Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Type Matters - oh yes
This is a fantastic reference book with really simple, but effective, tips for improving your typographic skills. I don't actually make my living in publishing, but I am finding it ideal for ensuring that my presentations are using the very best fonts depending on the circumstances.
I love it !
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by Mick Oldham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for someone just getting into typography
A handsome book that is one part primer and one part reference. This is an excellent place to start if you are new to the subject, but I found it to be a surprisingly quick and shallow read. The reference section isn't the most in-depth or easy to browse either.

Great for what it is, but you can give it a miss if you're already up to speed on the basics.
Published 4 months ago by G A ROGERS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Type Matters - oh yes, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Mick Oldham (Orpington, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
This is a fantastic reference book with really simple, but effective, tips for improving your typographic skills. I don't actually make my living in publishing, but I am finding it ideal for ensuring that my presentations are using the very best fonts depending on the circumstances.
I love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice!, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Przemek (St Albans, Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
The book is a good introduction to typography. Nice examples and the book itself is an extraordinary editorial work. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made straight forward, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
This book takes you simply through the logic with an explanation followed by examples so you can appreciate the subtle but effective differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very sexy book, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
Well, the look and feel of this book is just gorgeous! I could have easily just purchased this book just by how it appears. But I also bought it for the useful content inside! It's a pretty good read and can help with developing your typography skills. I would recommend this if you have a basic knowledge of typography already, although it isn't took difficult to get a hang of the terminology. I'm very happy with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exepcional for beginners, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
I recommend this book for all designers who want to learn more about typography, or remember the basics... It's easy to consult and it's a beautiful book. The cover is absolutely awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
It is a nice book, it looks like a bible :) The cover and the pages inside are of good quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Type Easy to Understand, 9 May 2012
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
Definitely a book that's size and design lends itself to being kept close to hand. It's well structured and easy to absorb the information. A big plus is that it shows you what are 'bad' examples, as well as 'good' so that you can see the contrast for yourself. A pleasure to use. It looks good and feels expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'type matters' review, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
this is a clean and lean publication that succinctly introduces both the
layman and typography practitioner to the subject. ideal for a novice,
equally learned enough for a student studying the subject.
highly recommended, beatifully produced - neat!!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1858945674/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_img
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars would recommend to any design students, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
A really lovely book, bought for a friend interested in typography, would recommend to any design students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Type Matters! (Leather Bound)
Undoubtedly a beautifully presented book, but as a few other reviewers have pointed out, it's very, very basic in content. I would actually say most of it is just common sense. If you need someone to tell you that leading is important, or you don't understand the difference between kerning and tracking, then you might learn something, but this is not a book you need if you are remotely serious or knowledgeable about typography. I got misled by the enthusiastic reviews, but now wish I'd saved my money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Type Matters!
Type Matters! by Foreword by Ben Casey (Leather Bound - 2 April 2012)
£12.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews