Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable browse, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Ben Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
I bought this after a pleasant morning spent in the Haynes Motor Museum in Somerset. It features an excellent overview of the British car industry penned by Richard Heseltine, and then some superb pictures of iconic cars with brief summaries of each one's significance. Lovely to dip in and remind yourself of some superb designs, but in my opinion it loses a little momentum towards the end with the choice of machinery, with a particular omission being the McLaren F1. The photographs are all studio shots and beautifully executed, my favourites being the 4.5 litre supercharged Bentley and the Napier-Railton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The car as an art form. The ultimate in car photography presentation., 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. R. Equus "kew-dos" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
What makes this book stand out from many others is the quality of the pictures, presenting the cars with plain dark backdrops allowing the eye to concentrate upon the detail rather than being distracted by busy backgrounds. I know that similar presentations have been tried before, possibly starting with Quentin Wilson's The Ultimate Classic Car Book. But this has achieved something better: presenting a fine cross-section of British auto-art across the years. I was fortunate enough to have this as a birthday present and on the strength of this have purchased others in the series. This however remains my favourite as it has many models from the 50s and 60s, argubly the years which poduced some of the most wonderful cars in the world. It possibly lacks a lot of technical detail which appeals to the more technically minded petrol heads as another reviewer has said, but for car aesthetics alone it is streets ahead of similar books which deal with this subject.If you buy only one book on British cars.....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Auto Legends - book of great cars!, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
British Auto Legends was given to me by my son some months ago, and has kept me salivating ever since, so it was impossible not to buy it for a friend's birthday, as he is as loony about good cars AND GREAT PHOTOGRAPHY as I am!

What a book. The pictures are of beautiful quality, with interesting notes on each vehicle, and therefore a total joy to own. The only problem is that I have only been driven in a few of the featured autos, and actually driven even fewer, but one can still dream and drool!

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous photography, could use more engaging descriptions, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Sirbu Mihai (Athens, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
Gorgeous photography, could use more engaging descriptions. Still, it gives some sense of the trends in car aestetic and engineering design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for son with aspirations., 26 Jan 2013
By 
J. Marsh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
I got this as a Christmas present for my son who had grand ambitions to be a car designer. Given it had an Aston Martin on the front he was delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
Good selection of cars good value for money this is a well rices book and makes a good present thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Auto Legends, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
An excellent book at a very reasonable price. Photographs are very well reproduced, and the accompanying text is interesting and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British auto legends, 27 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
good book bought as a present very well written good reviews.Very pleased with this book and good pictures inside too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so this book was perfect for him, 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
My dad's a big car fan, worked in the industry for 30+ years and loves classics, so this book was perfect for him. A great book, loads of factual info and some stunning pictures. Makes a great present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift option., 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a friend who is very interested in cars. Good looking book, great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design
British Auto Legends: Classics of Style and Design by Text by Richard Heseltine (Paperback - 1 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: £7.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews