Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-rate reference!
Y Llyfr Berfau gives detailed information on the conjugation of hundreds of Welsh verbs. Given that most (all?) Welsh-English dictionaries tell you little or nothing about the bewildering internal vowel changes many Welsh verbs undergo (particularly the 3. sing. present/future), this book is useful, even indispensable if you're reading or trying to write formal...
Published on 19 Sep 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite comprehensive
I wanted a book that fully conjugated Welsh verbs. This did not quite do it for me. I wanted a book that gave a series of patterns that other verbs would adopt. This therefore failed in my needs. This does not make it a bad book, just that it did not address my personal needs.
Published 15 months ago by Roger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-rate reference!, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
Y Llyfr Berfau gives detailed information on the conjugation of hundreds of Welsh verbs. Given that most (all?) Welsh-English dictionaries tell you little or nothing about the bewildering internal vowel changes many Welsh verbs undergo (particularly the 3. sing. present/future), this book is useful, even indispensable if you're reading or trying to write formal literary Welsh. Highly recommended! I hope Gwasg Gomer keeps it in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cymorth cyntaf!, 1 May 2010
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
An excellent book for those who wish to improve their formal Cymraeg and avoid constant use of the `roundabout` way of expressing verbs. I`d prefer a dividing line between each entry - but that`s a minor criticism. This book is ideal to have within reach and gives you the confidence you need when writing formally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godidog!!, 13 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
An excellent book! Welsh verbs are laid out clearly and concisely.
The book is written in dual text with English and Welsh on opposing pages. This alone is a great learning tool and a wonderful aid to understanding how any language works; one can compare the two texts and gain insights into how English/Welsh, Welsh/English look in translation. Welsh grammatical terms ( verb, present tense, past tense,conditional,imperfect,imperative, subjunctive etc., etc., etc.) are all here - you just have to find and learn them (I do believe it's useful and worthwhile to learn these terms). I have another Welsh grammar book called Gramadeg Y Gymraeg by Peter Wynn Thomas which is written totally in Welsh and this book Y Llyfr Berfau by D. Geraint Lewis will serve as a key to deciphering the former. Such are the joys of learning Welsh or any language!!

I'll say it again.....

Godidog!!

Welsh Teatime Recipes: Traditional Welsh Cakes (Favourite Recipes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Llyfr ardderchog .. an excellent book, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
However did I manage before buying this easy-to-use yet authoritative book? It displays alphabetically all the verbs you're ever likely to use, and it gives priority to formal, written Welsh. Moreover, it offers a unifying standard which is precisely what Welsh needs as it comes back from the brink of extinction and becomes one again the language of Wales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Llyfr defnyddiol dros ben, 12 Mar 2012
By 
P. H. Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
This is an invaluable resource for learners -- as others state it concentrates on the literary language, but frequently provides common colloquial forms as well. My three classes have all found it very helpful -- if only for the relief that comes from finding that there are very few tenses to learn for inflected verbs. There's an impressive display of the subtleties which can be achieved using periphrastic forms -- any takers for the pluperfect continuous? -- and a brave attempt at tabulating the various possibilities -- the presentation of which could be improved and provided with an English explanation. Useful detailed information on the use of the tenses is provided in Welsh only -- a pity.
Users of this volume would be well-advised to investigate other titles by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Da iawn i ddysgu ein iaith hyfryd ni, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
Da iawn i ddysgy ein iaith hyfryd ni. Excellent to learn and use our beloved language.
Gwion o Ddingad, Llydaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite comprehensive, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
I wanted a book that fully conjugated Welsh verbs. This did not quite do it for me. I wanted a book that gave a series of patterns that other verbs would adopt. This therefore failed in my needs. This does not make it a bad book, just that it did not address my personal needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 10 Feb 2010
By 
J. Kirkham (A hillside in Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English (Paperback)
My dissatisfaction with this book stems almost entirely from the fact that there is insufficient information on the cover to let the purchaser know that this is a book designed to be used in writing or reading formal Welsh.

I bought on-line, in which situation it's vital that the pages available for the purchaser to view make the aims of the book obvious - when I bought it they did not.

Spoken Welsh is so significantly different to the formal, written version that I do not believe this book will be helpful to the vast majority of students who are studying on a course that concentrates on speaking rather than formal writing (students on accelerated courses may disagree but not many courses move at an accelerated pace).

I have no idea what the content of a Welsh course is in school or higher education - this book may suit those students but they should look carefully inside before making a decision to buy.

Additionally; I think the internal lay-out is messy, the glossary is not sufficiently detailed and the sections in English tend towards the pompous. There was virtually nothing about this book that enthused or excited me, I just felt misinformed and disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English
Llyfr Berfau, Y: Check-list of Welsh Verbs: Welsh-English by D. Geraint Lewis (Paperback - 7 Nov 2011)
9.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews