Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy and distinctive (brilliant for blokes too).
At last, a vintage interiors book that doesn't make me blush! One featuring rooms I can actually imagine living in. Not for Kathleen Sorrell the pink filter on the lens, the swags of lace, roses and chiffon, the filling of every surface with dust-attracting clutter. Oh bliss oh joy. An intelligent, relevant text, written in clear, elegant English, which actually tells me...
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by Peasant

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit 'safe' but you get what it says on the tin.
Well - I'm obviously in the minority. I thought this somehow lacked 'inspiration' and was a bit safe. I agree with the sentiment of the reviewer who sad that it is almost as though any old images have been chosen for particular sections. Admittedly then are all in the same style in keeping with the book's title, but I guess I just expected a bit more than the same old...
Published on 27 Jun 2012 by hpsaucey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy and distinctive (brilliant for blokes too)., 18 Jan 2012
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
At last, a vintage interiors book that doesn't make me blush! One featuring rooms I can actually imagine living in. Not for Kathleen Sorrell the pink filter on the lens, the swags of lace, roses and chiffon, the filling of every surface with dust-attracting clutter. Oh bliss oh joy. An intelligent, relevant text, written in clear, elegant English, which actually tells me things I want to know, talks about design principles and the author's reasoning, rather than just describing what's in the photos.

This practical, sensible book shows us enviable rooms and then talks us through the process of creating our own unique look. Many of the rooms featured are in quite ordinary houses - not the massive lofts or quaint timber beach-houses so common in some books. I do think it's sometimes more "VINTAGE/MODERNE" - featuring a lot of "Contemporary" ie post-war stuff, but it's all worked together very nicely.

A clean, relaxed look which is agreeably masculine but would suit anyone who doesn't want to suffocate in flowery clutter. Talking about vintage, then if this book was a film star, it would be Katherine Hepburn, not Doris Day. If it were a musician, it would be Ray Davies, not Tiny Tim. If it were a car, it would be Morse's Jag, not a 2CV with daisies painted on the side.

I've been looking for a while for a book which will help me mix older things in with the practical ordinary things I have to buy, yet still acheive an effect which is stylish and zingy. Almost every book I've looked at has made me wince; the effect they aim at seems to be what my old dad would have called "tart's boudoir". In contrast, the style of decorating and furnishing in this book is ideal for families and couples; practical yet elegant, inexpensive but stylish. Well done Kathleen Sorrell. A book I will go back to again and again, rather than flicking through once to ogle the pictures.

If you like the look of this, you might also check out New Vintage - The Homemade Home: Beautiful Interiors and How-to Projects which has a nice restrained vibe, is very keen on sustainability, and has practicable-looking projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Home, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
Katherine Sorrell writes with well-founded confidence; she is informed and experienced, with many successful publications behind her and years as a former Associate Editor of `Homes and Gardens'. Now busy writing magazine articles and books while bringing up her lively young family in Cornwall, Katherine has her finger on the pulse of everyday home life and knows just what is required for a happy, relaxing, personal style.

The Vintage Modern Home has much more to offer than many books of this genre, which are only headed for flicking through at the coffee table. Katherine Sorrell's text is friendly, helpful, and always quietly illuminating. The work is exhaustively indexed with a treasure box directory. Tremendous tips are scattered throughout that make you sit up and think, why didn't I realise/think of that? Useful lists could start you off on a project without the usual frustration of finding you are missing something important half way through. Easy DIY explanations are jolly handy too.

Colourful collections of excellent interior photographs are carefully selected from homes in many places - mostly UK, but some US, others European. These admirably demonstrate the possibility of using items previously perceived to be dated as still fresh, decorative and desirable furnishings. Iconic household objects have a new status in the twenty first century, keeping us reassuringly rooted in our recently remembered past, yet continuing to be useful and attractive today. Post war `Utility' items have survived remarkably well in many people's homes, as they seem to take everything that is thrown at them and can keep going indefinitely. Sourcing from auctions, second hand shops, skips even is covered and described in `how to' detail.

In order to create a look that can be easy on the eye, encouragement is given to paint several pieces in a uniform colour to bring coherence. No need to be precious, paintbrushes and sand paper are your friends; they can make all the difference. An education in the use of colour and texture is subtly slipped in to the text, something that can surprise and send you straight to work sorting out a sample board.

The photography can help in two ways, stimulating and inspiring or underlining what wouldn't really be to your taste. The importance of storage, the delightful patterned effect that piles of material, shelves of vintage crockery, and of course floor to ceiling book shelves can create are amongst the most richly gorgeous of suggestions photographed. Sunlight is shown streaming into bright colourful kitchens, informal, casual living rooms, welcoming halls, cocooningly individual bedrooms with comfy quilts and cushions. Bathrooms brought alive with a feeling of luxury, to lift the spirits. It's all in the clever, inexpensive, simple seeming touches. The heart on the cupboard door, the oversize mirror, the model yacht, the antique lamp, the mass of framed photographs, the bunting, the vases of garden flowers, the crocheted rugs. All that adds up to a Home not a House.

Everything about this book is bang on message, perfectly positioned for today's decorative values, kindly predisposed towards and understanding of the new austerity climate. Katherine Sorrell is the sensible, wise friend at your shoulder, dispensing useful suggestions, all the while modestly steering you along the right path without being bossy. It's really a mini interior design course for the times we live in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book with loads of lovely ideas, 15 May 2012
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
As a frequent car boot and charity shop goer, Katherine Sorrell's latest interiors book has been a delight - giving me many fabulous ideas on how to mix old and new to great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspired, 18 May 2012
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
The Vintage/Modern Home
As someone who enjoys browsing and dreaming over interior design books, what a delight to find this one. It shows us that on a small budget and using the imagination a home can still be made into an interesting and creative yet comfortably lived in and family friendly place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can judge this book by its cover, 22 May 2012
By 
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
The cover illustration of Katherine Sorrell's 'The Vintage Modern Home' perfectly demonstrates the objectives of her book; an interior that marries a modern table, funky plastic chairs, a charming period painted chest and a re-covered antique wing-back chair. The introduction sets the tone, 'Real-life homes: messy, mismatching, not quite finished, and definitely not like the pictures you see in glossy magazines'.

This book offers a wealth of practical suggestions for how to find/restore/up-cycle furniture and style interiors to create a coherent marriage between furnishings from different eras. Katherine gives you the confidence to try out creative ideas and offers lots of useful tips and advice, eg use off-cuts of vintage wallpaper framed as individual art.

You can use this book in two ways. Browse through the beautiful pictures for a wealth of brilliant ideas or use it as a work book giving step-by-step 'how to' instructions. A perfect addition to your personal library or an inspirational gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purely indulgent reading, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
Was excited to buy Katherine's new book and was not disappointed. Inspiring and very good for slipping away to soak in the bath and flick through... Highly recommend it for interior lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
Easy to read. Great ideas that are well laid out. A good book for someone, like myself, who is just starting to experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interiors book for today., 23 May 2012
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
At last a book that is very relevant to the way we shop today, and doesn't rely on purchasing from the big designer stores. This book gives easy to follow design principles and ideas that enable you to better arrange things you already have, and with maybe one or two additions create a dramatic effect in any room.

Katherine Sorrells' book is not just glossy pictures, as so often seen. It is an interiors book with well organised and usefull text with very relevant photographic examples.
A useful reference book and it would make a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY NEW INTERIORS BOOK, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book - it's beautifully photographed and is full of practical advice and inspirational ideas while still being accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful and inspiring book, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage/Modern Home (Hardcover)
Having just moved into a beautiful Edwardian home with lots of lovely period features, I bought this book to help inspire me with the decorating and furnishing. I'm a complete novice when it comes to knowing how to combine old and new features and furniture and have found the advice really helpful. The book is full of great photos too and provides lots of examples of how people have combined old and new furniture (and managed to pull it off!). I am now feeling very inspired - I just need to find the time to trawl the shops for the bits and pieces I need to furnish my own home as beautifully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vintage/Modern Home
The Vintage/Modern Home by Katherine Sorrell (Hardcover - 25 Mar 2011)
£19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews