Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!
I recently acquired my copy of The AZ of 21st century cars. Being a self confessed petrol head I have not been able to put this bad boy down yet! It is extremely well put together and very informative. Loved every second of it.
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Pete

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb Quality...
...beautifully produced and well written. Unfortunately, there's too much emphasis on concept cars [which are a bit of a con anyway] which has meant less photographic space available for the more relevant vehicles. I still hold "The Observer's Book Of Automobiles" by L.A. Manwaring as THE standard for A-Z.
Published on 25 Mar 2012 by David J. Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
I recently acquired my copy of The AZ of 21st century cars. Being a self confessed petrol head I have not been able to put this bad boy down yet! It is extremely well put together and very informative. Loved every second of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for car fans, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
This book is incredibly comprehensive and well worth the money. Full of information and amazing photography. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas present for blokes!, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
For anyone who's struggling for a Christmas present for men in your life then look no further. I think this must be the ultimate car book as it's full of glossy pictures of cars we all know and have owned and plenty of gorgeous ones we wish we could. Really good value for money as it's very comprehensive and well written; a proper modern history of cars with all the trimmings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petrol heads bible, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
This is an excellent gift for anyone interested in beautiful machines. After initially buying this for my father I've bought 3 more for Christmas presents! Well written with a comprehensive catalogue of both cars we know and love as well as drool over concept cars. Nicely laid out with lots of pictures, making it the perfect coffee table book. Well done Mr Lewin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Form and content!, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
This book is an exceptional achievement and represents incredible value for money considering the amount of research that has gone into the 540 or so pages you get. It is beautifully produced in colour throughout with excellent text and photography.

The layout of the book is easy to navigate. For each letter of the alphabet there is a section which contains an index of marques, models within the marque, and it then includes key designers based on their last name. There are also master indexes of marques, models and designers at the front of the book. The sections on each marque contain a history and timeline chronicling major events in its history and the specific models shown have a detailed description and history. The photographs are very high quality and up to date and there are a few pre 21st Century cars shown where they are relevant to the history of the marque concerned. I do agree slightly with another reviewer on this page that a fair number of concept cars have found their way into the book, and, there are some omissions which is inevitable with any book of this nature. Even if this A-Z of 21st Century Cars ran to several volumes it could not include every model of car produced in the 21st Century.

This is a first class book by Tony Lewin both in terms of form and content - I can't imagine anyone with an interest in cars wouldn't be delighted with this book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. ALAIN C. FENN (Battle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
Very useful book with loads of details of cars that had previously gone unnoticed. Also an interesting history of the world's car industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Wendy L. Hudson (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
I bought this as a birthday gift for my son-in-law, who is a self-confessed 'Petrol head'! It was the perfect present - he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive book on modern cars I've seen, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
To my knowledge they no longer publish the Observer Book of Cars, which I owned many years ago. This is the best book of this type I could find for my 2 1/2 year grandson who has the rather unusual talent of being able to recognize and name dozens of cars he sees along the road. I guess he should be writing the review not me but he hasn't quite mastered reading and writing just yet :-). Maybe I'll get him to do a video review instead. Anyway, the only disappointment is that his favorite car, which is my car, is not actually listed. It's the Nissan Murano so hopefully it will make it into the next revison. In all other respects a great book (also useful for standing on to reach things you're not supposed to when you are 2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The A-Z of 21st Century Cars, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
Very much enjoyed the cars reviewed.
As a 'petrolhead' of many years very disappointed that there was no reference to 0-60mph/0-100kph times.
Loved the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb Quality..., 25 Mar 2012
By 
David J. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars (Paperback)
...beautifully produced and well written. Unfortunately, there's too much emphasis on concept cars [which are a bit of a con anyway] which has meant less photographic space available for the more relevant vehicles. I still hold "The Observer's Book Of Automobiles" by L.A. Manwaring as THE standard for A-Z.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars
The A-Z of 21st-Century Cars by Tony Lewin (Paperback - 14 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: £14.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews