cards are quite wonderful, they incorporate the innate meaning and feeling attributed to the card and suit, the cards are well designed and fairly uncluttered, allowing the reader to see the essence rather than the detail of the card. I do like the artwork very much; it manages to be modern but retains the feeling of age. The deck is very pleasing to use.

The book is excellent; the learner is encouraged to look at the cards and is given an overview of the suit. Afterwards the reader is taken through each card one at a time. The cards are reproduced in the book and key points of the artwork are shown with the meaning of the representation. At the end of each chapter is a spread to illustrate a reading, using just the one suit. Later this is further developed to use Major Arcana and eventually all the deck. I have to say this is actually by far the best book about Tarot for beginners I have found, there is enough here for the reader to find his or her way and thus develop familiarity and intuition. I have no reservations whatsoever about strongly recommending this book to anyone interested in learning Tarot; I have found no other reading material that comes close to helping a beginner as well as this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginners Guide to Tarot
Beginners Guide to Tarot by Juliet Sharman-Burke (Paperback - 25 Feb 2005)
13.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews