Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL AND INSPIRATIONAL!
I bought this book for my daughter (who is studying Illustration) as she has adored Mark Herald's work for ages - the perfect Christmas gift then? Well I received the book on Tuesday and was so overwhelmed with the beautiful illustrations, along with the text which gives you a great insight into Mark Herald's work, I gave it to her immediately - so much for waiting for...
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by J. E. Martin

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Professional looking book
This is a good coffee table book. looks & feels worth the money, and may be good for mixed media artists. A good book to browse through, not a practical type book though.
Published on 3 April 2013 by Sandra L


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL AND INSPIRATIONAL!, 2 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my daughter (who is studying Illustration) as she has adored Mark Herald's work for ages - the perfect Christmas gift then? Well I received the book on Tuesday and was so overwhelmed with the beautiful illustrations, along with the text which gives you a great insight into Mark Herald's work, I gave it to her immediately - so much for waiting for Christmas!
This book is truely beuatiful and one to treasure for a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Mark Hearld's Workbook is stunning. Bright, creative and full of inspirational photographs of his starting points and techniques.A wonderful book to read by yourself or as a reference book of fabulous ideas for workshops or schools.I love the clarity of illustrations. A comforting and nostalgic book that I will be very possessive about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
This book exceeded my expectations. It contains page after page of lavish illustrations of Mark Hearld's work and his own interesting comments on how he works and what inspires him. It also contains reproductions of the work of his heroes,Bawden, Ravilious,Piper, Palmer. The whole book is beautifully designed and presented, a joy to handle and read. For anyone interested in the folk art tradition,interested in collage, linocut, lithography, pottery,fabric design,illustration, this book is an absolute must.

The parcel arrived in good time and was very well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and inspirational, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Lynne C. Gill "Lynne C. Gill" (Norfolk, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
This book gives you a great insight into Marks way of working, his background, and his own sources of inspiration. A good selection of his work graces the pages, the book is full of information about the various processes he uses, with explanations for those like myself who appreciate the work but are not familiar with the technique. All aspects of printmaking are described - collage, lithograph, linocuts.

This is not a how-to book by any means, but such a beautiful read, wonderful illustrations, and an honest discussion of his work by the man himself. I enjoyed it immensley and will refer back to it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
MRS S BRIDGE (SKIPTON, N. YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Great artwork in their own right and a constant source of inspiration, you also get to see something new in each pictures everytime you revisit it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspired work book., 16 Nov. 2012
By 
J. B. Egan "ridgeway" (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Only recently been aware of Mark Hearld's work as an artist, and been most impressed with his originality with collage and sense of colour. I like many of the artists he references as inspiring him, like Ravilious, Bawden and Nash. I like too the tradition of journeyman artists, like Barbara Jones, and English popular art, of which he is part. The fact that his subject is often wildlife, birds in particular, makes this very appealing as well. The book is beautifully put together and really gives a vibrant sense of this artist's work. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
L. Lincoln "laaartist" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
This book is a riot of colour, the reproductions are wonderful and to anyone familiar with Mark's work a real treat. Get busy with the scissors and make your own collage based on his ideas - while it's not a techniques manual there's lots of information to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
I am just getting back into my art. After a long break where time didn't allow creativity, I find myself looking at Mark Hearlds work with different eyes. I'm blown away by how much detail goes into each picture. And yet when you break it down it's doable!!! A super coffee table book to just lose yourself in over a coffee. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Unexpected Beauty, 29 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
Just when you thought the torrent of e-books was threatening the very existence of the traditional printed book, comes along a volume that, as other reviewers have pointed out, can only be fully appreciated in physical form. Mark Hearld is an artist whose influences and techniques are not hard to spot, especially when spelt out in the introduction; John Piper, Edward Bawden, English 'popular' and folk art, collage etc etc. But whilst (say) Piper was prone to employ quite muted colours in his palette, Hearld's pictures are almost uniformly bright and engaging, more 'graphic' in style, which explains why he has managed to combine careers as an artist and designer of book-jackets and so on. This really is a lovely book, thoughtfully put together and a delight to the eye. If it ever gets remaindered I'll try and snap up a pile as an investment - who knows where Mark Hearld's career may take him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lively and spontaneous., 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Hearld's Work Book (Hardcover)
OK, the process of printmaking can't be all that spontaneous but at least the subject matter and finished work looks as though it can be. I saw Mark Hearld's exhibition at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and was inspired to come home and get my paints out as the artwork on show there just made you want to have a go. There is no preciousness about Mark's work, he gets on with it and produces animated colourful pieces depicting animals and birds in the processof going about their daily business. I never did get my own paints out of course, but bought the book instead (at a very good price from Amazon) and can now pore over the pictures all over again. Page sized artwork and close-ups are inspiring and a very useful aide memoir for the exhibition I enjoyed so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mark Hearld's Work Book
Mark Hearld's Work Book by Simon Martin (Hardcover - 26 Oct. 2012)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews