Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL AND INSPIRATIONAL!
I bought this book for my daughter (who is studying Illustration) as she has adored Mark Herald's work for ages - the perfect Christmas gift then? Well I received the book on Tuesday and was so overwhelmed with the beautiful illustrations, along with the text which gives you a great insight into Mark Herald's work, I gave it to her immediately - so much for waiting for...
Published 17 months ago by J. E. Martin

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Professional looking book
This is a good coffee table book. looks & feels worth the money, and may be good for mixed media artists. A good book to browse through, not a practical type book though.
Published 12 months ago by Sandra L


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL AND INSPIRATIONAL!, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my daughter (who is studying Illustration) as she has adored Mark Herald's work for ages - the perfect Christmas gift then? Well I received the book on Tuesday and was so overwhelmed with the beautiful illustrations, along with the text which gives you a great insight into Mark Herald's work, I gave it to her immediately - so much for waiting for Christmas!
This book is truely beuatiful and one to treasure for a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Mark Hearld's Workbook is stunning. Bright, creative and full of inspirational photographs of his starting points and techniques.A wonderful book to read by yourself or as a reference book of fabulous ideas for workshops or schools.I love the clarity of illustrations. A comforting and nostalgic book that I will be very possessive about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 28 Feb 2013
By 
MRS S BRIDGE (SKIPTON, N. YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Great artwork in their own right and a constant source of inspiration, you also get to see something new in each pictures everytime you revisit it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
This book exceeded my expectations. It contains page after page of lavish illustrations of Mark Hearld's work and his own interesting comments on how he works and what inspires him. It also contains reproductions of the work of his heroes,Bawden, Ravilious,Piper, Palmer. The whole book is beautifully designed and presented, a joy to handle and read. For anyone interested in the folk art tradition,interested in collage, linocut, lithography, pottery,fabric design,illustration, this book is an absolute must.

The parcel arrived in good time and was very well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and inspirational, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Lynne C. Gill "Lynne C. Gill" (Norfolk, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
This book gives you a great insight into Marks way of working, his background, and his own sources of inspiration. A good selection of his work graces the pages, the book is full of information about the various processes he uses, with explanations for those like myself who appreciate the work but are not familiar with the technique. All aspects of printmaking are described - collage, lithograph, linocuts.

This is not a how-to book by any means, but such a beautiful read, wonderful illustrations, and an honest discussion of his work by the man himself. I enjoyed it immensley and will refer back to it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspired work book., 16 Nov 2012
By 
J. B. Egan "ridgeway" (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Only recently been aware of Mark Hearld's work as an artist, and been most impressed with his originality with collage and sense of colour. I like many of the artists he references as inspiring him, like Ravilious, Bawden and Nash. I like too the tradition of journeyman artists, like Barbara Jones, and English popular art, of which he is part. The fact that his subject is often wildlife, birds in particular, makes this very appealing as well. The book is beautifully put together and really gives a vibrant sense of this artist's work. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 26 Sep 2013
By 
L. Lincoln "laaartist" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
This book is a riot of colour, the reproductions are wonderful and to anyone familiar with Mark's work a real treat. Get busy with the scissors and make your own collage based on his ideas - while it's not a techniques manual there's lots of information to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
I am just getting back into my art. After a long break where time didn't allow creativity, I find myself looking at Mark Hearlds work with different eyes. I'm blown away by how much detail goes into each picture. And yet when you break it down it's doable!!! A super coffee table book to just lose yourself in over a coffee. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A burst of colour and energy, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
A lovely book, full of energy and vivid images. I leave it on my table and dip into it when I want a burst of colour in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Wonderful Book
Great writing
Fantastic Images
A great insight into what drives a maker and artist
Highly recommended
That's All!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

Mark Hearld's Work Book
Mark Hearld's Work Book by Simon Martin (Hardcover - 26 Oct 2012)
23.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews